We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true vegas experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #89 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
BRAINTREE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A true vegas experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

A very traditional vegas hotel in Fremont street area. Loved the restaurants. Where else in Vegas can you swim while you watch sharks. Very good option in a great area. Rooms were large and traditional in style. Fremont street has a fantastic atmosphere. Would return to this hotel due to fabulous location and great food in restaurants.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EILIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,604
    3,884
    1,586
    787
    572
See reviews for
1,834
4,547
517
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Room was ready to check in when we arrived at 11:00am which was great. The two queen bedroom was very clean although was a little basic when you compare to the newer Strip hotels.
Pool area looked great when it was empty, but it was very crowded and too small for the number of guests. We felt a little bit like a bunch of seals lined up on a beach.
Location is great and on the doorstep for Fremont Street experience which was buzzing on Friday & Saturday nights. It is a couple of miles from the resort hotels on the Strip, so you need a car, taxi of bus to go down there at night.
Really recommend this place if you don't want to spend a fortune on the Strip. Another big plus over the Strip hotels is there is no resort fees which can be upto $30 per night on Strip.
Will definitely stay here again :))

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We traveled to Las Vegas to attend a family wedding. We arrived at the Golden Nugget at 1:30 am completely exhausted from the trip. We checked in with a very pleasant staff member and were in our room in 15 minutes. Our room in the Rush Tower was fantastic. We asked if there were any upgrades available and we ended up with a suite. The room was spotless and well kept. The housekeeping staff was attentive and very pleasant. We loved the Freemont Street Experience, the pool, the food - Vic and Anthony's was over the top, and the helpful staff. We plan on going back with the kids!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakiwaku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Golden Nugget for a conference, purchased two rooms for three nights and upgraded with the Landry membership (worth the purchase). The pool was crowded beyond belief, wouldn't think they could fit that many people in such a small area. There is a small adult only pool, but before 5 they want you to pay to use it. They also charge 10 dollars for the coffee that is in the room. The bathrooms in the rooms are very small, but the room is quite large, bed is very comfortable. We checked out of one of the rooms a day early so thought they could give us a late checkout for the other, they gave us one hour which did not help with our conference schedule. Checked out in the room and called front desk to make sure they emailed me a receipt, after getting home I had to call three times to get my receipt, they finally had to fax it to me. Overall the beds are comfortable and is a great location for down town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the Golden Nugget last week for my friend's bachelor party. Our rooms were unavailable so we got upgraded for free to a penthouse suite! This was my first time in Vegas, and it rocked.

Fremont is way better than the strip - it's less pressure, no one takes it seriously, and it's covered by a dome that has a crazy light show most of the night. There are several stages set up with live bands playing most nights, all summer long. The strip, by contrast, is pretentious, crowded, expensive, and slightly sketchy.

The casino at the Golden Nugget is huge, so there are lots of options from high-roller stuff to beginner tables. Lots of different games. The staff in the hotel and the casino were very helpful and friendly. The pool is good (there's a waterslide that goes right through a shark tank) but be aware that there's no shade and it gets to about 100F by midday. Food and drink are slightly overpriced but certainly not exorbitant (I had a $15 frozen margarita by the pool, but it was probably about 16oz).

I didn't go to any shows, so I can't comment on that. Overall, we were 7 guys coming down from Vancouver for a bachelor party, and we all had a pretty good time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennybruceisdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from Las Vegas .Three nights on the strip ,and one at the Nugget. Freemont is great and I wish we had spent more time there. We have been to the nugget a few times before and remembered it fondly.We originally booked with the middle priced option of the Gold tower with a late check out ,by email . We decided to call and confirm this, which was good because no one had added the request. When we arrived it was still a big surprise to them .

We proceeded to our room . Upon arriving it looked pretty dated and reminded me of the Carson tower we had been in a year or so ago (but not as clean). I had a friend who was in the Carson ,and proceeded to his room . They appeared exactly the same . I then went to the desk to inquire about my discovery , once again surprising her ,she did mention that they are larger . I told her , you couldn't pay me extra to stay in it any longer, let alone charge me more. I asked for the rush tower and dropped the late checkout .They were nice enough to give the late checkout for free .(thank you) It was beautiful room and we were not disappointed .

The problems began the next day when we came back to check out .We arrived at our room and the key wouldn't work .Late checkout ? What late check out ?
I told a nearby maid and she she could not get me in. She said she would call security.A few minutes later I was informed they never answered nor returned her call . I proceeded to the desk ,where a new key was issued . Back to the room , still nothing . Back to the desk new key , back to room still nothing . Back to desk ,a manually issued key and it finally worked .Over 1/2 hour later ........ We do have a plane to catch .
Due to the delay , We were now a little pressed for time ,and I forgot my wallet on a shelf in the room . I only realized after I arrived home . I called immediately and told them . I was informed the room was occupied and they would leave a message . I called the next day and they said that's all they can do , a simple phone message. No written , no drop by and ask for permission to get it ,nothing but the blinking light, which most of us ignore. 2 days still nothing ,same answers .3 days same answers .In the end the wallet was returned . I think if the maid had done her job as I was told by them (search all drawers and shelves etc after checkout ) or maybe they had just personally asked for the wallet , it would have saved a lot of aggravation on both ends.

Shark tank pool is like a lounge chair ghetto
Adult pool is nice late at night when empty ,but as pictured here, fill in all spaces between lounges with more lounges .
Coupon book ? what coupon book ?
Dirty carpets in older sections and rooms ..rather than polish dirt in ...try a steam extraction unit .

My new cards will be here in a week or two .
Good thing I had one credit card left to pay for the return of my wallet .Maybe they will throw in the elusive coupon book with it in the mail .
Overall rating is based solely on Rush tower and room , overall satisfaction is lower.

Reviewing the whole situation it seems like before you actually arrive ,and once you leave customer service is marginal . During most of our stay it was not really needed .We like the hotel but we were unaware that the plaza was now renovated along with the D ,when we were booking . The Nugget for us ,was always a sure thing. .But ........the plaza looked pretty nice inside when I went to see it .

At least with the Plaza they seem to read ,and respond to their reviews, which speaks volumes as does the Golden Nuggets lack of responses

Room Tip: Optional ratings based solely on rush tower room . Take a star or two off applicable ratings for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Golden Nugget is a great value and downtown is a great alternative to staying on the Strip! Seriously....The Strip has gotten insane with the amount of people and the walking distances in the Vegas heat. An awesome alternative is stay downtown and ride the affordable city bus. Great way to get back and forth on the strip. The Nugget was clean, affordable, and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#109 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing