We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - But Beware!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #85 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - But Beware!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weeks stay at this hotel. The room was absolutely great and the price is so reasonable! The restuarants are great and very reasonable. Everyone of their staff was pleasant. But BEWARE at the Registration Desk!! For example, we were leaving the hotel on a Friday - checkout out time is 11.00. Our flight wasn't until 11.00 p.m. so on Mon. or Tuesday we decided that we would ask at the desk the price for having the room until 4.00 p.m on the Friday.. They said $35.00. We talked it over with our friends who had their own room and decided that we would keep one room and split the cost - very reasonable. So on Thursday we decided to let them know that we wanted to keep one room for a late checkout - the price was then $75.00! The clerk failed to inform us that each day closer to the weekend the price goes up! We asked for the Manager - told him the story about failing to be informed that each day was a different price and he said that wasn't his fault and he wasn't willing to do anything about it. WeI didn't get his name but sure wish we had. He doesn't deserve to be the manager of such a great hotel. Mind you the regisration people were very pleasant.

Also beware of telephone costs!! Mind you I guess we should have read the hotel book - but we didn't! Found out your room is charged for each call long distance call you make regardless if its on a calling card or credit card. They even charge $2.00 to use the pay phone for long distance..

Freemont Street is the place to stay in Vegas. You can ride the bus all day for $8.00 and it takes you right up to the strip.

Room Tip: Carson Towers has the cheapest rooms, but you couldn't improve on them. They are very large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillips154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,509
    3,798
    1,520
    733
    542
See reviews for
1,758
4,405
502
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here two nights for a business conference. This was a LOT of room for the money, with many unexpected features I have paid much more for elsewhere. Very spacious room, nicely appointed with extra features like a lighted vanity mirror, very comfortable beds and pillows, recently renovated so had a very upscale feel inside, marble counter top, big flat screen TV, free parking, etc. The staff throughout the hotel was very friendly. It is clear they are working hard to get and keep business. I had never stayed downtown in Las Vegas before and based on my preconceptions, this far exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it and come here again. Small downsides; noisy hallways during the night (it is Las Vegas) and $10 instant coffee pods in the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Birthday weekend get together in Vegas and some of the group were professional party'ers. We didn't want to stay on the strip but we knew of Golden Nugget from Poker. GREAT CHOICE! The Deuce (their name for the shuttle between the strip and Freemont) runs all night and it's just $7 for all day riding so you can get back and forth easily. The nugget's CONSIDERABLY cheaper than downtown and the rooms are great. POOLSIDE is a wonderful way to spend a lazy day and having a Shark Tank in your pool is a bonus.

Room Tip: Rush tower had been newly remodeled; our room in the Gold tower was just as nice and about $20 / nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bart_Ender_57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Golden Nugget during my trip to Las Vegas this Summer in July. I would say, that was the perfect choice. Spacious room with wonderful 2 king size beds, TV, Seating and well arranged bath room, with spacious closets including safe, Iron and Ironing Board. Very spacious rooms considered the rates around $60 per night! Amazing deal when it comes to the location!
Although people advised us to stay in Hotels in the Middle of Vegas but after being at the Golden Nuggets I would advise the opposite because the location has its own unique atmosphere of Las Vegas, many live shows at the end of the street and many many nice souvenir shops with good prices depeending on your budget. The pool is another story! It has a nice aquarium in the middle of the pool itself and comes in 2 floors, really one of a kind and can be considered the highlight of your visit.
Also, it is locate around a big number of other Casinos, so can reflect the real flavour of Vegas and down town. I loved it and consider the service very good except for the long ques at time of checking in.

A must try while in Vegas

Room Tip: All rooms are really great and very spacious. I am sure you won't be disappointed if you tried i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiveeN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from staying here. It was very nice for being an older hotel. We stayed in the Carson tower, which was still nice even though it was the older tower. Great value for what you pay. The pool was pretty neat with the shark tank and slide. Also no resort fee so that's a bonus too. Right in the middle of Fremont street, and not as crazy as the strip. Lots of cheap drinks in the casinos too. The only down side was no fridge in the room. Besides that enjoyed our stay. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweettheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked a Vacation Package through Westjet Vacations from Ottawa/Toronto - Las Vegas Oct 31-Nov 4. As our flight home wasn't leaving until 11:30 p.m. we opted to book our room for an extra night directly with the hotel $55/night this way we didn't need to leave our room until 7:30 p.m. when the shuttle came to pick us up.

One thing to note: If you are a Landry Select Club Member you are entitled to a free room upgrate upon availability. Unfortunately this does not apply if you buy a package deal through a travel agency such as Westjet. I was not aware that we wouldn't get our upgrade and was therefore a bit disappointed.

Our last stay at GN we booked directly with the hotel so we did qualify and were upgraded to the Gold Tower which is a much better location to the casino and Freemont Street. On this visit we were placed in the Carson Tower room 6124 and no lie it has to be the furthest room away from the action. We could've gotten the upgrade for our 1 day that we had booked directly with the hotel but that would've meant changing rooms and we didn't bother as we were leaving that evening anyhow and we just wanted a room to call homebase.

This visit we chose not to rent a car but rather use the Deuce bus to get to the strip and back. This worked out well for us $8 for 24 hours and the stop was a short walk down Freemont street. We walked to the Gold and Silver pawn shop from the hotel one day it was about a 15 min walk, very close.

Overall a great visit to LV but next time I think we'll book directly through the hotel so we can benefit from our Landry membership perks :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Springtime38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our long-planned trip for my husband's 70th birthday did not disappoint. We could even see the shark tank from our room in the gold tower! What a great value. Awesome pool area, and the valet service and everything is top notch. The breakfast buffet - totally worth it at $12 each, maybe less so on the weekends when it is $20 each.

We've stayed in the Carson Tower on previous trips, but never again. The gold tower is convenient, much less walking, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: We liked the gold tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeggyoftheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing