We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #91 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed three nights, 10/22,23,24. Room was in the Gold Tower. The room was a nice size compared to some hotel rooms and looked to be recently updated. They could use better lighting in the room, also in the bathroom. Bed and pillows were great. Coffee maker in room but you had to pay $10.00 for the coffee. They still charge for wifi, $13.99 per day. Small but very nice pool with a big fish tank in the middle and a slide going through the tank. There are a couple of resturants in the hotel. A large coffee type resturant, a steak house, an Italian and an Asian. This was our second stay at the Nugget and have eaten in the coffee shop (best chicken soup in Vegas), the steak house and the Italian resturant. All were very good. A couple of doors lead onto Freemont Street and a short walk to other casinos. In the evening the street is alive with music and people dressed as characters of some sort. Its a fun street and I think pretty safe as we saw a lot of security people. Not as much walking downtown compared to the strip. So can recommend this hotel if you don't like to do a lot of walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook Freemont Stree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyclaireSchaumburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,065 - 7,071 of 10,998 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed in Carson Tower room 10117...rooms are very comfortable and updated with blackout curtains that block out 100% of the daylight. It is quite a hike from the casino to get to the towers, but it really isn't a big deal. The elevators are fast, never waited for an elevator once. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable! Here are the only cons to our stay. Housekeeping didn't vacuum our floor once during our stay. Old candy wrappers found behind a nightstand from previous guests (don't know how long they were there), a liter bottle of water was in the room and it costs $7 or $8 if you drank it and the coffee maker was a Kureg and cost $10 for 4 cups of coffee. No fridge in room. We went to Walgreens on Freemont St. and purchased a styrophome cooler for beer/soda in the room and also purchased a box of kureg coffee (10 cups) for $10 (you can also go to Dunkin Donuts at the Freemont and purchase a box of kureg cups (10) for around $10. Much better deal. We stopped at a shop on Freemont St. and purchased beer, soda and water for the week (was surprised to find that a can of soda was only 75 cents and bottled water was 2 for $l). We arrived around noon, and even though check-in was not until much later, we were given our rooms (they will store your bags if you can't get to your room early - they will also store them when you check-out if you are not leaving immediately). Check in and well as check out was a breeze - no line at all and no errors. We did not eat at this hotel, except for the muffins at starbucks, and they were very good. The pool (which we did not use) is in front of a large aquarium with fish and sharks. There is a clear water slide that goes though the aquarium. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank borntotravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you like martinis, be sure and try the Ice Bar at the Golden Nugget. It's cool and sleek with a collection of vodkas and gins to satisfy any martini connoseur. You gotta try the blue cheese olives with a cold, shaken not stirred, martini up. The bartenders know their brands hands down so tell them what you really like and have them reccomend something new. Great place to have a dring before catching Gordie Brown's best in Vegas show.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsJNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Golden Nugget three nights from 10/21-10/24 in the Rush Tower. I have the same observations as many others here. While the room was nice, it is VERY dark, I would recommend leaving a light on in the bathroom so that you don't trip over something if you need to get up at night. Drapes are of the blackout variety, so even during the day the room is dark. My other observations mirror those of others here, beware of rooms facing the Fremont Street Experience since the noise and music go far into the night, even during the week.
Another person commented on the one really peculiar thing I noticed which I consider a major danger-- the extreme depth of the tub, will absolutely nothing to hold onto getting in or out. The second day I requested a handicapped room since I was afraid of falling in the tub. Whoever designed the bathrooms didn't really take into account short woman, or the "older" types who travel to Las Vegas. Most "modern" hotels now have a shower "room" built out of glass with a multi-head shower. I find that arrangement much preferable to a tub with a raised track for the shower door.
I didn't care very much for the casino, thought it was too cramped. The fish tank behind the check in desk was awesome.
Downtown scene was great people watching and there were special events in celebration of Halloween. We had the breakfast buffet at Main Street Station, which is great value for the money, and there are two-fers available on the web.
Maid service was good, however late sleepers might be irritated by them coming around at 9AM. We were up and out, so it didn't bother us.
It was a OK stay. If I go again, would ask for room on other side of the building away from Fremont Street, and request a handicapped room to avoid the bathtub trap.

Room Tip: Request room away from Fremont Street side of the building-- Watch that tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACarolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I highly recommend the upgrade to the Rush Tower Rooms. This is a very hectic hotel casino in downtown Las Vegas. After reading reviews about items being stolen in rooms while people were sleeping in them, I was glad to see the security staff on patrol in the Rush Tower section of the hotel. The rooms offer modern luxury and are worth every penny of the upgrade. You do pay for the prime location in the form or internet and coffee fees, but it is a small price to pay for location, location, location. The pool is fabulous.... The Rush Tower Jr Suite is luxurious, spacious, very clean and offers great views.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Rush Tower Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am so happy that I decided to take a chance and stay downtown at the Golden Nugget. Our room in the Rush Tower was beautiful. The size of the room was more than expected and the large L shaped leather sofa was great. The bathroom was huge with double bowl sinks and a separate toilet area. The TV was excellent with many HD channels. Housekeeping had the room cleaned each day before noon which is rare in Vegas. Room negatives were no refrigerator and lacked accessible outlets near the bed. The elevator opens just steps from the casino and very close to the beautiful pool. The breakfast buffet was good that included 2 omelet areas. for dinner it was ok, about average. The casino was very good, table prices were $5 during the weekdays and $10 at night. Sports book area was good but not great. The casino got a little smokey in the late night hours. Walking distances compared to the strip is awesome. You can walk out the many doors located on Freemont Street and be in another casino with very little walking. Freemont Street was fun and offered many different options like shopping and bands. I visited the strip and found it the same as always, expensive and lots of walking. I would stay at the Golden Nugget again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank watchdog513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the Rush Tower, which is very nice and we liked the room alot. This might sound strange but the shower head was cool and had great pressure!! Very nice bathroom area was huge. We had 2 double beds and a view of the Fremont Street Casinos, however the music continued until 1:30am and we were there on a Monday and Tuesday---so if you don't want to stay up and here music then ask to stay on the other side of the Rush Tower. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from Fremont Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,447 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $73 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden Ngget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing