We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay- with a few caveats.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #91 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay- with a few caveats.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Golden Nugget three nights from 10/21-10/24 in the Rush Tower. I have the same observations as many others here. While the room was nice, it is VERY dark, I would recommend leaving a light on in the bathroom so that you don't trip over something if you need to get up at night. Drapes are of the blackout variety, so even during the day the room is dark. My other observations mirror those of others here, beware of rooms facing the Fremont Street Experience since the noise and music go far into the night, even during the week.
Another person commented on the one really peculiar thing I noticed which I consider a major danger-- the extreme depth of the tub, will absolutely nothing to hold onto getting in or out. The second day I requested a handicapped room since I was afraid of falling in the tub. Whoever designed the bathrooms didn't really take into account short woman, or the "older" types who travel to Las Vegas. Most "modern" hotels now have a shower "room" built out of glass with a multi-head shower. I find that arrangement much preferable to a tub with a raised track for the shower door.
I didn't care very much for the casino, thought it was too cramped. The fish tank behind the check in desk was awesome.
Downtown scene was great people watching and there were special events in celebration of Halloween. We had the breakfast buffet at Main Street Station, which is great value for the money, and there are two-fers available on the web.
Maid service was good, however late sleepers might be irritated by them coming around at 9AM. We were up and out, so it didn't bother us.
It was a OK stay. If I go again, would ask for room on other side of the building away from Fremont Street, and request a handicapped room to avoid the bathtub trap.

Room Tip: Request room away from Fremont Street side of the building-- Watch that tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACarolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,645
    3,912
    1,604
    798
    577
See reviews for
1,855
4,592
525
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copper Center, Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I highly recommend the upgrade to the Rush Tower Rooms. This is a very hectic hotel casino in downtown Las Vegas. After reading reviews about items being stolen in rooms while people were sleeping in them, I was glad to see the security staff on patrol in the Rush Tower section of the hotel. The rooms offer modern luxury and are worth every penny of the upgrade. You do pay for the prime location in the form or internet and coffee fees, but it is a small price to pay for location, location, location. The pool is fabulous.... The Rush Tower Jr Suite is luxurious, spacious, very clean and offers great views.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Rush Tower Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am so happy that I decided to take a chance and stay downtown at the Golden Nugget. Our room in the Rush Tower was beautiful. The size of the room was more than expected and the large L shaped leather sofa was great. The bathroom was huge with double bowl sinks and a separate toilet area. The TV was excellent with many HD channels. Housekeeping had the room cleaned each day before noon which is rare in Vegas. Room negatives were no refrigerator and lacked accessible outlets near the bed. The elevator opens just steps from the casino and very close to the beautiful pool. The breakfast buffet was good that included 2 omelet areas. for dinner it was ok, about average. The casino was very good, table prices were $5 during the weekdays and $10 at night. Sports book area was good but not great. The casino got a little smokey in the late night hours. Walking distances compared to the strip is awesome. You can walk out the many doors located on Freemont Street and be in another casino with very little walking. Freemont Street was fun and offered many different options like shopping and bands. I visited the strip and found it the same as always, expensive and lots of walking. I would stay at the Golden Nugget again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank watchdog513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the Rush Tower, which is very nice and we liked the room alot. This might sound strange but the shower head was cool and had great pressure!! Very nice bathroom area was huge. We had 2 double beds and a view of the Fremont Street Casinos, however the music continued until 1:30am and we were there on a Monday and Tuesday---so if you don't want to stay up and here music then ask to stay on the other side of the Rush Tower. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from Fremont Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the Rush Tower in a corner suite. The suite was lovely. I'm over complaining about being charged for internet and, in this case, coffee. When you allow for the fact that the room price is very reasonable compared to a similar quality in other locations then they can have their little extras. We had several meals in the hotel restauratns and were very happy all of those (mainly the Carson St cafe and the Italian one). The casino is a casino and does what it does well. Th hotel is well run and in a good location (if you don't want to stay on the strip),

Room Tip: Rush Tower because it's new and not been smoked in. Corner suite because it's not that much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonefishingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Golden Nugget is so worth the effort of staying downtown. I won't stay anywhere else on my trips to Las Vegas. This hotel offers several different room options. Staying in the Rush Tower is the lap of luxury, especially if you stay in a corner suite. The Carson tower is the place if you don't want to spend much on a room. It is a bit of a stroll from the main casino, but near the 24 hour cafe and other restaurants. The gold luxury are key coded for elevator access and are usually really quiet.The spa is a beautiful oasis. The staff are wonderful and the facials, massages and mani/pedis are so relaxing. Get off of the strip and come and spend some time at the Nugget and downtown Las Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prehoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the golden nugget several times. It has a wonderful location, easy parking, and because it is small compared to the mega resorts you get good service. I stayed in Rush tower, their new rooms, and was pleased except for the room decor. They are dark browns and so dark it is hard to find light switches and see if the curtains are drawn. The tub in my room was deep with a shower and I had to search for the bath mat (on a shelf under the sink) to remain safe. Getting out of the tub was an adventure because of its depth it had no hand rails. I ate at the buffet and the diner. The buffet is average and the host kept trying to seat me next to the kitchen at a small table despite the buffet being half empty. Service at the buffet is excellent. The diner restaurant required a long wait to be seated and service was very slow. My standard club sandwich was of average quality. I did see a show, country superstars. This is a nice theater, there are no bad seats. The show was of professional quality but nothing to write home about. As I said at the beginning the strength of this hotel is its location. You can walk to many venues and partake in the Fremont Street experience. I can easily recommend this hotel but bring a night light or a flashlight to find your way around the room. If you do not like noise at night ask for a room facing away from Fremont Street.

Room Tip: As I said in the review because of the dark room bring a night light and if you do not like noise wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caltraveler981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,331 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#98 of 263 in Las Vegas
989 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing