We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE ROOMS! But where did that apple sticker come from?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #90 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Was on the 8th floor of the carson tower. When our shuttle dropped us off we had no idea where to go to register. We walked over to the rush towers and registered there. Turns out we were dropped off by the Carson tower but there was no signage around to help guide us to the registration desk for the carson tower. the rooms were nice and large and clean. I wish they had blue bins for recycling paper bottles etc. im not entirely sure the sheets on my bed were ever changed. they certainly did not feel as nice and crisp as the sheets on my sisters bed. Also those beds were not queen sized beds. towards the end of my 6 night stay i found and apple sticker at the bottom of my sheets. I never had an apple the whole time i was there. and no apples were eaten in the room by me or my sister or my friend in the ajoining room. The remote in the tv needed new batteries. a call for service fixed that asap. we requested non smoking rooms that were ajoined. my friends room did smell of smoke.
nice shower heads. nice bathroom sinks. pool was cool. the water slide is super fast and actually scared me a bit! next time i would slurge to spend the 100 bucks on a private cabana for the last day if you have time to waste between check out and your flight home. fremont street is pretty fun hopping from casino to casino...get signed up for your casino cards for those four casinos on the corner as soon as you get there. I like the restaurant at the four queens, (Magnolia's) better that the restaurant at the Golden nugget. ( the carson street cafe)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dartanya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,888)
There are newer reviews for Golden Nugget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,461 - 8,467 of 10,891 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

Started in march for girls get away! The staff was super friendly and very helpful (except one manager in the sports betting lounge) but I will that slide! Pool was excellent. Rented a day bed at the top adults only pool. Great service from Doreen who remember our names the next day down at the other pool! Slide is a must and fish tank is awesome! Don't eat at Lilys but the all day diner place next to it is great. The other sushi place called Red sushi is better. Gambling was super fun and profitable. Love the poker room especially! I love the GN and will stay again no hestition

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikbuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

During our previous stay in Vegas we stayed at the Strip, in very nice hotels. However, when I go back to Vegas, I will without any doubt stay in Downton in the Golden Nugget!

Downtown is so much nicer than the strip (walking distances, the beautiful Fremont Experience, friendlier atmosphere, "real" casino's, the neon lights,...).

The Golden Nugget fits greatly in this total picture. The hotel is gorgeous.
We chose for the Gold Club Luxury room, a great choice.
The design and lay out of the room is both comfy and fancy (a bit dark though). The bed was great. The bathroom was beautiful and clean, with wardrobes and a TV in the mirror (an extra that I really like). The room was also very quiet (very important for us). No nice view but we do not care about that. (I'm sure you can also request rooms with a view but I always request a quiet room).
When you book a Gold Club room you get really nice extra's: next to the perfect room, you get like water and snacks next to the elevator (and coffee in the morning), VIP check in (at first we did not know where to check in: you need to go to the VIP lounge which is close to the normal check in for the Gold tower), and free wireless internet. EXCELLENT value for money (we paid the "normal" price for the period of the year, that is 123 eur (taxes incl, no resort fee comes on top!).

The pool is really nice but of course full of children. We tried the slide and enjoyed the hot tub. Also the casino is really nice.

One negative point: we did not like the buffet that much. But it was fun to pass the whole line with our VIP access pass (one of the extra's that comes with the gold club rooms) (the line was long!).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My friends and I travelled to Las Vegas for the NASCAR race. We decided to stay at the Nugget because a shuttle to the race left from there. We were not disappointed. While the price is a little higher than some of the other downtown properties -we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean (if you don't count the empty dorito bag that was on the floor for 3 of our 5 night stay and not ours), comfortable and quiet. The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The location was great! We can't wait to go to back to Las Vegas and stay at the Nugget. We enjoyed the stay much more than we would have if we had spent the night on the strip. Didn't get a chance to use the pool - but it is a beautiful pool with an aquarium, lots of lounge chairs to sit and enjoy the weather and over all a great place! We were so happy to get a room on the top floor of the Carson Tower! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazy4Casinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was our third visit to Las Vegas and our first time staying downtown. Loved the nugget so much! Old Vegas feel with a modern flair. We stayed in the new rush tower and was spoiled with it's beautiful decor. This stay makes us think twice about why to stay on the strip. Fremont is where it's at!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiscanadiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Nugget on Freemont Street for one week (Feb 23 - Mar 2/11). This being our first time to Las Vegas and going in with high expectations we were a little worried of what we would find staying "off strip". I can honestly tell you we were pleasantly suprised. Neither my husband nor myself gamble or drink so we really weren't sure if we would be bored with a week's stay.
All though our check-in was a little bit confusing (mostly our own fault) once we got to where we were supposed to go, all went very smoothly and the check-in staff were friendly and quick. Be sure to get your coupon book from the front desk.
The room we were assigned was ready and waiting for us. Nothing spectacular but definitely comfortable. We were pleased to get a room with a view of the mountains. The family we traveled with and who paid for the VIP service were given a room with a view of the corner of another hotel and a wall. During our unpacking we noticed that the previous occupants had locked the save and we were unable to access it. A quick call to the front desk and less than 15 minutes later we had someone there to unlock it for us (our only issue with the room). Room service was done early so we could go for breakfast knowing that when we returned all would be done.
The hotel itself is very well maintained with mostly friendly staff available to assist. A couple of the women in the small gift shop were rather rude and non-helpful. Almost as if you were imposing on their day. Tho we didn't gamble (other than a couple of spins on the slot machines) or drink...others that were seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Food was always good (we ate at the Carson Street Cafe, the buffet (2 for 1 on weekdays) and the Grille. It was a little pricey but you could always go to other hotels for cheaper meals - especially if you took the bus to the Strip - which we found out almost too late.
The Freemont Street Experience is well worth the time. There is always something going on even thru the day and the evenings were great for entertainment and people watching. Lots of security and police around so walking up and down the street you felt completely safe and there were always places open to pop into if needed. We were warned by many not to travel off Freemont in the evenings so we didn't.
Buses to take you all over Vegas were cheap (seven dollars for a 24 hour pass) and easy to use. We did three trips to the strip to wander the bigger hotels and catch several of the free shows. Very crowded on the weekends. Beware of ALL the people on the sidewalks handing out discount coupons. Without looking at them our one travel mate grabbed every one offered him and when eh (and his wife) returned to the hotel, he discovered he had over fifty cards for escort services, three somes and other various "women" offers. Quite comical.
Our ONLY complaint with the hotel was the "pending" credit card charge they put on your card upon arrival. This "pending" charge can sty on your card for up to thirty days and can be as much as four hundred dollars (even if you have paid in full for your stay). My suggestion (and we will do for all future hotels) is to have the extra cash available for this and then you can get it back at the end of your stay without having to wait the thirty days for it to be reversed on your card.
If we were to return to Vegas we would definitely stay at the Golden Nugget again but maybe split the vacation up so we could spend a couple nights at one of the larger hotels on the strip.
Any questions I may be able to answer please ask. As first timers I can give you unbiased answers...
Enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cartour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We were told at check-in that the Golden Nugget did not have a room for us, even though we had confirmed reservations. Without doubt, the NCAA basketball tournament is a busy time in Las Vegas, and room availability will be limited. And, in fairness, the Golden Nugget did arrange for us to stay at the 4 Queens (which is across the street). Nonetheless, it was disappointing to have our plans changed due to their booking practices.

We declined the "opportunity" to stay at the 4 Queens, instead chose to get a room at the Luxor (on the Strip). In hindsight, we were lucky to get bumped from the Golden Nugget because we much enjoyed our stay in the Luxor (although it did cost a bit more to do so).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,422 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $70 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vegas.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing