We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time over the holidays.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
Ranked #135 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed January 10, 2014

When do you know that you are in a casino that cares about you as a player and not just your money? Well you know when you are playing at the Golden Gate casino on Fremont Street. This casino was one that caught my attention in September when I was staying downtown. I walked in and I was amazed at the friendliness and concern for the players as Golden Gate had. This December I had the privilege of being able to play in Vegas for 8 days and during that time I was treated like a king at Golden Gate. This is a casino that it does not matter if you play .40 cents or 5,000 a hand you are going to be treated like you are one of them. Starting with the servers I have never had such quick and correct services as I have had at this casino. Next the dealers, what's great about Golden Gate is that if you are a more conservative not party animal type player than the morning and afternoon dealers like Joy, Vicky, and Rebecca are for you. These women are very attentive and are willing to take a screaming fat man scaring the hell out them over a 3 of kind in let it ride. Now if you enjoy music parting and seeing girls in skimpy outfits ;) then go after 7pm and make sure that you see Tina, and Gabby these two lady's will not only help you understand how the game is played but they are cheering you on and making you feel as if you are the only player on the table even when the table is full. Last but certainly not least is Dave W, the casino shift manager. Never in my life have I ever had a casino manager come around and greet people share stories and truly interact with everyone. Trust me when I say everyone it did matter that I wasn't a high roller I was greeted by him with open arms. Hell because of my suggestion they may even look at a new game. I will admit I love to gamble and I love to have a good time while doing it and I will say that the Golden Gate Casino is the place not only where you can gamble but have an experience that out weighs ALL other casino on and off the strip

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie_Edington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for the kind words! We strive to ensure our guests know that they are appreciated, and it's great to know that you felt that our customer service was top notch. We're pleased to hear you had an excellent gambling experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 916 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel is ok with price you pay. $23 per day is charged as a resort fee. But the location is great right on downtown if you can bear the loud music of Las vegas downtown fremont st experience. Experience was ok

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit. The resort fee includes free Wi-Fi, free local & toll-free calls, and $10 off show tickets at our sister property, the D. Although we have added the resort fee, we've also dropped our room rates in order to give our guests the best value in town. As for the music on Fremont Street, we are happy to move guests who desire a room away from the music, per availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Found this hotel on a recommendation from a friend and boy, it exceeded our expectations. Artsy cool hotel in old downtown Las Vegas ~ so happy with the suite on the fourth floor. Only there is no pool to swim in so one would have to go next door to the Golden Nugget for that but no matter as I loved this place.

Room Tip: get a suite if you can, not too much $ and it's so spacious (on the fourth floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you loved our newly renovated rooms! We hope you'll join us again on your next trip to Vegas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

When in Vegas Downtown I always stop in to the Golden Gate. I especially like the Restaurant -"Du-Pars". Being a single traveler I usually sit at the counter. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. I was extremely hungry! They have all the comfort-foods on their menu! I chose the Meat Loaf. The mashed potatoes were authentic and really hit the spot. Also the fresh veggies were delicious! And the price was fantastic. Over the years this restaurant has been able to keep a good reputation in a competitive market - I will continue to patronize this establishment! Of course I also do a little gambling in the casino - friendly dealers and bartenders.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umoraski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We're glad to hear you enjoyed Du-Pars! If you haven't already, you must try the pancakes and the shrimp cocktail on your next visit - both are guest favorites! We hope to see you on your next trip to Vegas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Let me start with the negatives, but also say it was a good hotel overall. The water temp in the shower was crazy. Either it was scalding hot or rather cool. The room was also much smaller than I expected from the pictures but we only used the room to shower and sleep anyways so that wasn't a big deal just a little surprising. Also the guy who checked us in and out could stand to be a little more friendly. He wasn't rude but he also wasn't very friendly either. Also it can get quite loud so If you're a sensitive sleeper try to get a room away from the street. It didn't bother me too much because I usually go to bed absolutely exhausted in Vegas.

The valet is free but of course we tipped and the workers were all very friendly and they worked rather fast. The gambling in the casino isn't the best but it was pretty good. The bar tenders were pretty good also but not great although they did change the channel to let me watch my favorite team when I asked them to.

The food at the restaurant in the hotel is overpriced for what it was. It wasn't bad or anything but way overpriced for the slow service and not great food.

Like I said it was good overall and I am going back in January so that should tell you that it is worth the money for what you get.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street, the view isnt good and it's really loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsArreola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We appreciate the feedback regarding the different aspects of your stay. As for the music on Fremont Street, we are happy to move guests to a different room on the other side of the hotel at their request, per availability. We’re happy to hear you will be joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First off let me say that I love the Golden Gate and it is my favorite casino to stay at when I am visiting **on my own without the girlfriend**. The fact that this may be the best casino in Vegas is stated with a strong caveat that it works for certain folks and situations only in my opinion.

Pros: the casino - especially the casino after 7pm; this is the hottest spot going - dancing girls, hot dealers, music blaring, low limit tables, party atmosphere, an absence of the clubby uppity California pretty crowd you find at the Cosmopolitan or Hard Rock; okay so now let's get on to the hotel for review:

Pros: convenient and clean - the location is downtown within an easy walk to all the other downtown casinos, out the front door is one of the stages with performances at night, right next door is the Golden Nugget if you need a taste of more upscale or higher end decor/dining/bar scene; beds are super super comfy; rooms are extremely clean

Cons: okay the rooms and bathrooms are small - are you really going to be in the room that much?; if the answer is yes then this is probably not the place to stay then; not the best place for a romantic getaway or a picky girlfriend - that said the place is super clean so don't read into that it is anything but the smaller scale and old school windows, etc.; if you want upscale or hoity toity then go next door to the Golden Nugget or go onto the strip; also - if you plan on going to bed before 2am then don't get a room facing Freemont - my guess is that most folks who stay here don't go to bed before 2am though...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Recruiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We are pleased to hear we are one of your favorite casinos to stay at in Vegas! As you mentioned, the music from Fremont can be a bit much for some of our guests, and at their request, we are happy to move them to a room away from the music, per availability. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

In advertisements the Golden Gate Hotel was described as an intimate, boutique hotel/casino that is energetic and contemporary, offers modern conveniences, all 106 rooms have been remodeled to reflect a modern sensibility.
Misleading advertisement. Arrived late on our first night. Room was on the second floor, very small, new carpet, flat screen TV did not work. Bathroom old, tile, tub finish, caulk, fixtures were old and in poor condition, no regulating shower, too hot or too cold. Bathroom was so small door would not open fully because it hit the toilet. Old single pane windows were drafty, and provided no noise relief from the busy alley. Alley was so noisy, impossible to sleep. Positive comfortable bed. Long skinny hallways.
Next morning upgraded to a larger room. Friendly staff—stated, the room in were in is horrible, we save those for people who come in late at night. Room was comfortable, updated, quiet, conveniently located next to elevator. Only negative was shower dripped. $20 per night added (surprise) for resort fee which paid for “free Wi-Fi, made the room overpriced, poor value for the $$. No amenities—in room coffee and water $3.00 each. Positives... Great Location right on Fremont Street, friendly staff, convenient parking, excellent pancakes and shrimp cocktails.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportsmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We do appreciate the feedback from your stay and apologize that you felt deceived. We're pleased to hear our staff was able to move you to a room that better met your expectations. Although we have added the resort fee, which includes free Wi-Fi, free local & toll free calls, as well as $10 off tickets to shows at the D, we have lowered our room rates in order to continuously give our guests the best value in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#122 of 265 in Las Vegas
447 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#98 of 265 in Las Vegas
4,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,541 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel & Casino

Address: 1 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#68 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $40 - $1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accurately billed as Las Vegas' "Most Historic Hotel," the Golden Gate has stood the test of time and then some. Since opening as the Hotel Nevada in 1906, this modest and cozy corner establishment has stood placidly at One Fremont Street while the town -- and the world -- changed around it. Most notably, the Fremont Street Experience was built right outside its door. Very little has changed to compromise the hotel's old school charm in the intervening years, although the Golden Gate has made improvements and modernized. The hotel remains proudly dwarfed by its neighbors, at just 106 rooms. The rooms themselves, on the other hand, have been updated and include modern amenities like flat screen televisions and iHome clock radios. The casino is just as active as opening day -- and just as intimate -- although now its boasts Dealer Dancers from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. nightly. Its shrimp cocktail -- widely acknowledged as the first ever served in Las Vegas -- is as popular as the day it was introduced. Even as Las Vegas builds toward the heavens, the Golden Gate keeps close to the ground, rooted in its rich and wildly successful history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Hotel And Casino
Golden Gate Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Gate Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing