We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey, but pretty awesome experience (except in the casino?)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Ranked #103 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
West Bend, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Smokey, but pretty awesome experience (except in the casino?)”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Fremont street experience is well worth taking in if you are traveling to Vegas, and the Four Queens gives you a front row seat. I arrived at the hotel not really having any idea what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised when we were put up in a large, comfortable room with a hot tub! Mind you, we were not expecting (nor paying for) anything other than a run of the mill room. We were also given a discount book at check in, which among other things, gave us some great deals on their restaurant off the casino floor.

We were there on a Saturday night, and it's well worth coming downtown just to experience Fremont street. We enjoyed watching the artists paint, as well as taking in the overhead shows, the street characters, and the street performances. One cautionary note, though -- if you suffer from Crohn's or some other affliction aggravated by cigarette smoke, downtown Las Vegas is not the place to be. Despite their efforts to control it, you just can't get completely away from it.

Another great perk here is that everything is so close, unlike on the Strip. You can walk out the door and into another casino in a minute or two. If you like your casinos no-nonsense and straight up, this a good area to be in. The biggest letdown here at the Four Queens was actually the casino itself, though, as the dealers were acting tired, overworked, and some made it rather clear they just wanted to go home. I actually enjoyed the floor more next door at the Golden Nugget. Still, it was a good experience -- no regrets! (other than not hitting that jackpot....)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Fremont street can get a bit noisy at night. Make sure you ask for the discount b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodluvr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    909
    543
    190
    158
See reviews for
374
928
252
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great casino "Hosts" and good food at Magnolias. Great location for all stuff downtown. Slots were as loose as any Casino around and the cashier people were first class. The room rates were excellent. Lots of action close without a whole pile of walking like you have to do on the Strip. Will be back next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have very little noise from Freemont Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmagap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here once before several years ago, and it must have been fine because I came back. I love staying down on Fremont Street, and I love the history and the old casinos and hotels. The Four Queens is a great bargain and very convenient to the outside festivities on Fremont. The Magnolia Cafe inside offers up some great food and the servers were very good when we ate there. The only issue with the hotel is that the rooms are very outdated and not very clean. It wasn't horrendous...we felt comfortable...but they really could do a lot better. The bathroom was extremely small as well.

I'm not sure about all of the rooms, but our room overlooked Fremont Street, and if you know anything about it you know that they have loud crowds, music, and of course the light show on the hour in the evenings. You DO hear it in the room...at least if your room is overlooking it...so be prepared if that will bother you. I used earplugs and was fine.

Overall, I felt like it just deserved an average rating, but for the price and location it fit the bill. If you're looking for a bargain and just need a place to sleep while staying downtown, it would be fine. If you're looking for something a little nicer or fancier, you might not be happy. I would stay here again, however.

Room Tip: If you think you'll be bothered by the noise on Fremont, ask for a room on a higher floor or on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 596Smokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Four Queens for three nights over a February weekend. While we usually stay at the Golden Nugget, the prices were inflated for some function they were having. This was my first stay at the Four Queens and I found it to offer the necessities without frills you might expect at a more expensive hotel. Overall, we found it to be adequate and clean. Its location downtown fit the bill for our gambling needs and the casino offered a lot of action at the tables. For the price, I would definitely stay there again.

While we usually rent a car when in Las Vegas, this time we relied on the Westcliff Airport Express (WAX) bus for trips between the airport and downtown as well as downtown and the strip (Tropicana). It circumvents the traffic clogged strip and offers a very quick, minimal stop, trip at only $2.00 per trip making transportation easy and cheap. The WAX stops across the street from the hotel, another bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having stayed in a bunch of strip hotels over the years we were looking for a new experience, starting with the hotel. The Four Queens represents all that is glitzy and flashy about old-school Vegas. If you're looking for the Encore or the Wynn, stay at the Encore of the Wynn. If you're looking for a hotel that has clean sheets, attentive staff, and a simple place to lay your head for a few hours, this is the place. I think we paid something like $52 a night for a weekend rate, which if you've done any research for your plans to visit Vegas, good luck beating that rate. You might think for that price you're getting a slum, but that's far from the case.

When we checked in (WAY early, mind you) they had a room available for us but it would be one of the rooms above Fremont. I think we were about 3-4 stories above the top of the roof of Fremont. It's really not as bad as people say. If you have a newborn baby, sure avoid the tower. If you're a very light sleeper, avoid the tower above Fremont. But honestly, it wasn't bad. We were both able to fall asleep the one night we crashed earlier than the Fremont party ended (though you might feel a little jealous knowing all the fun going on below you without you!).

We at Magnolia's (family restaurant) for breakfast one day. The choices are pretty standard but the food was surprisingly good. Very affordable. Cheap and delicious way to start (or end) your day. Overlooks the casino which can be good or bad, depending on if you're looking for solitude or to remain in the thick of the action.

The casino paid better than most, particularly the Strip casinos. They do seem to have a hodge podge of slots, no real rhyme or reason to the ones they have, but that's part of the charm..finding old gems you love but can't find anywhere else and new games that are fresh off the presses.

Whatever the Four Queens is charging for weekend rates is worth it. You're literally 20 feet from the bus stop to take you to the Strip, their security is great at keeping things safe and secure (considering their doors are wide open 24/7 facing Fremont, and you're right smack dab in the middle of all the action on Fremont Street at night.

Vegas is a fun town, obviously. But there was something so...exhilarating...about being able to step off the elevator, take a turn, and you're instantly right in the middle of all this fun, be it your own hotel (Four Queens) or immediately thrust into the lively celebratory atmosphere of Fremont at night.

We had a blast here and we'd definitely return if we stayed on Fremont Street again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wernerjm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in a clean and quiet room. I would recommend asking for a room off the Freemont St. Side as it's very noisy on that side. The beds were very comfortable. The is a stage right next to the hotel that had excellent free entertainment every night. Of course it's also entertaining just watching all the crazy characters walking around.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaurieK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed here over 30 times and is always clean and nice. The Fremont St. side is a bit noisy but the other side is really quiet. Its not fancy but it has the best food you will find at any downtown hotel

Room Tip: get one not on the fremont street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMHUEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 263 in Las Vegas
990 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Golden Nugget Hotel
#89 of 263 in Las Vegas
10,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#132 of 263 in Las Vegas
829 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#95 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Queens Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Queens Hotel and Casino

Property: Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Address: 202 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Queens Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Queens Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Queens Hotel And Casino
Four Queens Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing