We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off in a tent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Ranked #122 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This location is VERY dated and VERY dirty in places. The rooms had very old and dirty furniture. The Adventure dome was clean but had a funny chemical smell. The casino and midway were clean but also very dated. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Vegas this would be OK, but I would NOT want to take my family there to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick11093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLVGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

I apologize that you had a negative experience while staying with us. We appreciate all guest feedback, positive or negative, and will ensure that your concerns are brought to the attention of our management. Should you need to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact me via email at guestrelations@circuscircus.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,672)
There are newer reviews for Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,366 - 6,372 of 9,672 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

This tattered, ill-managed DEBACLE should tear down everything but the two towers and rebuild. Had booked a 5 night travel package through Alaskan Air. Where to begin... Check-in took way too long with a LONG line roped off. They have so many mis-allocated personnel standing around in different areas, they should triple the size of the staff at RECEPTION. Check-out was supposed to be easily done on your TV. Only problem was, the numbers on the bedside card did NOT match the ones on the screen. After I finally hacked my way onto the check-out screen, I discovered they had double-billed for the room, which was paid IN ADVANCE on an Alaskan Airlines FULL PACKAGE. Anyway, when I returned home, I straighted out the "error" with AMEX in about 10 minutes. Just an "honest," occasional mistake, right? Same exact thing happened to my business partner whom was staying across the hall. He went down to the lobby to correct his bill and had to wait in line for 50 minutes. When I called AMEX, they said this billing practice occurs more often than not... I guess we shouldn't expect any integrity from a Casino, after all. Another stupid thing is the "resort coupon book." It is worthless. This hotel should just charge a fair room rate and be done with it! The moment you set foot in any of their gaming areas, you feel an distinct air of desperation, Bugsey style and decor... The best thing for them to do is start all over from scratch and build a new Casino with perhaps 100 FRENCH Roulette Wheels... They could solve all their woes on that 2.8% "0"... I suggest you stay at ANY other Casino until this place finds a decent management team.

Room Tip: Casino Tower Rooms have been remodeled and are quiet. Make sure you set your A/C fan to LOW or the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captaingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLVGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I apologize that you had a negative experience with us. We appreciate all guest feedback, negative or positive, so that we can use it to improve our service and amenities. If you wish to discuss this incident further, please don't hesitate to contact me at guestrelations@circuscircus.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

When we booked this hotel we didn't realise how wonderful it was for all of us, there is so much to see, great places to eat and it is walkable to get to the centre of Las Vegas. There are two swimming pools and plenty of other things for both adults and children to do.

Room Tip: Book in advance through your travel agent, they can get a good deal for you. Also, get a room in on...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our first hotel/resort stay in Las Vegas (took a trip out of town during week to visit with relatives in another state). Registration line moved quickly (there is a person keeping watch for you to see when next registration staff is available.). Service was friendly at front desk. WARNING: Before and after you do your registration, there is an annoying person/staff member offering you a "Welcome" pkg of $100.00. WALK AWAY!! It is a "timeshare presentation" (we did not go because we already have 2 timeshares and go to relax on our vacation!!). When going to the elevators to get to your room, be mindful of the signage outside the elevators!! The first four sets of elevators go to certain floors and the back 4 elevators go to other certain floors. They don't mention this at the front desk. Needless to say we got on the wrong elevators and went for a "ride." The room was a decent size, King size bed, desk, chair and ottoman, dresser drawers and flat screen TV. Had a "rooftop" view, but didn't care cuz was mostly in room to rest, not stare outside. The shower spray was lacking (forgot to tell them this at the front desk when we were leaving.) There was no fan in bathroom to get rid of steam off of bathroom mirror. Basically it was a "no frills room." No coffee pot, no fridge. We brought a collaplable cooler and lined it with 2 garbage bags so it wouldn't leak. We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Can get lost trying to find different places in the resort (i.e.: the midway).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookie449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Did not know what to expect when I booked for a whole week.i had a great time , valet was great and quick ! Check in was so quick on a Monday I heard horror stories about checking in it was fast and I was upgraded as well. Casinos were fun waitresses kept my drinks coming I had a blast

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLVGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. Glad to hear that you had a great time! We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. If you have any questions please email me at guestrelations@circuscircus.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On arrival we were taken to the car park entrance,which we thought was wrong, but this was to save trailing bags and cases through the casino. Rooms were on the 27th floor which afforded an amazing view of downtown Vegas.A nice touch was complimentary continental breakfast. This could be taken in a few of the smaller food areas(Barista and West side deli amongst the best). The staff were friendly and helpful . Free lessons for the gaming tables were given by staff who appearred to enjoy it as much as the patrons did.The room was a good size with two double beds. One thing missing,and this may be a British thing, no tea or coffee making facilities in room. The hotel may be at the end of the strip,but this gives a chance of travelling by bus from one end of the strip to the other at all times of the day.This gave a chance to view the amazing architecture and free entertainment available on the strip.Buying a three day ticket for the bus,$20, is a good idea as it allows unlimited travel from on end of vegas to the other. The buffet restaurant was clean and had a wide selection of food and soft drinks at a reasonable price.The circus every hour and free was great for couples with kids. Rock and Ritas bar/restaurant was ok for a night but entertainment was not great.Good thing about that was every hotel on the strip had something happening, whether it was a show or an exhibition, so entertainment was always available. The pools were clean and had lifeguards at most times so parents could relax a bit more as polols were well watched. 3 pools were available though one of them was in a RV(caravannette) parking area .

Room Tip: higher rooms afforded fantastic views on all sides
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Best steak in Las Vegas. No exaggeration. The hotel is very old school and run down. The casino is pathetic. However, the food in the Steakhouse is the best in the city. A must for any visitor looking for a well-kept secret.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marcojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,615 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Address: 2880 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-1138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#62 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $52 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 3773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic hotel on the Las Vegas Strip is close to shopping, the Las Vegas Convention Center and downtown Las Vegas. The newly renovated tower rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, wireless internet, cable TV, hairdryers and in-room safes. Circus Circus features free world-class circus acts nightly, a carnival midway with over 200 games for all ages, and The Adventuredome indoor theme park with 25 rides and attractions including a double-loop rollercoaster. Guests also enjoy slots, table games, a Race and Sports Book and flair bartending at Vince Neil's Restaurant and Bar. Circus Circus has 8 dining outlets serving breakfast, lunch and dinner ranging from quick eats to casual and award-winning dining. Among the choices, the hotel has a buffet, a made-to-order pizzeria and highly acclaimed restaurant- The Steakhouse, voted Top Steakhouse in Las Vegas by Zagat. The Steakhouse is open for dinner nightly serving mesquite grilled steak, prime rib and seafood. Reservations are strongly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Circus Hotel And Casino Las Vegas
Circus Hotel Las Vegas
Circus Las Vegas
Circus Casino
Las Vegas Hotel Circus
Circus Circus Las Vegas Nevada
Circus Circus Review
Circus Circus Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing