We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
California Hotel & Casino
Ranked #88 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've been coming to Vegas for many years. Haven't stayed at the California lately, but used to quite a bit twenty years or so ago. It hasn't changed much. With all the development on the Strip and those higher end choices, the Cal seems dated and a bit worn. Still, it's hard to argue the price point as we got our rooms for about $35 a night. We spent one night at the Encore and it was $300 bucks. The rooms and bathrooms are small and the wall safe isn't big enough for a laptop. The lines are long at breakfast, but you can easily walk over to the Main Street Hotel for a nice buffet breakfast. Also had an incident where two of the three elevators in the newer tower broke down. Some people were trapped in one of the elevators for almost an hour. We had to walk up to the 20th floor which was really just the tenth floor , still, was an inconvenience. Elevators are slow enough to begin with . I used the free shuttle to Sam's Town and to the Strip at Harrah's, walked over to Bally's and caught the free shuttle to the Orleans. In summary, nothing to spectacular to write about, but also no gross shortcomings either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawnsteeldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    263
    141
    38
    28
See reviews for
169
185
70
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights, hotel has been renovated, love the queen beds,flat screen TV, new dressers, new bathrooms, hallways have new wall paper and better lighting fixtures, new carpets. Staff are super nice, the cafe was very reasonable with a Hawaii flair for customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCORPUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We normally stay at the Fremont Hotel but because we purchased a package we had to stay at the California. The room had 2 double beds and it was very tight. The bathroom was even tighter! Barely had any room to move in there! The bed was sagging and very uncomfortable. If we have a choice the next time, we'll go back to the Fremont again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Poor Hawaii folks most either dont care or arent akamai nuff to know better. Then again it comes down to a conscious choice and warped sense of loyalty

(kinda like they do for our UH Warriors Football ahem another time & story)

Suckers as most folks are for a bargain, this package of flight & room quality/service has declined to a state of embarrassment. Tis a shame with all this island support for all these years one would think theyd get much better preferential treatment? oooooh noooooo stead they get corralled and herded into rooms with little to no regard to the quality of the rooms. One look around inside and obviously we get the rooms designed for those on the move....yeah the rooms designed for just a quick close of the eyes and shower types. Nothing to write home about heck I wouldnt either. Dont see any if at all, pictures of Cal's rooms boasting of its decor, etc oooh noooo it would send shivers of shame across the miles. But what the heck do they care right stead they spend thousand$ and send back pics of food. Yeah the food that actually costed them big bucks lost but hey great steak. U get the gist. The other day was co-hosting an event for a friend's birthday bash with most having flown in and wouldnt we know it, we got the shaft at the front desk. Room wasnt ready and sat in the hallway for almost 25 minutes before we were told to come in and SIT on the bed ONLY. Really? Stead of a comp of some sort as the long time standard industry's way of smoothing things over I get "we'll pass this on to the housekeeping dept, thank you" To that I say hey my bruddahs & sistahs as uallz get on with age ask and stand firmly for a better quality of memory-----even if u have to pay more for an entirely different hotel. Afterall Vegas should be a living experience not a spending one ~KnightMoves808~

Room Tip: upgrade or stay elsewhere coz these pkg rooms are downright depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knightmoves808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's very true when they say' you get what you pay for ' I stayed one night excuse it was a last minute addition to my short trip to Vegas and the original hotel was over $300 per night being Saturday.
First impressions, seedy and smoky!

Went to desk asked for possible upgrade and was told it was full, that was a total falsehood as I had only booked a few hours before, just be honest or even tell me the cost. Don't lie. The Hawaiian theme doesn't work, I don't understand a hotel being called California and everyone in Hawaiian shirts. We got our keys and opened the door to find other peoples bags and shopping in the room, got another room on 13 th floor overlooking the roof and freeway. Immediately my daughter and I were bitten by bugs, the carpet was many years old the room dark and dingy similar to 1970's . It was on the same level as the "pool" deck which was actually a small concrete area with the tiniest pool and 10 sun loungers. I'm very grateful I only had one night here.
Had this had been the only hotel I stayed in in Vegas I would have never go back.
No class , no style no appeal.

Room Tip: Not on 13 floor we were in 1306 just awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ebonyqueen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been staying at the California Hotel for approximately thirty years! We feel at home there and recognize quite a few people. We realize that it is not the most elegant place to stay, but it is very homey. Not a lot of amenities, because it is an older hotel - but hey, we are getting older, too. We enjoy the slot and video poker tournaments, and the personnel have always been friendly and try to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We have never been disappointed in any of the food at the Market Street Cafe, or the Pasta Pirate or the Redwood, and enjoy eating there! If we aren't having any luck gambling at the Cal, we head over to the Main Street for awhile. The Cal, however, is, as I mentioned, our home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was a great value. I managed to get several rooms for my family at less than $40 per night on the weekend. A few rooms I booked later, and price went up about double, but still not bad. I was nervous about the downtown hotels, but this was pretty decent. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location was extremely convenient, but without the noise of Fremont. The casino was not too big, so it was easy to get in and out of rooms. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kexueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#106 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#95 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel & Casino

Property: California Hotel & Casino
Address: 12 E Ogden Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89101-2992
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Vegas.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your California Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Las Vegas
California Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing