We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great value on Fremont St.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
California Hotel & Casino
Ranked #94 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place, great value on Fremont St.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife received a special offer from the hotel so we thought we would give it a try. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The drinks were good, the gaming was ok, but the food was excellent! We had the prime rib special one night, which was excellent! The vegetable at the salad bar were fresh, and the service was very good. I would highly recommend the California.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    256
    140
    38
    28
See reviews for
165
180
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in many, many hotels in Las Vegas, in every price range from well under a $100 to well over $300 per night and I simply haven't found any as great a place to stay as the California. I know, I know it is down town and it is not the glitzy or high glamour and emotional place as others are, but does one sleep and eat and live in the glitz and glamour, I don't think so, not even the richest or most famous it just seems that way because that is what you are to believe! Having written that little speech then I say this about the California... extremely clean EVERYWHERE in the building, even the air. The rooms are immaculate and oh so comfortable! The food is great and when the price is considered it is even better (I like good food at a good price and will always rate a location high for these reasons). It is so easy to access and also one can travel easily to Fremont Street, a very short walk and then if you feel like the "battle" either drive, take a taxi, bus or the Deuce to the Strip & beyond. By the way gambling is just that, a gamble so take it wherever you want the outcome is the same...it is well known that these monstrosity along the Strip are "built on our vast losing’s". Stay here at least once, especially if you are tired of the Strip and see if you agree, if not I would "wager" you didn't lose much for trying! Have fun, the place, the food and especially the people are great!
Did I forget to tell you the price is fantastic for what you get and can't be beat!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be great, but you could ask for a room in the tower closest to the check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

9 - 12 April 2013
Room 501

We checked in at about 10 pm. First room assigned was 1006 - a smoking room. Back down to reception for a change to a non-smoking room. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient.

The room was a bit better than the rooms in the other two downtown hotels I have stayed in.

Bed was comfortable, pillows were a bit high for me but my Mom liked them.

Bathroom was in good shape, no drips and well cared for, though not new. Toilet handle had to be held down to fully flush. The tub was comfortable and water hot.

Complaints included: only a pocket door for the bathroom (which my Mom didn't care for) and there were no curtains and no blackout for the windows - it was shuttered. That meant that a lot of light came in the room in the morning. Certainly that would be a concern if you like to stay up late. Rooms in the other tower did not have shutters (Mom stayed in the other tower in October 2012).

I enjoyed the downtown vibe and the feel of the California and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: room 501 - tower closest to the reception desk was close to the elevator but did not have elevator n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Small hotel and casino downtown with great restaurants and small shops. There is a Lappert's ice cream shop, tiny Ethel M chocolate shop, and cafes that serve Hawaiian and local style food. The coffee shop is 24 hours and has great specials including miso butterfish and ox tail soup. They also have comfort food such as saimin or won ton min. Many elderly Hawaii gamblers frequent this hotel. The casino was on the quiet side and not crowded at all. The walkway attaching this hotel to the Main Street Casino and Hotel makes it a safe bridge to go from one hotel to the next.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocokiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This trip to Vegas I wanted to stay near the Freemont St. Experience instead of The Strip. I read about the California and booked it at a very good rate. If it weren't for the great rate, I would have been very upset. As it is, you really do get what you pay for and that isn't much.
The beds are way too soft, the cable TV offers only about 15 channels and NO Fox News Channel, the 1st hotel I've ever stayed in without it. Couldn't get any accurate news for almost a week. My wife & her mother were assaulted and threatened with bodily harm in the casino.
The staff were not very friendly.
The Redwood Restaurant was good and very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkleimancap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at California Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We take pride in the value that we offer guests and we continually look for ways to improve our hotel so that no one leaves disappointed. We apologize that our staff was not more welcoming during your stay. We aim to make all our guests feel comfortable and safe. We are very concerned to hear that there was a time during your stay that you and your family did not feel safe. Your comments have been forwarded to the Director of Security and the General Manager. We’d like to know more about your experience and we invite you to contact us directly at www.thecal.com/contact-us. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Lithia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I spent a week here. We loved the friendliness of the staff and how tidy everything was kept. I particularly enjoyed the hotel’s proximity to the Freemont Experience. The area surrounding the hotel is reminiscent of the golden age of Vegas. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
395 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having spent 3 nights at the nearby Main Street Station Hotel which was extremely noisy, I requested a quiet room and ended up on the 10th floor of the East Tower which was well shielded from the nearby freeway but not from the sound stages of Freemont Street. The advantages of downtown hotels are also the disadvantages. You're right next to the action and noise, so take your earplugs. My room was very comfortable and clean and reasonably priced and I'd certainly return to this area and hotel as a change from the chaos of the Strip. I spent a very pleasant week exploring the downtown area.
My only criticism is that the bedrooms are not double glazed which would certainly alleviate some of the street noise.

Room Tip: The East Tower is shielded from the freeway noise, but I expect that most of the rooms suffer from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#104 of 264 in Las Vegas
947 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel & Casino

Property: California Hotel & Casino
Address: 12 E Ogden Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89101-2992
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Vegas.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your California Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Las Vegas
California Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing