We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
California Hotel & Casino
Ranked #96 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cheesy, campy and everything a downtown Las Vegas hotel should be. Caters to us Hawaiians. Love it here. Lots of food choices, not just from the islands, and its a great bargain. Fun to run into friends too.

Room Tip: check for Specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    253
    136
    38
    28
See reviews for
162
175
69
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in old downtown and is VERY VERY VERY cheap. Its like staying at a place a secret agent would stay at because he doesn't want his cover to be blown. There are NO amenities and the room is four walls with a 15inch TV.

Why did I rate it average? Because I stayed here during a holiday weekend for 19.99$ a night. Thats the allure of the place. If you are never going to be in your room and you want to have a blast on Freemont street then this is the place for you. Remember, you get what you pay for. Do not expect a great hotel experience. Save a few bucks and the money you save can be spent on the craps table!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms. Just put your stuff down, go out, and have a blast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank saifmj210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our first stay downtown. Glad I picked the California. I enjoyed that it was not right on fremont. No noise from Fremont or highway. We got a standard room for under $40. The room was small but had nice furniture. The walkway to MSS was also nice. We had the breakfast buffet at the Cafe which was good. Staff was fine. Wish they had been a bit more friendly. Overall I would stay here again or try MSS. Downtown is fun but I could not stay there for more then a day or two. Just a strip person I guess. Bathroom in our room had his and her sinks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vegasjunkymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The first time we walked through the casino at California Hotel, we thought that we must be in Hawaii. At least ninety per cent of the guests appear to be from Hawaii--lots of aloha spirit.

When we arrived in the afternoon, there were dozens of guests trying to register but only two front desk staff on duty who worked very slowly--slow computers? We waited in line for over a half hour only to find that our room was not ready. We were told to come back later, and were told to stand in line again, this time for another half hour to get the key to our room. When we finally got to our room, the cheery bell man had delivered our bags to the room, so that was very nice. The room itself was very lovely and large, an excellent buy, much more attractively furnished than our previous visit a number of years ago. The food at the hotel is reasonably priced, but not wonderful.

California Hotel is well located in downtown Las Vegas with many restaurants and attractions to choose from. The new Mob Museum is nearby. We think it is the finest new attraction in Las Vegas--plan to spend several hours there. To get to the Strip, there's a handy shuttle at a nearby hotel which runs frequently. We would definitely stay at California Hotel again and hope that the registration process will be more efficient next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked the $89 deal using my bconnect card. It was wonderful! For two days, only had to pay $13 for food total (for 2 ppl) and got free play money. Room was clean and very comfortable for two. The food was delicious... I had the salad bar twice at market street it was so good. Also it's super close to Fremont experience. I loved my stay at the cal and would highly recommend if you're looking for a fun time without having to spend a lot of money. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LbeforeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have always stayed at the large hotels on the Strip but received a gift certificate for the Cal. While I initially wasn't too excited, the Cal staff and casino changed my mind. You need to accept that the Downtown Las Vegas area has older, smaller hotels and you stay on the Strip if you want the lights, luxury and glitz. The Cal is so popular with Hawaiian visitors that they have travel packages from the islands several times a week. The staff wear Hawaiian shirts and the cafe and a restaurant offer favorite food items. The check-in is quick and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Our non-smoking room was fresh, with good air conditioning and I am very sensitive to smoke- so I pleased. Card player and slot player were both pleased. You DO win more often! Guess it is true about the "looser slots". The air quality in the casino, restaurants and common areas are very good, too. Once you join their players club, you receive some great offers for rooms. The Fremont Street Experience is around the corner- something to check out, but just okay. Lots of "interesting" people on Fremont so we kept out backs against the wall and wallets safe. The sister property, Main St. Station is easy to access via an enclosed walkway. Would highly recommend the Cal for people familiar with Las Vegas and want a good deal at a good price. More $ for gaming, shopping and entertainment! Oh, there is a tiny rooftop pool but who goes outside in the Vegas heat?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 101travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

When we go to Vegas, we like to stay on the strip or at a hotel that’s on the monorail line. This trip the convention we were attending was at an off-strip hotel. Since we were going to need a car anyway, we decided to try one of the downtown hotels. The California Hotel and Casino sounded very good. The location was ideal, the reviews were good, the price was great and it had the amenities that we like so we thought we’d give it a try. We are very glad we did.
For the most part the hotel is wonderful. The location is great; it’s close to the Fremont Street Experience and a walkable distance to several other casinos and restaurants. The food was excellent, especially Pirate Pasta. The people are some of the nicest we’ve run into. The waitstaff, bartenders and guards were friendly and helpful. I even won $50 in the slot machines.
Why am I marking this as a 4 instead of a 5? There were some serious flaws with our room. When we checked in, the room didn’t seem “finished”. There was a roll-away bed in the room that we didn’t request and the usual coupons and hotel information were missing. The air conditioning didn’t work right and, in August, that’s a problem. The temperature in the room was over 80 degrees, but since it was after midnight, we decided to deal with it the next morning. In the morning we stopped at the front desk to ask that someone fix the air conditioner and we were assured that they’d see to it. They didn’t. We got back to our room late; nobody had been in the room, including housekeeping. The room was still 77 degrees and very uncomfortable. The beds were unmade and the towels where we left them. It was too late to call maintenance and then wait for someone to come to the room. By the next morning, the temperature was down to 75 degrees and we decided that we could live with it that way for another day.
We’ll give the California Hotel and Casino another try the next time we go to Vegas. It’s not fancy but it’s a nice place to stay. It’s clean and has a great location. Its best asset is its people. They are all friendly and helpful. We’re hoping the problems we experienced are a one-time issue and look forward to trying the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patty1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#99 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel & Casino

Property: California Hotel & Casino
Address: 12 E Ogden Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89101-2992
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your California Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Las Vegas
California Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing