We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Ranked #69 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My recent stay at Planet Hollywood Las Vegas was great. This hotel is in a great location on the Las Vegas strip, within close walking distance to other casinos, restaurants and attractions. The check in process was smooth, and I upgraded to a strip view room for a very reasonable charge. My room was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the Bellagio fountains and the strip. There was some noise at night from the outdoor concerts at Cosmopolitan across the street, but in Vegas, the sound of people having fun is to be expected. The hotel was almost full, and so the casino was busy at night. This casino has a fun, party atmosphere and is a fun place to stay. There were long lines at the coffee shops in the morning, but that is normal at a busy hotel. I enjoyed my stay and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra fee to upgrade to a strip view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,660
    6,905
    3,716
    1,533
    1,072
See reviews for
3,192
7,001
1,000
1,788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Overall there was nothing special about the stay, the casino or the customer service.

I am a frequent business traveler but stayed at PH during the weekend with my girlfriend.

Here my experience:

Checking in the Valet service was busy and not welcoming; I understand these guys work long hours and have to park hundreds of cars, but they were my first point of contact and the guy treated me like he was a volunteer that really did not want to be there but had to be.

Upon dropping off the car I waited 30min (we timed it just for fun) in line to check-in. Were it not for the nice guests to chat with it would have seemed a lot longer.

The room was worse than the Marriotts I frequent when on business. It may have been larger but the furniture, TV, and decorations were outdated for the price they were charging.

The beds were comfortable, I did appreciate that.

The Casino was OK, seemed tired in it's presentation and energy. For the price the NY NY and Paris had a much nicer casino with what seemed better dealers.

The Pool was fun, but again nothing special, the people I was with made it, but nothing to brag about, IMO.

I agree with the reviews, the locations is great but not worth the price per night. I was between PH, NY NY, and Paris and would recommend the other 2 over PH, unless it was significantly less per night than the other 2.

Room Tip: The extra money for the Strip View is not worth it, just get the regular room, the windows in the St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to begin.! The best part of our trip was the customer service checking in & out. The pool are had to be the most disgusting thing I ever saw at a hotel. We complained to the pool manager and it seemed like he could care less. The floor where we were staying was dingy, trash on the floor and just plain unkept!!!! If my husband didn't have a conference here we would have checked out. It was much better when it was the Aladdin!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkyme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellogg, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked our vacation in a package several months in advance so we had nothing to pay when we arrived. However, during our check-in a front desk staff named Joel was able to get us an upgrade to a two bedroom sweet for a great deal. The room would not be ready for a few but Joel personally called us when it was ready. I was very pleased with the service :) The room was incredible with 180 degree views and large five piece bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location is great, Everything else… not so much.

TL;DR -Lousy customer service; chaotic check-in; dusty and dirty rooms; resort fees; Not worth it. 2 stars, not 4!

When booking via expedia was told it was a 4 star hotel. This hotel is not 4 stars, it barely rates 2 stars.

First thing you will see when you walk in is a dark, dimly-lit reception. After walking the Strip, this is the only hotel that went this poorly lit reception area. First warning bell.
The line up to check in on a Sunday was insanely long. While checking in, a guest was yelling at the front staff beside me over the fact the swimming pool is open to the public. In a nut shell, the reception area was in chaos.

We got the upgrade to the fountain view for additional 50 dollars a night. Was not worth it. You will not spend more than 5 minutes looking out that window at the show. It is better to walk across the street and watch it from there. Plus you can hear the music the show is timed to.

We got a room on the 22nd floor south tower. Get in room, start unloading our suitcase as we were there for 5 days - 2 drawers, less than 6 inches in depth. One drawer containing a Gideon's Bible, that took up 1/4th of the space to give you an idea how small these drawers where. Two people, 5 days - two tiny drawers isn't going to work. The closet had 6 hangers, an iron board, iron and the safe (which you have to be over 6 feet to use.) On top of that all the furniture was beat up, scratched, worn, in a poor state.

The end tables and desk, all have lamps but no drawers either. Almost like Planet Hollywood wants you to drop your stuff on the floor in a teenager fashion. Unfortunately, there were stains on the head board, the uncomfortable purple chairs had dust, stains and cigarette burns (this was a NON-SMOKING room), and the drapes were ripped.

There was hair embedded on the towel. There was a layer of DUST everywhere. The room even smelt a little off. As you can imagine, we went down and complained. And got the run around that a manger was not available and one would call us in our room (because people come to Vegas to sit in their rooms waiting for a call !). One did not call. But they did change us to a new room, which was only marginally better.

We came down later in the evening to see if a manager was now available to address our concerns but the line up was twice as long as before. We waited to the next morning at 8 am, got told the manager was in a meeting. An apparent 4 star hotel had no manager available to address our concerns neither the day we checked in nor the morning after. And no phone call as promised. Was told by front staff that a manager would be available in an hour.

After an hour, we came back to the front desk and we did get a manager for 10 seconds. He was busy with another unhappy guest. He directed one of the front staff to take care of us. Which was by not charging us the upgrade (to a dirty room). YUP. 10 seconds to direct an underling to give us a free upgrade.

Next issue, we got the option for free breakfast. That free breakfast is a $9 voucher per person (up to 2 people) to Starbucks in the hotel. The Starbucks has limited selection for food, and they are all $4 plus. SO the voucher covers a coffee and pastry. Breakfast of the working man. Not a breakfast of a 4 star hotel. And on top of that, ordering bagel toasted with cream cheese to go, they do not give you a knife to spread the cream cheese.

Other issues we heard other guests complain about, the free parking is actually for the mall (Miracle Mile Shops) - so you will have to drag your stuff through the mall/casino. Or you have to pay to have it valet park it.

The pool closed at 5pm. Small pools. Open to the public with no security for guests.

Fees required for many amenities such as local calling (I kid you not, it is a buck plus additional charges for being over a certain amount of time), the internet (very few places have free wifi) and a fridge. I was especially peeved over being charged for local phone calls as I had no cell phone with me and it is hard to reserve tickets or book tours without calling ahead.

Only good thing about PH is where it is located. Bus route out front for the strip, great shows in the Mall attached, within walking distance of the more respectable casinos, hotels and attractions.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere on the strip - do not go for the upgrade, there is nothing that is upgrade but view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ont
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews. However, we got a great room, 22nd floor, overlooking Las Vegas Strip and view of the Bellagio fountains. Large room, desk, large flat screen TV, lots of channels. Large, spotless bathroom with separate tub and shower. Great value for price paid.

Planet Hollywood now charges a $20 “Resort Fee”. Last time I was in Las Vegas, this hotel group was promoting the fact they did not have a resort fee. However, this fee does include access to the fitness centre, and internet access for only one device. You pay $14 for the second device. A little disappointing as most visitors have more than one device. The “Resort Fee” includes access to the fitness centre – however, only 2 guests can have access. This was not an issue for us, but may be an issue for 2+ friends in a room. However, this was the only disappointment – everything else about the room and stay was great.

Some reviews complained of a long walk to the parking lot – this is Las Vegas and all hotels are similar. By the way, on the Las Vegas Strip, it’s a long walk to just cross the street (over the bridges).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_London_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday/Superbowl weekend, I'm not sure how much it was per night since it was a present but overall it was a nice room. My bf and I stayed in the Hollywood hip room with no view (no biggie), the bathroom was huge with a bath tube, separate shower and bathroom (the water in the toilet kept running but it wasn't a big problem). The bed was big and comfortable. Each room is decorate with memorabilia items from a classic movie, I will definitely stay here again... instead of posting pictures, heres a video from youtube... .highly recommended!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9sbuH0TOEvo&list=UUonafhABh064sqPcQq34kyQ&index=27

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank An0nym0us88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,698 reviews
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#37 of 262 in Las Vegas
25,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#17 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,097 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#83 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,411 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Property: Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Address: 3667 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#82 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience celebrity first hand at the "House that Fame Built" - Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Resort & Casino. With star-worthy accommodations and an upscale atmosphere, you never know who you might see. Dine in style at Gordon Ramsay BurGR Las Vegas, the acclaimed chef’s latest Las Vegas hotspot; at Koi, where Japanese tradition meets California innovation, or at Strip House Las Vegas, the critically acclaimed NYC-based steakhouse. If you’re looking for something a little more casual, stop by the Spice Market Buffet, featuring fare from around the world, or at Ringer, where you can feast on wings and tenders, all-beef sliders, New York-style pizza and waffle fries while watching and wagering on your favorite games. On the casino floor, Heart Bar and The Pleasure Pit ensure non-stop excitement each with their own brand of fun. You can also discover the latest trends at the Miracle Mile Shops or socialize and sunbathe at the Planet Hollywood pool, home to dozens of cabanas and the only Las Vegas pool with a FlowRider wave machine. For those who’d rather relax indoors, the Spa by Mandara hosts a bevy of rejuvenating services in a calm, serene setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Resort And Casino
Planet Hollywood Las Vegas
Planet Hollywood Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Aladdin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing