We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Started off bad, turned out ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Ranked #79 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
670 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Started off bad, turned out ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first time at PH. We stayed because friends were here, but we are Total Rewards members, so thought we'd try it. When we arrived to check in, they told us our King non smoking was no longer available. Most hotels would upgrade you. But no, we could either take a smoking room, or pay, PAY $30 to $50 extra a night to get non smoking!!! Rather than look for another room at another casino, we opted to pay for one night before switching back to a room in our category. So for $30 more, we get a room right next to the elevators (up and down ALL night long) and the ice and vending machines. And a disgustingly moldy shower - I didn't even want to go in there barefoot. And the $30 was for a view of Bellagio fountains, which you could only see if you bent down to look out the tiny window. Next morning, we went down to ask for our new room, asking for better location (than by elevators and vending) - this time, the guy actually upgraded us for the rest of the time. He felt bad for what had happened, seemed embarrassed (as he should). We would have been fine with the smaller room, but bigger on the 50th floor, bigger, cleaner shower, this time with coffee machine & refrigerator (not in the other room), and the high penthouse ceilings - great. Not a suite, just a bigger room. I know it's hard to keep casinos clean, but am not very impressed with the common areas, either. We had to ask for our rooms to be stocked with shampoos, etc. Not sure if we'll stay here again. Bally's, Paris and Flamingo have cleaned up their act and are less expensive for the same or better quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,852
    6,389
    3,553
    1,467
    1,023
See reviews for
2,849
6,472
894
1,620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Planet Hollywood in July 2012. We have been staying at Bally's on our previous trips. Well...I loved the room at Planet Hollywood, we had the Bette Midler themed room, not my favorite actress, however the room was very nice. The bathroom was the best part for my wife, it has a huge soaking tub. The bathroom is big and easy to get around. I was looking at staying at the Mirage as well, except their bathrooms are a lot smaller and do not have a great soaking bathtub. So, if you like bathroom space and a soaking tub, stay at Planet Hollywood. The weather was very hot hen we were visiting, temps average 107 each day. The room a/c did it's job, no problem there.
I enjoyed the room, I did not like the hotel casino area. If their plan is to get you lost so you gamble more, they achieved their goal. What a hard place to get around, one wrong turn and you are walking in the Miracle Mile Shops area. Maybe staying at Bally's is more of a comfort area for me, change can be a good thing? On day three, we were able to get around without getting lost.
The hotel's location can not be beat!! Just like at Bally's, location is your friend.
We did not eat at any place in Planet Hollywood or the attached Miracle Mile Shops, we ate on the strip mostly.
Overall, it's a nice place, would I stay there again? I believe I would, if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RUDRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at Planet Holleywood in April of 2010. The room was great and the casino was to. Excellent service in the casino, Heart Bar is good. Was not that impressed with the Spice Market Buffet for all the talk about it. It is good/okay but nothing more. The hotel is sitting in a nice spot on the strip, pretty much in the middle. I had no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I lose ourselves in Las Vegas about every six months. Each time we try to stay at a different hotel in an effort to experience additional “sin”sory overload. This trip was no exception; our anticipation and curiosity grew as we arrived at Planet Hollywood (PH).

We found ourselves in the PH lobby at 11pm on a Thursday night. Based on our past experience with such hotels as Paris, Treasure Island, and Golden Nugget, Las Vegas establishments try their best to provide an upgrade when a party arrives late and only stays one off night (Sunday through Thursday); they have everything to gain, right?...guest perception, return customers, hotel recommendations (not like this one), and the list goes on. This concept was an absentee at Planet Hollywood. In fact, the front desk associate offered upgrades at $80 a night!

When we arrived in our room, the irritation continued. The room was dark, windows dirty to a blur, water pressure low, and the toilet challenged (should I need 10 seconds of patience after pressing the flush lever?). Consequently, I called the front desk and complained. Now get this: the manager stated he would gladly transfer us if they weren’t already at capacity.

“Really?” I replied. “Less than 10 minutes ago, the front desk associate tried to sell us a room upgrade. Now there are no rooms available?” There was silence on the other end of the phone followed by a quick apology. No further action was taken.

The next morning, at 9:21am, a housekeeping associated knock on the door ready to clean the room. Get ‘em in…get ‘em out.

Bottom line: Paris® Las Vegas Hotel and Casino is right next door…stick with a first-class establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a Bachelorette party & it was SO fun! Plenty of bathroom space to get ready. Easy & inexpensive breakfast options in the mall under the hotel. Awesome clubs right in the hotel (Koi & Gallery). Great pool area and plenty of space to lay out. Loved that it was right on the strip & so close to so many fun things!!! It was truly a great experience! :)

Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel room itself was a great disappointment....although we were upgraded to a "resort" room, the first thing we noticed was how dark it was. We actually saw a light above to the TV in the dresser unit, but it was so dark we couldn't find the switch, if there was one. The linens were white, nothing to dress up the bed, which we had to remake every night because it was so lumpy. Actually we had to call housekeeping on two days to make up the room. The towels were thin and scratchy......we were hoping for a litle luxury, but there wasn't even coffee in the room, and loud muic was everywhere!! and the lobby was unimpressive, to say the least!!! On the positive side, we loved Planet Dailies coffee shop, and the Miracle Miles Mall attached to the hotel. We had no problems getting cots around the pool, but perhaps there could be no smoking at the family pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa central
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've been to Vegas 30 times or more and this is my first stay here. Pretty disappointing actually. The property is really showing wear and age. Common areas are dirty and beat up. Rooms themselves are old and furniture, etc. is cheap, chipped, stained. No mini bars, amenities are poor quality. The walls are very, very, very thin - and make absolutely sure you don't get a room next to an elevator. Every 30 seconds it will sound like a freight train is about to break through the wall. While noone expects to sleep a lot while they are in Vegas anyway - forget about gettting ANY sleep or relaxation. I requested a room change within an hour of checking in - but none available. They did accomodate the change the next day - but with the walls being so thin - you could still hear noise from rooms on both sides. The location is great - but the property itself needs major rehab and updating. Also - stay away from buffett - service is pretty good but food quality, especially at seafood area- is extremely poor by anyone's standards - but especially for the $$. Too many great places to go in Vegas so don't waste your time or money here. All in all - they will have to either drop their rates dramatically or remodel soon as there are much better places to stay for around the same $$.

Room Tip: Very difficult to get a decent room at all - but definetely ask to be AWAY FROM ELEVATORS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murffy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Bally's
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,530 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#23 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23,265 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Property: Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Address: 3667 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#82 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience celebrity first hand at the "House that Fame Built" - Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Resort & Casino. With star-worthy accommodations and an upscale atmosphere, you never know who you might see. Dine in style at Gordon Ramsay BurGR Las Vegas, the acclaimed chef’s latest Las Vegas hotspot; at Koi, where Japanese tradition meets California innovation, or at Strip House Las Vegas, the critically acclaimed NYC-based steakhouse. If you’re looking for something a little more casual, stop by the Spice Market Buffet, featuring fare from around the world, or at Ringer, where you can feast on wings and tenders, all-beef sliders, New York-style pizza and waffle fries while watching and wagering on your favorite games. On the casino floor, Heart Bar and The Pleasure Pit ensure non-stop excitement each with their own brand of fun. You can also discover the latest trends at the Miracle Mile Shops or socialize and sunbathe at the Planet Hollywood pool, home to dozens of cabanas and the only Las Vegas pool with a FlowRider wave machine. For those who’d rather relax indoors, the Spa by Mandara hosts a bevy of rejuvenating services in a calm, serene setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Resort And Casino
Planet Hollywood Las Vegas
Planet Hollywood Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Aladdin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing