We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PH Las Vegas Fountain view HIP room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino
Ranked #63 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Planet Hollywood (PH) Resort and Casino is well located on the Strip (just opposite The Cosmopolitan).

I had an Hip room with Fonatine view :-) the view is very nice facing the Bellagio, Paris and Ceasar Palace. My room was on the 30th floor. The room is not too dark has mentioned in many other reports. Probably non-strip view are darker because they have no sun.

The casino is nice and the staff is very friendly. The pool is very basic but you have a nice view on the city centre buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruno80799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,742 - 16,748 of 21,586 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Las Vegas for a 3-night midweek stay. While we stayed with friends two nights, we wanted to stay on the Strip one night since it was our first time in Vegas. After a lot of research, we decided to try Planet Hollywood...an awesome decision!

We booked a fountain view room because we figured we'd go all out for our one night. While we had some delays getting to our room (more on that later), when we did check-in they didn't have a great room option available on our class. Without asking, the front desk rep went to the back for a second, then came back and asked if we would mind an upgrade. Would we MIND? That would be awesome! So, instead of the room we booked, we were given a fountain view suite (The movie theme of the room was The Pink Panther. not the Steve Martin version- the Peter Sellers version). The bathroom was larger than our bedroom at home, and the view was phenomenal!

The clerk did say that part of the reason for the upgrade was because we were staying only one night. So, I guess you can't expect that. But she clearly saw a possibility and tried to secure it for us, which was great.

The only real downside I can come up with is that our flight got in at 8am, and we rented a car. We tried to see if we could check-in early. If they had just said no, I would have been fine with that. However, at 11am they said come back at 1. At 1pm, they said come back at 2:30. At 2:30 they said come back at 3:30, which is when we finally got in our room. If they had just said no initially, no big deal. But it felt like they were stringing us along. They more than made up for it with the room upgrade, though.

One last thing- some other posters said the rooms were very dark and "impossible to read in." I agree that the rooms are dark, but I didn't even think about reading. I didn't personally travel to Las Vegas to sit in my room and read. That being said, if you want enough light to read, you can make enough light to read.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasonB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

stayed her for 5 nights over Vanetines weekend. The rooms are a good size but quite dark. Each room has a theme (vaguely!) with framed memorabilia on the walls and in the bathroom! the bathroom was big and bright, with a powerful shower and separate toilet but had no lock on the door...
The cleaners were very noisy in the corridors and weren't particularly thorough but overall i would recommend this hotel for a value holiday away

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here with 6 other people. Arrived at around 11pm so no queues at check in. Check in was very efficient but not very friendly and we were just given our keys without any explanation of facilities etc. We were given three rooms next to each other which was ideal. There were a couple of glasses in the corridor near our rooms which weren't cleared away fir two days. When we got to our rooms one o then was already occupied. Went back to reception who quickly provided an alternative room but with no apology or explanation. So now our 3 rooms were not all together which although not a major issue was a bit disappointing as we were travelling as a group. We had Hollywood Hip rooms which were great. Plenty of space with large comfortable beds, huge tv, and very large bathroom. Lighting was fine. The only downside was that storage space was limited. We had view of the strip including Bellagio fountains, Caesers Palace, Paris hotel and the Cosmopolitan. Casino was always lively with good atmosphere. Some of the other hotels we visited were noticeably lacking in this area. Bars and restaurants were v good in the hotel and prices good aswell. Hotel is right in the middle of the strip making it easy to visit the other hotels and casinos. We walked easily between them all. The strip bus stop is right outside the hotel for those that would rather use te bus and the monorail us easily accessible through nearby Ballys.

Rooms were cleaned everyday. Our tv remote batteries ran out one evening but were replaced within 10 minutes of us calling reception about them.

Overall we had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dangerranger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My husband and I come to Vegas a few times a year. We have stayed in many hotels/casinos. This time my son and his wife decided to go with us and wanted to stay mid-strip. I have not stayed in Planet Hollywood, but have wanted to. We arrived at the hotel about 5:30pm on a Sunday evening (March 13th). There was no waiting! (yeah). We had pre-paid our flight/hotel as a package back in January and wanted (2) non-smoking, king rooms. We were told they had no non-smoking rooms available unless we wanted to pay an extra $50/per room/night, but they did have 'smoking optional' rooms. Are you kidding me???? Smoking-optional??? Just call it what it is---- a room that smells like an ash tray. At about 12/1am the smell of cigarettes was so strong coming through the ventilation system that I could not sleep. It smelled as if someone was smoking in our bathroom! I had some hesitation about this hotel after reading other reviews, but I couldn't change the reservations without incurring more fees. To be fair, the location was very good and room was relatively quiet for being spring break. The bathroom was big with a soaking tub and separate glass shower. However, the lighting was dim and the window was very small, but that didn't make much of a difference as the view sucked anyway. The rooms do need updating and overall were clean and bug-free.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lasvegasfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed 5 enjoyable nights at Planet Hollywood and found the room (Hollywood Hip Room) clean and modern, with a HUGE bathroom. Beds were big and comfy and the room was quiet (we were on 19th floor). Loved the location- being almost in middle of the strip made for easy access to other attractions we were walking to. Also loved being so close to the Miracle Mile (we made a number of quick trips back to our room to deposit shopping bags!). Check in/out was quick and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf6984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was my husband's birthday trip - we've been to Vegas 15+ times before and never stayed here - I really, really wanted to try it as we like the casino and a lot of the dining options. As it is now part of the Harrahs/Caesars group we were able to get 8 nights comped and pay only for 1 and while we could have booked a nicer hotel (Caesars, Palace Tower room) on a similar deal, really wanting to try this location we went with it.
We were booked in a Hollywood Hip room which we know is the standard room.

We've been very lucky in getting upgrades at others HET/CET hotels (Caesars, Bally’s, Paris) before as we're platinum players with HET/CET, but of course know there is never a guarantee of an upgrade. We arrived about 4pm on a Wednesday and asked if any complimentary upgrades were available. The clerk pulled out the book of upgrade room types and started talking us through them and the prices. Thanks, but no thanks...we'll take what we've booked.

After looking around quite awhile he determined that he did have a king-bed non-smoking room Hollywood Hip room available. He did say that there was an elevator in the area, and asked if that would be a problem. I said to my husband that there may be a lot of foot traffic if that's the case, but the guy only had 2-queen rooms or a smoking king room otherwise, so we took it. He did say that it would normally be an additional $20/night as it was a 'City Center View' room...but he said he would waive it for us. Room 1817 (and it’s worth noting here that we think that any room ending in 17 in the south tower would likely have similar issues to what we experienced – so beware).

What the clerk failed to mention to us was that the elevator was a service elevator pretty much RIGHT BEHIND THE BED. I suspect that the other reviewer who said it sounded like being next to a subway station stayed in a similar room - it was incredible how loud it was, and nearly constant...the tub in the bathroom actually shook every time the elevator went by - and if you looked at the water in the toilet it was like that puddle in Jurassic Park - you could see ripples in the water. Not great for people who have flown 11 hours and whose body clocks are 8 hours behind Vegas...jetlag is bad enough without this constant noise...absolutely no reference to noise was made by the clerk when he mentioned the elevator...so while it’s great that they give their guests advanced warning, it would be nice if they actually explained WHY they were telling you about the elevator.

The room was, compared to other rooms we have had in Vegas, small and very dark. One very small window behind a table and chair - so in order to experience this great upgraded view you had to lean over the chair and table and move the odd window treatment (which wouldn't raise or lower easily) out of the way. Had we paid $20/night for this 'upgrade' we would have felt well and truly ripped off. We knew from others that storage space was limited, so we expected that...but it was really limited and very few hangers provided. The bathroom was huge, which in one way is good I suppose, but not many people make use of a soaking tub in Vegas - we would rather the bedroom area had been bigger. There is NO WAY that these rooms are the same size as the standard rooms at Bally's as the hotel's website claims. The Muppets Take Manhattan theme might have been the one redeeming factor (my husband is a big Muppet fan) had it not been for the apparently non-stop freight elevator traffic.

We did call down and ask about changing rooms but they were full that night - they did agree to move us the next day (though they seemed to make it quite difficult in terms of what time we had to be available by, etc. - not great when you have other plans). I wasn’t at all happy with this – but part of it was that I was very tired after a very long flight and utter disappointment in this room...I accept that if they are full they are full. In the end, they did allow us to move and moved us to a Resort Room with an amazing view including the Bellagio fountains - which was an upgrade and a very nice room - we would have been absolutely delighted with PH had we had this room originally...but unfortunately, having seen the Hollywood Hip rooms and being quite certain we never wish to stay in one again (even without the elevator) it's rather unlikely we will return to PH as the comped rooms are typically Hollywood Hip rooms, and we won't take the chance of getting stuck in one again. Additionally, the decor of the hallways is very dark – I’m sure it’s trying to be edgy and cool, but kind of just looks dull and kind of dingy. Housekeeping was OK, though they never seemed to replace used glasses, which was a bit odd. Oh, and a couple of the pillows were OK, the others were weird and lumpy – like they were filled with lumps of foam...like pillows at my grandma’s house when I was 5.

We also had a $50 food credit on our account due to my husband's birthday offer...much like not telling us about the noise from the elevator they didn't tell us this couldn't be used at PF Chang's so had charged dinner one night to our room thinking the food credit would clear it off (we were going to eat there anyway, so that’s not the issue – the fact that no one bothered to give us details on where we couldn’t use the credit was the issue – we had assumed since we were not told of any restrictions it could be used anywhere on the property)...so we did end up having a lunch buffet at the last minute to use up most of that credit. In general, we really didn't find that the communication here was particularly good...certainly not what we are used to from other properties in the group.

Otherwise, the property is OK...the casino is decent, we enjoyed the slots there even if we didn't do all that well. The dining options are great - PF Chang's, the Spice Market Buffet, Earl of Sandwich (new find for us this trip and we will be back) all excellent. The casino is obviously trying to be cool - the loud music all the time and all that...it was OK, but would be annoying to some. We are in our 40s and while the casino is clearly catering to a younger crowd, we didn’t feel out of place or anything like that.

The location is great. Valet parking was not the fastest sometimes, but we got our car back in 4 minutes on check-out day (I timed it)...so that was nice. Be wary though as self-parking is obnoxious and you have to walk all the way through the Miracle Mile shops...but we knew this when we booked. Cocktail service was sparse, which doesn’t really bother me as I rarely use it, but it was so much so that I noticed.

We will visit the casino and restaurants again, but not the hotel if we can only book a Hollywood Hip room – if we can get better rooms elsewhere for less, there’s not enough to draw us back here...there are better options available for similar prices.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferf1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#36 of 264 in Las Vegas
28,989 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#50 of 264 in Las Vegas
18,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Address: 3667 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $88 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience celebrity first hand at the "House that Fame Built" - Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Resort & Casino. With star-worthy accommodations and an upscale atmosphere, you never know who you might see. Dine in style at Gordon Ramsay BurGR Las Vegas, the acclaimed chef’s latest Las Vegas hotspot; at Koi, where Japanese tradition meets California innovation, or at Strip House Las Vegas, the critically acclaimed NYC-based steakhouse. If you’re looking for something a little more casual, stop by the Spice Market Buffet, featuring fare from around the world, or at Ringer, where you can feast on wings and tenders, all-beef sliders, New York-style pizza and waffle fries while watching and wagering on your favorite games. On the casino floor, Heart Bar and The Pleasure Pit ensure non-stop excitement each with their own brand of fun. You can also discover the latest trends at the Miracle Mile Shops or socialize and sunbathe at the Planet Hollywood pool, home to dozens of cabanas and the only Las Vegas pool with a FlowRider wave machine. For those who’d rather relax indoors, the Spa by Mandara hosts a bevy of rejuvenating services in a calm, serene setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Resort And Casino
Planet Hollywood Las Vegas
Planet Hollywood Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Aladdin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing