We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Resort
Ranked #115 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Playa Flamenca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Royal Hotel only yards off the strip, short walk to the Riviera, & Circus Circus, & the Wynn just round the corner, McDonalds just over the road if your into fast food, travel info office at end of road for maps & info on shows etc, comfy rooms with fridges & coffee makers, & the pool is great one of the few heated all year long.

Room Tip: Stayed here a few times city or pool view is your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidStanley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Royal Resort. We're happy to hear that you found our location to be to your liking. We're convenient to the strip yet just far enough that it stays quiet and peaceful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    167
    108
    37
    40
See reviews for
60
144
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
665 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I spent two nights at the Royal Resort while in Vegas recently, and found the experience to be quite a pleasant one. I was not too fussed by the need to stay at one of the big name hotels (and in fact every time I visited one of those, there were check in lines a mile long)

Royal Resort is about two thirds of the way down the strip near the Riviera - making it nice and central to most things. The property is a little dated, but I can't fault the staff, cleanliness or the price!

The other big advantage of being slightly away from the centre of the strip is that once you retreat to your room form the night - it is nice and quiet!

There is a discount ticketing outlet on site and right next door are a range of supermarkets, restaurants, liquor stores and convenience outlets.

The place felt safe enough and there are security guards on duty at night - and the walk to and from the main parts of the strip also felt safe.

I'd certainly consider staying again next time I am in Vegas.

I'd certainly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Royal Resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your nice and quiet stay with us. Our location definitely adds to the charm of the resort. We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've owned a timeshare at the Royal for at least 8 years, however have never actually stayed as a timeshare guest. However, we book and stay here at least once a year for a shorter stay (3-5 nights) and love it. Here's what it's not - it's not a casino property. It's not glitz and glam. What it is is conveniently located, sufficiently quiet and relaxed, but just steps away from fun, food and more. We love waking up and making our way to the Peppermill for breakfast. The restaurant in the Royal is fabulous and to my knowledge has become a very popular place for locals. The new hidden gem (or not so hidden) is the Tijuana Taco place in the strip mall right next to the hotel on the strip (not the real name, but you won't miss it if you ask anyone). The hotel also has a nice pool and spa out back. All in all, it's a nicely located, convenient property that is as clean as any normal hotel/motel across the country.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Royal Resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us every year. The convenience of the resort makes it a great place to stay if you're not wanting to be right in the middle of the "hustle-and-bustle" of the Las Vegas strip. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booked hotel through Booking.com for a one night stay May 31st. Booked a SMOKING room and received a confirmation for our stay. Upon arrival we got to our room and found there was not any ashtrays. My wife called the front desk and was told that all smoking rooms had been taken. We informed the clerk we had a SMOKING room reservation and he again said they were out. Then suggested we just smoke by the patio door. Really? Normally it wouldn't be an issue except for the fact that ANY changes made by me to the reservation would have resulted in a $25 minimum fee. I think if a property expects you to stick to your reservation they should too! Patio is about an 18 inch extension with sliding door. A normal sized person cannot stand or sit outside. Our sink drain did not work properly. No Bell hop to assist with luggage and location is not that great. Limited Valet as well. After this I would rather stay at Motel 6. That sums it up and I don't usually stay at Motel 6 for a reason.

Room Tip: Find another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, General Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Royal Resort. Unfortunately, Booking.com does not guarantee a smoking unit. They are available upon request, however, are limited. Guests are permitted to smoke on the patio of a non-smoking room to help accommodate these limitations. Booking.com also issues a $25 fee for any reservation changes and/or cancellations. This is not a fee issued by Royal Resort or its management company, Trading Places International. In regards to the balcony in your room, all rooms facing Convention Center Drive boast a 36 inch balcony while all rooms facing the parking lot have an 18 inch balcony. As a way to avoid our guests from paying a resort fee, which you will find standard in most Las Vegas Hotels, we offer limited services. A full-time bell-hop is unfortunately a service that would require our guests to pay resort fees and/or raise the prices of our rooms. We do have valet service that is offered in the evenings with daytime service dependent upon the restaurant and hotel occupancy. Please contact me at 702.735.6117 and I will be more than happy to discuss your stay with you.
Thank you,
Victor Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised the lobby is decorated very unique . Consear was great because he had lots of great information .Room was nice and had a balcony.it was nice to be able to stand out side on are on balcony.would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Royal Resort. We are happy to hear that your room fit your needs and you enjoyed the use of the balcony. Our concierge is truly a gem and very knowledgeable. We look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The Royal was a decent hotel, nothing terribly fancy. It's obviously an older establishment, but the rooms were pretty clean. I've stayed here twice in the last few years.

Booking in took about 10 minutes, as there was only one agent at the desk who was constantly distracted by her cellphone.

The rooms were Vegas-typical, nothing to write home about, but comfortable enough.
The restaurant on-site was way to pricey for us, so we opted for some in the vicinity (within a block or two).
Located in a sort of run-down section of town, which is currently undergoing renovations, the views and neighborhood definitely lacks appeal. The Convention Center was about 5-10 minutes away walking time, dependent on traffic. Flagging down a cab is most difficult as local ordinances prohibit cabs from picking up passengers on the side of the road; the front desk did call a cab for us and a few other groups of folks who were waiting, but it was sort of a free-for-all when they finally showed up.

If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel close to the Convention Center, you could do worse... But could probably justify a few more dollars and stay a block closer in one of the major chain hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DriftersDispatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We just returned from spending three nights at the Royal Resort, and it was definitely a mixed bag. First, the positives: It's not expensive, the free parking is convenient, our room was comfortable, the staff were friendly, and they even replaced a broken shower head very promptly (on a Sunday, no less). The pool is excellent. And the onsite restaurant (The Barrymore) is terrific, definitely worth a visit.

And the not so positives: It's a tired property that is clearly past its prime. It just looks like nobody cares about making the space attractive or inviting. Too many things are shabby. There is a nice looking bar in the lobby, but it's not open and looks like it hasn't been for some time. The "Business Center" is an empty office where it looks like there were maybe once computers available - but now it's just an empty space. There is no free Wifi. And this is not the hotel's fault, but the neighborhood is pretty dreary.

On balance, there is no particular reason to stay here and we will stay somewhere else when we return to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_lauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#139 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
#125 of 267 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Residence Inn Las Vegas Convention Center
Las Vegas Marriott
#27 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resort

Property: Royal Resort
Address: 99 Convention Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89109-2010
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal offers all the intimacy and comforts of a smaller property located in the heart of the famous Las Vegas Strip. It's next to the Wynn, and is within easy walking distance of the Las Vegas Convention Center. Enjoy the marble floors, smoke-free lobby, and spacious lounge. Or soak in the hot tub, enjoy the refreshing pool, and relax in your own private cabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Vacation Las Vegas
Royal Vacation Hotel Las Vegas
Royal Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing