We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem - comfortable and low cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Resort
Ranked #125 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - comfortable and low cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Please don't discredit this hidden surprise. It is just around the corner from the strip, isn't as glitzy at Caesars Palace or similar but spot on for comfort and cost I booked it via Trip Advisor and the room cost just a staggering low cost of $69USD per night - wonderful. The room was comparable to any 4 star hotel in size, comfort of bed, bathroom and other facilities, location superb for us as we didn't want anything too bright or noisy which we would get on the strip.

We did not eat in the dining room, so cannot comment on that aspect - this hotel doesn't serve breakfast but as the Encore is right next door, that wasn't a problem for us.

The concierge was extremely helpful when we wanted tickets on a Grand Canyon tour. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Every room would be good - check it out on the net first as it depends what you're looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Royal. We value your comments and business. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    187
    129
    42
    47
See reviews for
69
165
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend had booked a room for us at the Royal resort and I have to say I don't have any complaints. The room was clean, was given fresh towels when I asked and the pool area was also clean. It is a great location, just right off the strip about a 5 minute walk. There is a Denny's and Walgreen right up the block and Ross Clothing store that opens til 12 am(if you need an outfit for a club night). But the highlight was JOE VENTO!!!! Such a cool guy who played a couple of numbers on the piano, I even broke out and sang to a couple of the tunes he played. Overall, you won't be disappointed if you were to choose this place. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank THEMRS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Sounds like you had a great vacation! Thank you for the glowing review. We appreciate your time and comments. We hope you will visit the Royal again soon - and tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

WOW! I've been to Vegas many times and stayed at many Hotels, (Known bigger Hotels), and Royal Resort beats some of those bigger Hotels with flying colors. I was impressed, more impressed than expected when I walked into Royal Resort. Nice lobby and when I walked into the room...WOW! Very Nice! And I didn't pay that much to stay here. Also had a mini fridge and coffee maker which some of the other bigger Hotels charge a fee for that. And the staff was very friendly! Will defiantly stay here again! Thank You Royal Resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyA599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Your welcome! Your great review is very much appreciated! Thanks for staying with us - we hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My studio suite had a comfortable king bed, a flat-screen TV, a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and last but certainly not least -- a balcony. The property is clean and quiet, yet a very short distance from the north end of the Strip. Rates are beyond reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramblegamble77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Royal! We hope you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you return next time you visit Las Vegas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

There's a lot to be said for a decent hotel where you can stay for $54 on weeknights. The Royal Resort's rooms are nothing special, but they are roomy, clean and have enough room for a sitting area & table. The bathroom is also roomy, and ours was impeccably clean. Not having to wade through smoking gamblers and raging noise in the lobby was a real plus, after staying one night in the Hard Rock for business, where you're assaulted by noise, smoke, music and gangs of gamblers & machines from the moment you walk in. At the Royal, the lobby is spacious, quiet and well appointed, with a piano (where they have people playing some nights), sitting areas, a fancy pool table and shuffleboard machine. The bar & restaurant are excellent, but be prepared to pay Vegas prices. Well worth it, but pricy. We hit happy hour for dinner, with half price drinks and appetizers, and it was great.

Some things to be aware of with this hotel: I read one review which mentioned TV with HBO. That is NOT free. The free TV is about 10 channels, no premium channels, no movie channels. Also, they do have wi-fi available, but it costs $10 a day. The $10 buys you 24 hours from the moment you sign up, so plan your purchase to avoid paying for extra time you won't be there. We checked in rather late in the day, so we didn't purchase wi-fi till the next morning, which took us through check-out on the third day for one $10 fee. Note that that will ONLY buy wi-fi for one device, it is NOT per room. We had two devices with us, so just did without on one.

Also, please note that they immediately take a $100 deposit on your credit card, even if rooms are paid in advance. They release that $100 upon checkout, but if you're like us, we were on a budget that kinda got wrenched by that deposit being taken. The hotel did release the deposit as stated, but it took a couple phone calls to our bank days later to actually get it put back into our account (we used our debit card). Just note that.

Being just a few minutes' walk from the Strip is convenient, but this short distance makes all the difference in quiet. You're also just minutes' walk from the Convention Center. The parking is plentiful and free. We didn't use the pool area, but it looked very nice.

Overall, if you're looking for a jumpin' joint, this isn't it. But if you're looking for a nice quiet place, where you can catch your breath from cruising the Strip, the Royal is a good choice. I might look for someplace different to stay next time, simply because of the TV and wi-fi situations, but unless I found a better bargain, I'd know this place is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel and were disturbed by dumpster trucks one morning. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hollyinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and comments. We appreciate your consideration in staying with us next time you are in Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for the first time this April 2013 to attend a huge convention. I hate taking the bus/taxi to the convention center so always look for a place walking distance to the LVCC.

The place is about 15-20 min walk from the convention center and 2 minutes from Las Vegas Blvd. Pretty standard rooms. Clean. The lobby is very nice – piano player in the evening. Pool table, and shuffleboard. Nice feeling "coming home" in the evening.

My room had two queen beds, a round table and two "sofa type" chairs. The table/chairs are not very good for working – needed to sit on two pillows to get high enough to work on the computer.

No casino !! (yippee!)

But not many food choices in the immediate neighborhood: Denny's, Peppermill (good!) and El Gordo Tacos are all a few minutes walk. (make sure to check out El Gordo tacos around the corner!)

Otherwise, you need to walk to Fashion Show Mall (15-20 min) or eat in Encore.

There was initially some confusion and double billing on our reservations but they quickly sorted that out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danny_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Royal and hope you will consider us again next time your travels bring you to Vegas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is wonderfully located. It is mere seconds off the strip on Paradise behind the Encore and Wynn. The rooms are nice and big with a king size bed and queen Murphy bed. There are other room options as well. I found the hotel online and booked at a great price. However, after sleeping, going out, and returning, we found that the room had not been serviced. We checked with the front desk who informed us that "because of the deal we had" we were not eligible for housekeeping services. WTF? I am actively paying for the use of the room, am I not? Then make my bed. That should be a basic requirement of paying for a room. Maybe not a constantly fresh towel or band new cups, but a made bed is expected.

Fine.
No tip for you.

Also, the sheets were kind of ratty with holes. And the bar was way overpriced on both food and drink.

Room Tip: The north side has bigger balconies. The south side is too small to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peabs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Royal Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at rvs@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#152 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
#130 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
The Strip
Courtyard Las Vegas Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Residence Inn Las Vegas Convention Center
Las Vegas Marriott
#28 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resort

Property: Royal Resort
Address: 99 Convention Center Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89109-2010
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal offers all the intimacy and comforts of a smaller property located in the heart of the famous Las Vegas Strip. It's next to the Wynn, and is within easy walking distance of the Las Vegas Convention Center. Enjoy the marble floors, smoke-free lobby, and spacious lounge. Or soak in the hot tub, enjoy the refreshing pool, and relax in your own private cabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Vacation Las Vegas
Royal Vacation Hotel Las Vegas
Royal Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing