We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gaming ... Fun Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #94 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Corona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Gaming ... Fun Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The D formally known as Fitzgeralds was recently redone and it shows from the carpets to the lighting even the restraunts. The room was clean, nice and pleasing to the eye, the bed was a little hard but most people dont travel to Las Vegas to sleep. There was a lot of money spent to bring this hotel and casino into the present but I can tell you that there was a lot of money saved by not fixing the bathrooms in the rooms. The sink backed backed up, counters were permantly stained, the shower curtain was badly stained but since there was very little water pressure it hardly made a difference. For conveniance the rooms offers a Keurig for coffee and water although expensive if used it was nice to have the option to use it. I enjoyed the gaming, the service at the Long Bar, and the food offered at The D and will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the Fremont Experiance is loud; our room was on the 10th floor and we could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the rooms and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your gaming experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    814
    395
    185
    148
See reviews for
297
809
180
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

we have stayed here many times over the last several years including many times back when it was fitzgeralds it has always been our favorite hotel downtown the rooms have been slightly upgraded from the fitz years especially the new bed linens and carpets and tv we always ask for the highest floor available we usually get the 34th floor and the views are incredibile the rooms have 2 beds or 1 king bed and a seating area where you can sit and eat your mcdonalds food you bought in the lobby and enjoy the view the bathrooms are fairly large and adequate the elevators are pretty quick never a long wait and you only have a short stroll to the elevators unlike many of the big casinos where you have to walk a country mile they also have a pool and Jacuzzi out back adjacent to the parking lot that is open year round although the pool is not heated a bummer in fall and winter but the Jacuzzi is and only 2 hotels downtown have a Jacuzzi the d and the golden nugget and some of the hotels downtown have no pool which you may like to consider if you like swimming the food options are not as good as they used to be at the d they have removed the main coffee shop on the second floor which used to be very good and inexpensive and the buffett has been gone for years they have a new restaurant tucked into the corner on the second floor but it seemed very pricey for what they offered they also have a mcdonalds in the front on the first floor which is 24 hours and convenient and a coney island hot dog snack bar that is way overpriced so if you want the best hot dog on fremont just walk one block to mermaids casino and get a better one for 99 cents or have a meal at magnolias in the four queens right next door or try the buffett at the fremont less than a block away its awesome the casino is good the cocktail service is very good on the first floor near the bar areas they also have dancing girls dancing on pedestals around the table games area and at the street side bar they have a coins old school casino on the second floor which is fun to here the coins dropping like the good old days overall we love the d we loved it more when it was fitzgeralds and didn't have a 22.00 resort fee like it does now it seems like almost everywhere has a resort fee now so even if they offer the room for 35 you still pay like 57 room tip this is vegas lots of people stay up late and party they have music playing in the casino and they have live bands playing on fremont street and the light show so if your a go to bed early type or a light sleeper ask for a high floor room it will be quieter and you will have a better view I would give it 5 stars if not for the new resort fee and few food options

Room Tip: ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmikeydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate the detailed review of your visit and sharing your concern about the resort fee. Although we have recently added the resort fee, we have also dropped our room rates in order to keep our prices competitive. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausaukee wi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just got back from vegas stayed at the D again. The food was good the pay back was a little tough on the blackjack table but that's gambling. Please I'm not mad the last time it was in my favor. That's the way it is gaming money has no home! always moving. The music is loud in the the main casino if it bothers you go in back or upstairs there it's quiet. Oh yes check out the bartenders flipping bottles what a show.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slug r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback from your recent experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stated here one night to experience Freemont street after staying at Paris on the strip a few nights. The hotel has been redone, but is still outdated. It is very, very noisy and you can barely hear at the front desk when checking in/out. The front desk staff us not friendly at all.
The hotel does not offer complimentary in room coffee, but does have coffee, coffee maker and bottled water in rooms with a small sign stating there us a charge for these items. ( easy to not see this sign). Really! What hotel does this?
The long bar us cool and it offers easy access to the Freemont experience. The Golden Nuggett looked much nicer and offered a very cool pool, swim thru shark tank and nicer amenities.

Room Tip: Do not stay on Freemont street died- super noisy even on the other side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding the music level and the interaction you had with the front desk. It is now common practice for hotels in Vegas to charge for coffee/bottled water. We appreciate the time you took to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been coming to The D (formerly Fitzgeralds) for about 25 years, almost every year and sometimes 2-3 times per year. The reason I return is primarily because of the staff and great value including the "comps". This trip they had a "Guys and Dolls" event including a trip over to the Mob Museum which is only about 2 blocks from the D. I enjoy gambling so the D Club card allows me to get the room and meals comped based on play. It is an older hotel (recently renovated) downtown but a great location for the Freemont Experience and to be able to visit the other downtown casinos easily on every block. I have stayed occasionally at other hotel/casinos but I always feel comfortable and at home at The D. Try it, you will like it !

Room Tip: If you can get a "corner king" room, they have a great view, king bed, sofa, refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear you feel home here at the D and we're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Check in was an ordeal. Receptionist was very unfriendly and seemed to be preoccupied.

Non smoking room was smoke saturated...not unusual for a smoking casino...but still.

Supposed to have been recently renovated, but apparently missed the room we stayed in.

Valet parking was fast and friendly..best part of the stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We apologize for the negative experience you had with the check-in process and we will be working to ensure such an event does not happen again in the future. We appreciate the feedback from your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Check in was quick and the staff friendly. The room we were given was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location to watch the fremont experience, there is a balcony you can stand on that overlooks the street.
Would benefit from having free wi-fi, but apart from that would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidXenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Since August 19th we have instated a resort fee that includes free Wi-Fi during your stay. Although we have added the resort fee, we've also dropped prices to keep our rates competitive. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,332 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#132 of 263 in Las Vegas
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Nugget Hotel
#91 of 263 in Las Vegas
10,536 reviews
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#98 of 263 in Las Vegas
989 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#95 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas

Property: The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing