We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #92 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived the first weekend in May. Check-in was quick and friendly. Nice rooms and the view was great on the 34th floor. Elevators were a little slow, but not so bad to stop me from staying again. The bathroom was in need of repair, shower surround was poor and the faucet was hard to adjust temp and also hard to turn off. Casino was great! great service, far better than what we received at the Golden Nugget last year. Had a great time and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    790
    376
    180
    144
See reviews for
284
779
173
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Couldn't wait to return to the D and visit our friendly bartenders Richard and Robert! Wow were we disappointed to find Robert's shift was changed to 2am start time! I guess the new owner is trying to get rid of the older fellows! Robert has worked there for years! The D is trying to go younger crowd! which is fine but even most of the younger crowd can not stand the blaring music after a few minutes! The chicks dancing on the tables look tacky as well, might be different if they didn't look like tweekers! I'm all for showing skin but have a little class! There use to be a patio with tables outside the Vue you could take your drink out there and sit and watch the action, show and ziplining on freemont, now an escalator goes up but not down, so patrons have to walk down through the casino, which is the only way out, looking at the sleezy table dancers! Not a nice place to walk through with kid's if you are unsuspecting of where the escalator goes!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAROLYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

New management takes over Fitzgerald's and renames and rebrands the Hotel and Casino as The D.

Long time bartenders are forced to perform (or lose their jobs) Tom Cruise-esque 'Cocktail' moves behind the bar.

Which if you are sitting and trying to play video poker - gets really old, really fast.

The downstairs casino has been converted to cater to a younger crowd. If you don't like 'electronica' or current dance music, you're not going to like this.

The price is good, the location is good, it's just not what I want from a downtown 'old strip' hotel and casino. If I want girls dancing above the blackjack tables, I can go to the strip for that.

After more than 10 years staying at the Fitz, one stay at The D, I'm through. For me, the D in The D, is DONE!

If you're associated with another Hotel Casino downtown, I'm looking for a new place to stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BACANationGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We selected the recently renovated D Hotel (formerly Fitzgerald's) downtown for a "staycation" in April primarily because we scheduled a tour of the nearby Neon Museum the following morning.

The hotel is significantly improved over the site's previous incarnation. Gone is the old and smoky smell that formerly permeated the hotel's corridors and rooms. The new rooms are nicely designed and very comfortable. The staff was very professional and efficient, and the price for our Thursday stay was rock bottom. The Hotel's website prices were equivalent to Expedia's and Priceline's without the hassle.

One oddity: the views from the high-level, corner room we had, which should have been excellent both back to the Strip and west to the Spring Mountains, were significantly impaired by the Hotel's multi-story advertising screen, which is crudely and unevenly stuck on the outer surface of the room's windows (see photos).

One other significant drawback: the hotel has no exercise facilities of any kind, a very surprising omission for a recently renovated hotel.

As with other downtown hotels, I recommend the highest room you can get to avoid the very loud music and commontion from Fremont Street.

We tried two of the Hotel's restaurants and found a marked contrast. We had an enjoyable dinner at Andiamo's Steakhouse, which featured excellent food with outstanding service (see separate review).

Using the discount coupon provided by the front desk at check-in, we had breakfast at the D Grill, which was on the opposite end of the spectrum. The food was mediocre - hard to screw up breakfast, but certainly nothing to recommend this version. The service was terrible: a large tray with our orders and the orders of an adjacent table was left unattended after the waiter served us. The patron at the next table, having been abandoned, eventually served herself from the tray after the waiter disappeared. We sat for a considerable period after completing our meal waiting for our check. I was just about to go to the front to try to locate our bill when it finally showed up.

A Denny's recently opened about a block east of the D on Fremont: I recommend you have your breakfast there.

Room Tip: To avoid the very high noise levels from Fremont Street that last past midnight even during the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and some friends of ours went to Vegas for a little getaway and for our friend's honeymoon. We got 2 rooms at The D and absolutely LOVED IT! The rooms were decorated nice and were clean. The location was AWESOME! I had rented a scooter and they brought it up to our room when it arrived. They had no problem moving us to a handicapped room because of my walker and scooter. We are both in our 30's so we are new to getting a handicapped room and they were very accommodating! Is it the best hotel we have ever stayed at? No, but for the price, it is our new go to place for our hopefully many Vegas trips in the years to come! Excellent staff, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkyfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the D for 4 nights the beginning of May 2013. This hotel was the old Fitzgerald's. They have remodeled the entire hotel and it is really quite nice. Here are the Pros:
1. Clean, modern, well furnished.
2. A very friendly staff. Good food.
3. You will love the mattresses, and will sleep like a baby when the noise stops.
The Cons:
1. We stayed on the 30th floor overlooking Freemont St. The elevators to get you up and down are really quite slow.
2. I suggest if you stay there request the side of the hotel that does not face Freemont St. even though we were up 30 floors, the noise from the street was terrible, and does not stop until like midnight. Other than that, I would stay there again, but on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest if you stay there request the side of the hotel that does not face Freemont St. even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank players2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First thing's first... It's Downtown! There is no point in comparing a high end strip hotel to a Fremont Street hotel! With that said, Downtown hotel's are coming up. They are making a serious effort to clean up and modernize Fremont Street and it's hotel's.

It had been a few years since I have visited Las Vegas. The last time I visited I stayed at Planet Hollywood mid-strip, but I have stayed downtown may times before then. I was excited to see that Fitz's had been remodeled and renamed the D. Our stay there had some pro's and con's as expected, but overall it was a great experience.

First of all, the parking structure is super sketchy. Self Parking begins on the 7th floor so you need to go up quite a bit just to find parking. The structure is tall and narrow meaning there are many many turns. Most corners are blind and we had a couple near misses on the way up. But, once you get parked you're good till the end of your stay so no big deal. The front desk/check-in had 3 ladies behind the counter and 2 people in line at 4pm on a Friday. The woman who helped me was friendly and efficient. I was checked in in no time. I opted for a PREMIUM CORNER KING booked on hotels.com. My room was on the 28th floor and the first room on the floor off the elevator (I had no issues with elevator noise). My first impression of the room was that it looked nice and modern. The decor was impressive. Black and red seems to be the theme. There is a nice, high king bed in the middle of the room. There is a pull out couch and seating area located near the wrap around window. Being on the 28th Floor, I was able to see the near by mountains clearly and of course the ghetto's that surround Fremont Street. There is a nice sized flat screen TV with your typical channel selections located on the dresser in front of the bed. There is also a nicely sized (empty) refrigerator located on the desk side of the furniture piece. There is also a KEURIG coffee maker and 2 FIJI water's available. the K-Cup's used for the Keurig cost $2.50 each and the Fiji water $4! No thanks. I brought my own K-cups from home and water from 7-11.

Now for the restroom. The restroom had some issues. The plumbing is probably very old and need's some maintenance. The sink and tub drains were constantly making a gurgling sound. I thought it was only after using the sink (like a clogged drain), but it was making noises fairly consistently. Luckily, I could only hear it when in the restroom. The shower could use some work as well. First off, I could not figure out how to control the temperature. It was either scorching hot or off. Those were my options. Also, the shower head was weak. It is a low end version of a rain shower head. I would have been much more satisfied with a standard shower head with decent water pressure.

I unfortunately was not able to take in the whole casino and I did not go upstairs to the "vintage casino" other than to use the restroom. The dealers after 6PM are all female and dressed "nicely" :) They rotate between dealing games and dancing on go-go boxes. The music is a little loud and consists of your typical "top 40 club jams". Service comes around quite regularly and was very easy to get a drink. Overall, a good casino experience.

The D (and all of Fremont Street) is on the up and for the price, you really can't beat it. It is a good time and everything you need is within walking distance. If you absolutely can not live without the glitz of the strip, it's only a short cab ride away!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the opposite side of Fremont Street. I had some noise issues, even on the 28th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CodenameMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#106 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Nugget Hotel
#86 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,274 reviews
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#105 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas

Property: The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing