We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay at The D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #84 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my third time staying at The D. The first two times the hotel was part of a package deal with A-Star tours (which I highly recommend). This time I chose this hotel because we were given a deal as previous guests and as my friend and I decided we wanted to stay on Freemont Street it was logical to take advantage of the pricing we were given. We did try to get a higher floor facing away from Freemont Street as there is quite a bit of noise until late at night. The man who checked us in tried to accommodate our request but was unable to do so( At least he tried a couple of options and seemed happy to do so). We ended up on the 19th floor and could see Freemont Street below us but we found that with having the air conditioner on, it covered most of the noise and we were able to sleep. I would recommend trying for a higher floor facing away from Freemont Street. The rooms are very basic but the bed and bedding are fabulous. There is a coffee pot (it uses K-cups) in the room but there is a $2.50 charge for a cup of coffee. You could go to MacDonalds downstairs or Starbucks is about a half block away. We found the service from the front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance to be really good. The day we checked in there were not enough towels, there was no shampoo (conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, and 1 bar of soap were provided). The sink would not drain very fast at all. I left a note for the housekeeper about our concerns. When we came back that night there was 4 sets of towels, multiple bottles of shampoo and extra bars of soap and the sink was unclogged. Another day our toilet would not flush. I called the front desk and the maintenance man was up and had the toilet working within about 15 minutes. Needless to say we were very impressed with this service. Our one big disappointment was the restaurant. It has been renovated, taking away the buffet area. We found our breakfast disappointing and did not eat there again. The servers in the restaurant did not seem happy to be there (that is only our observation). We had much better service and food over at Binions and had amazing food and service at the Denny's at the end of Freemont Street (couldn't believe it; and the price was excellent). Enjoyed breakfast so much we went back there for supper. The Cobb Salad was one of the best I have had and my friend's steak was one of the best she had ever had. The restaurant was very clean and, again, the service was the best we had in Las Vegas. I did not get the name of our server for breakfast(I am sorry) but our server for dinner was Brittany (kudos Brittany!!!!). The casino is VERY loud with music so if you want quiet, you will not get it here. Overall, for the price paid, we were very happy with our stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing away from Freemont Street if you would like a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdmontonCruisinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,292 - 2,298 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ok, lets start with the good.. Location was great for old town Vegas (fremont st) and price was cheap.. The Bad.. the rooms still use the loud noisy air conditioners. Ya they upgraded the rooms with some paint and new pictures bit still a older feel. And the Elevators are ridiculously slow and have lines just to get up to your room. When you go down they stop at every floor who pushes the button.. Most of the time the elevators are full so they have to wait. Most casinos get their guest down to the casino floor fast as possible not the D..

Room Tip: Fremont experience side works the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed one night downtown at The D after a weekend at Caesars Palace. The room was very inexpensive and had a great loction for enjoying Fremont St. For gambling, the casino is awesome. You can always find $5 tables and the casino has a modern decor with a lot of energy and entertainment. They even have a ''vintage'' area upstairs where you can play old slots that still dispense coins.
The rooms are about what you expect for the price. They were very very clean with fresh paint and new furnishings. The only bad part was the extremely loud air conditioner and a very old, slow elevator. At one point I had to wait 12 minutes to catch the elevator. Overall, its a good value for the money. The building is just old and you have to take that into account when staying at the hotel. I can't overstate what a good gambling environment they have created. It's an extremely fun place to play craps and the dealers are alway professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacia J, Public Relations Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We greatly value the opinions of our customers. At The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel we work hard every day to insure that our customer’s are always having fun and we are thrilled to hear you had a good time. Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the D for one night and enjoyed the newly remodeled rooms. The bedding was comfortable and the furnishing were modern. The casino was lively and I enjoyed the old-style horse race game in the retro area upstairs. Have stayed at several of the other Fremont Street casinos over the years and would defenitely return to the D. Oh, but it is a dumb name!

Room Tip: Get a high florr and be further away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinlife4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacia J, Public Relations Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review The D Las Vegas Casino. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our lively casino atmosphere and plan to be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel has been newly renovated from Fitzgeralds to The D. A very clean and comfortable hotel with a terrific view from the tower hotel of the downtown action, across Las Vegas, right out to the mountains - the sunrise of the mountains is lovely. Unable to get to sleep between 8pm and 1am as the "D" is in the heart of all the downtown action I sept in the biggest bed i've ever seen - the casino is buzzing with loud music and action all night every night. The D Grill is the restaurant on the second floor, it's very trendy and modern with a good menu of everyday american favourites at a reasonable price. The overall stay of 14 nights was great and cheaply priced the only downside was the swimming pool is not heated so it was a chilly shock.

Room Tip: All rooms have noise from Freemont Street but who goes to vegas to sleep !!! the views from the 22nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iPartyinVegas, Guest Relations Manager at The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hey Elizabeth! We are glad you had a great time at The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel. Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I really hate to leave this bad review, it took me a couple months to decide if I wanted to post our experience. I hope that we are the only ones to have a bad experience like this at The 'D' (use to be The Fitzgerald). Since, they switched names, look, etc; they have jacked-up the prices for gambling, food and everything in between. Their Prices were like we were staying on the strip (i.e. high prices). If, we wanted to pay strip prices, we'd stay at the Bellagio or somewhere, you know! We come to Freemont for the great deals on "Everything" & where they appreciate your business & the hotels take care of you. WE loved this hotel when it was "The Fitzgerald", because we were treated well & prices on everything were great. Plus, I was being cheap when I booked at " The D"; I thought, how different can it really, their just changing the name, etc? We also try to visit LV 2 to 3 times a year. We stayed at The D for 6 nights and it was a horrible, nightmarish experience. First, their coupons/deals became very limited on everything. Their incentives were only good for no more than 3 nights, then full price for everything in this hotel! Also, wherever we stay in LV, we ask the reg. desk staff member to please-please put us on the quietest side of hotel, so we could sleep after having fun on Freemont! The lady said, 'no problem' and put us right on the side with the noise. Here’s the kicker, when we got to our room, there was large amounts mold & junk on top part of windows and other nastiness around sides&bottom of the windows, water damage on the wall near windows, wall paper peeling off wall, missing pcs around fire sprinkles w/holes, stains on the bed sheets, pillows & mattress ( we always ck & pull sheets back to examine the bedding & mattress); u wouldn't believe the nastiness! Plus, huge stains on the floor, it was disgusting. Our comforter was crusty and hard, disgusting!!! So, I called the front desk, to ask for a different room and told her about everything. She told me, 'they were booked & call back later", then hung up on me and this was early Monday, when people were leaving/cking-out, come on!! Called back & asked for mgr, she said, "not available", so I was transferred to leave a v/m to who she said was the mgr; this went on-and-one trying to get help. It was a big mess for being on a vacation & it being early in the day!! Luckily, I ran into the maid on our floor & we got fresh bedding. We had such a horrible front desk lady, so rude! On to something else, pricing on everything from the get-go was jacked-up (e.g. food, gambling tables, hotel even scrimped on their coupon books&goodies, gambling incentives, etc). This was such a mess for us. But, from now on we'll stay at four queens, golden nugget, the plaza, anywhere else, where they appreciate customer's spending money! We come to Freemont for a decent priced room and incentives to stay while we gamble! We also noticed the 1st day, they have their music so loud downstairs (literally 24/7, no lie), which bothered us, because "everyone" at tables, couldn’t hear the dealers or person standing next to you at the tables, that sucked! Now, don't get us wrong, we like music & we’re not old farts, but not to the point where you can't here the dealers at the tables!!!! Other customer’s had same complaint with music (i.e. young, old and in between). People started walking out&going other places to gamble. We also didn't like the fact, that when the weekend comes, they of course, jack the prices up to gamble, even for the customers who are staying at their hotel! They need to work on making the customer happy, especially people who are staying at their hotel!!! Plus, they need to remember the hotel is on Freemont& they are not on the strip, so don’t charge strip prices! We've stayed at Bellagio’s Penthouses, Luxor w/2 adjoining rooms, Stratosphere, Tropicana, Four Queens , Circus-Circus, South Point and what use to be The Fitzgerald (now, The D), etc. Basically, this is not out first rodeo in Vegas. The D needs to get it together and fast! We went to store to buy Lysol, etc to disinfect everything & we went to flipped the mattress b/c they wouldn't give us a different room (other side just as nasty). They never sent anyone to look at our room or help us (they said they would twice & never showed-up). The only reason I bothered to write any kind of review was to forewarn others of our unfortunate experience at The D. Finally, maybe your stay won't be similar to ours and we certainly hope not. But, we felt that we should share our experience with others; no more-no less. This was simply our unfortunate experience at the end of 2012. ****Added a couple of photos as well****

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sc_beach_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the old downtown Fitzgeralds Hotel and Casino. It's been revamped to appeal to a younger hipper crowd. Its not a fancy hotel, but the rooms are updated and fresh. The staff was exceptionally nice. Theres no room service but I find that a lot at Vegas hotels. They don't want you to stay in your room. They want you in the casino spending your $$$ :). Also,the pool is kind of hard to find. But for $31.00 for a double queen room on a weeknight, it's very cool. And you are literally right in the middle of the Fremont Experience. I'd book there again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Room close to the elevators are the best. Not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxT954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,542 reviews
Golden Nugget Hotel
#92 of 265 in Las Vegas
11,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oasis at Gold Spike
#122 of 265 in Las Vegas
447 reviews
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#100 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,107 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#135 of 265 in Las Vegas
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas

Address: 301 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $47 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is located on the iconic Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas, owned and operated by Derek and Greg Stevens. The D delivers a fresh, energeticattitude and fun atmosphere that has become synonymous with the Neapolitan area. The D Las Vegas Hotel provides a haven of rest and relaxation just a few steps away from the city's popular attractions like the Fremont Street Experience, Neon Museum, and Zip-lining. The property has recently completed extensive renovations with 638 remodeled contemporary rooms, showroom with daily entertainment, multiple dining restaurants, Vegas' only two-level casino, and numerous high-energy bars. Whatever the reason for your visit, The D Las Vegas Casino Hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Casino And Hotel
Fitzgeralds Hotel Las Vegas
Ramada Las Vegas
Fitzgeralds Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing