We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value-Clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #65 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had one night as a family in Las Vegas before driving to Arizona for the remainder of our trip. I was able to get a great rate at Sam's Town and since it was off the strip figured we would give it a try. Service was great, the room was clean and the kids were very impressed by the Mystic Falls. We stayed at 4 other property's thruout our trip and this one ranked no 2 our of 4 by the kiddos. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

Room Tip: We were given a room with an interior atrium view of mystic falls. Very nice -comfortable beds, clea...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvlgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,712)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Maybe an unfair review, but my husband I visited for a day, to get off the beaten strip of Vegas. We had also read their slots were looser than on the strip. Not in our experience! The hotel itself looked nice, if not a little cheesy with their "Mystic Falls Park". We much preferred the Strip though. Just a fair warning that if you want the Vegas experience, definetly stay on the Strip. My husband and I are 45 and really thought this place looked better for much older people or people with young kids.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DebGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very quiet and relaxing. Room was very clean and staff provided superior service. Overall very nice stay, I will always stay here when in town. The Casino was large enough to enjoy a day of slots. I felt the slots were better at Sam's Town then the strip. Best of all was the Bingo...so exciting and affortable, paid off well. Buffet food very good, and having a McDonalds and Dunkin Donuts on property was perfect. Make sure you get a B-Connected card to take care of all the offers extended to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobBrazelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was my first stay at Sam's Town and the casino was in good shape. The rooms were really nice and quiet. The shower could have been better. Get the player's card if you don't have one because you can use it for discounts on food and bowling. The entertainment was ok but they have shuttles that take you to Harrah's and Freemont.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

rooms were very nice and clean daily linen change very quiet smoking rooms available drawback was there was no coffee pots in standard rooms anymore makes it difficult if you have to spend a lot of time in the room. mystic falls with animated animals great for kids also a movie theater ,swimming pool,and bowling avaiable. few stores for shopping ok buffet food very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were in Vegas and decided to visit Sams Town, we took the shuttle from Harrahs for free. Sams town has a nice in side area with trees and mountains and a water fall, very nice. The Casino was large enough to enjoy a day of slots.We felt the slots were better at Sams Town then the strip.We also ate at Billy Bobs steak, had the special for 14.99, good deal for steak.We will return when in Vegas.

Room Tip: Nice place to visit when in Vegas
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this hotel as a group Easter Weekend - arrived 03/27/13 and departed 03/31/2013. We had several families that reserved rooms at Sam's Town based on reviews on this site. This is the worst hotel I have stayed in based on tripadvisor reviews. After checking in we avoided coming back as much as possible.

Check In: Check in process was long. Valet was not very friendly.

Pool: Pool was closed and not one person throughout the booking process thought it would be a good idea to let us know before we booked (we were traveling with a group of 13 year old boys and their siblings). There were no apologies for this from Sam's Town Staff and they directed us to the RV park to swim. We opted to drive to another location to swim.

Beds: Beds were horrible, hard and bumpy - it was the worst bed I have slept on in a very long time. Bedding consisted of a cheap bottom sheet, two cheap flat sheets with a fleece blanket in between. Pillows were ok.

Bathroom: Sink was really slow to drain. Towels were course, small and smelled terrible.

Walls, ceilings and ledges dirty, lamps had not been dusted in weeks, phone was filthy, light switches were grubby. Looked up in the bathroom and there was hair plastered to the ceiling.

Location: Yes, this place is off the crowded strip, but the area around Sam's Town is pretty rough. It is a 20 - 30 minute drive to locations/attractions.

Food options: We only "grabbed and went" for breakfast while at Sam's Town - the kids liked Dunkin' Donuts. Friday Morning there were fire alarms blinking and going off on the first floor, shutting down McDonalds and the food court. Sunday Morning the McDonalds McCafe machine was broken. TGI Fridays was good, we ate there one night with a big group, and the wait staff was awesome. Otherwise, we ate off site.

Smoking: The smoke in this casino was thick. We know to expect it at casinos, but it seemed thicker than all the other casinos that we visited in the time we were there. On Friday Night, we were getting ready for bed when we smelled smoke in our room. We looked out in the hallway through the peep hole and saw two people sitting in the middle of the hallway smoking. The smoke came through our door and into the room that fast. We called the front desk and heard people running a few minutes later.

Surprisingly, the only nice part of Sam's Town was the housekeeping staff. They were always friendly and bright.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator. It sounds like a roller coaster running all night long.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinggringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent visit. I'm sorry that your time with us wasn't as seamless as you had hoped but I am glad to know that you found our staff, specifically the housekeeping team, to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry also that you encountered issues with other guests, but am glad to hear that when you reached out to the front desk for assistance you found the response to be speedy and effective. I assure you that your comments will be shared with the directors of each department you mention so that they are aware of your experience. I sincerely hope that you will decide to visit us again and offer us the opportunity to better meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#79 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,719 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#41 of 263 in Las Vegas
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#55 of 263 in Las Vegas
5,798 reviews
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#47 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 5111 Boulder Hwy, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $63 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall is owned by Boyd Gaming Corporation. Sam’s Town features 12 restaurants, an 18-screen movie theater, 56-lane bowling center, a 12,000 square foot entertainment center and 25,000-square-foot Mystic Falls Park with waterfalls, footpaths, mountain & nightly laser shows Mystic Falls Indoor Park. The property has a 133,000-square foot casino with 40 table games, 3,000 slot and video poker machines, a bingo parlor, keno lounge and newly renovated poker room and race and sports book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing