We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Ranked #103 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Try the Rio”
Reviewed November 20, 2004

After reading all 96 reviews in Trip Advisor for the Rio, we left for a friend's wedding with our fingers crossed and some concern.

There was no need for the concern. The room was spotless, the furniture was in great condition. The front desk staff were great, housekeeping was friendly and professional: they took care of small details that meant alot. There was no problem with the room in terms of any odors, other guest's garbage and hair, etc., as some of the reviews we read had indicated we could expect. All the parts of the Rio I saw were in great shape!

The food at the Carnaval Buffet, the Mexican restaurant and the Japanese/Chinese Restuarant were tasty and the service attentive. The shrimp tempura at Hamada's was incredibly tender - the best I have ever had.

Gambling - I don't, but my husband does. Because we had read the reviews, he headed over to the Gold Coast early on and won -- then returned to the Rio and won twice!! I enjoyed the variety of stores at the Rio. We both enjoyed the free show in the Masquerade area - it passes over your head and is really fun. I read that for a fee, you can be part of this show and we may try it next time.

When you arrive, try to join the Total Rewards program. You get a good coupon book and beads. Remember to have fun!

And remember, what energy you put into something is what you get out of something - so if you expect good, you can find good. And if you don't know what to expect, you can still find good!

My husband also visited Harrahs, and then went to the car exhibit at the Imperial Palace, and just totally enjoyed his adventure.

The friends' wedding took place on the terrace outside the VooDoo Lounge on the 51st Floor of the Rio. We had a view of most of the valley - and were 50 storeys closer to heaven than usual. It was a memorable wedding.

Would we return to the Rio? Yes. But we are more likely to go to Reno - being train buffs we can get to Reno by train from here.

Helpful?
4 Thank 1Spats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,768
    4,814
    3,153
    1,425
    1,207
See reviews for
3,057
4,831
1,506
2,235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Champaign,Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2004

Shuttle running every 15 minutes to Harrah's saved us a fortune in Cab fare, never a long line & never waited more than 5 minutes for shuttle. My wife attended a conference here & the Customer Service by the convention staff was wonderful, made sure everyone was comfortable & the meeting rooms were spotless. The Carnival buffet is a must, great food/selection/staff, eat a light lunch if heading here for dinner. The masquerade in the sky show was awesome, and be sure and stay until the end for the free beads. We had requested a high floor room with 1 king, and arrived at our room to find 2 doubles, the desk staff found us another room in the masquerade tower on the 18th floor with a King, and a breathtaking view. We arrived at the Hotel before 10 a.m. & rooms were not available, the bellhop held our bags & delivered them upon arrival in our suite, and gave us nearly a 10 minute list of the shows & hotels to visit. The management at the Rio is to be commended on their Customer Service training they give to their staff. Looking for a hotel with no service, bad food, and a lousy atmosphere, then don't stay here.

Helpful?
6 Thank pdawg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 27, 2004

We had arranged company trade outs so our associate's hotel stay would be free, but even free was not worth the hassel we experienced. The front desk and management charged her $1000 for phone calls she could not possibly have made, as she was working at our store the whole time. When I asked for the list of dates and times, they were happy to provide them. However, when I mentioned I had proof via receipts that she was in a totally different place when the calls were made, all the manager, Charles, said was that somebody made the calls. That was my point- that somebody not being her. The hotel would not let her leave without charging the $1000, even though we had proof in black and white! All they said was that they would investigate it. How about doing an internal theft investagation of your staff? They certainly had no problems coming into rooms unannounced- as the associate said they walked in on her changing several times.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

West Seneca, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2004

We just stayed five nights at the Rio and attended the AARP convention in Las Vegas. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. The caffe provided large portions of delicious food (even late in the evening) The Buffet has one of the largest variety of foods and was excellent. We really enjoyed watching the Scinta's Show that is appearing at the RIO. While gambling, they did have waitresses walking by to provide beverages and even bottled water to those at the tables or machines which was a nice convenience. The pool was clean, well maintained, and provided an amble supply of towels. There is a shuttle between the RIO and Harrahs giving us a great opportunity to visit the strip. We had a great time - would highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank rich53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2004

We recnetly stayed 2 free nights at the Rio. The room was fabulous. We had a great view of the strip from the Masqerade Tower. The only problem we experienced was that the refrigerator in the room hardly kept things cold. We received free tickets to see Ron Lucas. However, Ron was out that day and he was replced by comedian/magician James Hobson? He was lame at best. Thank goodness it was free. The Rio has high limits on all of their table games and their slots seem extremely tight. We have never won here and this trip was no different. We walked across the street to the Gold Coast and our luck quickly changed. The Rio's pool area is fabulous. The only downfall is that you have to walk through a large part of the casino to get there. Overall, the stay was okay, but the gambling here stinks.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2004

We stayed at the Rio for an extended Labor day vacation. The roomy suites are nice and, even though we weren't in the room all that much, there was no "claustraphobic" feel at all. The room was nice and clean, however the housekeeper did miss us one day. For the most part, the employees of the Hotel were very friendly and helpful.
Now, for a few complaints......the pools and jacuzzis close at 7:00 pm!!! This is Las Vegas, not the Holiday Inn in Omaha! It would have been real nice, after a night of gambling, music, etc to relax in the jacuzzi. The temperature is hovering around 100 degrees up until 7:00---who in their right mind wants to get into a jacuzzi during the day? Also, although we were quite happy with the service in general, it was a different story at the All American Grill. The first time we tried to enter it (while nicely dressed) we were told that it was closed except for employees and "invited guests". This was Thursday around 8:15 pm. There were around 20 people or so in there at the time. We thought it was a bit odd, but went elsewhere. We ended up back at this restaurant on Monday around 1:00 pm, starving and ready for lunch. We were told there would be a 15-20 minute wait. We agreed and waited out front for 35 minutes. During that time, several people were allowed in before us. We figured they were heavy gamblers and we figured that that was part of the Vegas way of life. When we finally got into the restaurant, however, we were somewhat shocked to see that, at most, HALF of the tables and booths were being used. I have no idea why we were kept waiting for so long. I should also metnion that, during the time we were waiting at least 10-20 other people approached and were told of the wait and decided to leave---it would appear that the manager isn't doing his business any favors with this absurd seating policy.
One final complaint------it strikes me as being VERY cheesey to refuse to give a glass of water to a customer. At all of the clubs and bars they will only sell bottled water ($6). I can certainly understand why a club would not want a table taken up by 5 deadbeats drinking (free) ice water, but if there are 5 people ordering expensive drinks and one of the individuals asks for a glass of water in addition to his drink...be a sport and give it to him, for Godsakes.
One other complaint---the housekeepers tended to enter, or try to enter, the room despite the "privacy" sign and the door being bolted.
I don't mean for this to be too negative-----overall, it was a good vacation. I just wish that the appropriate people would see our complaints and act accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2004

We stayed at the Rio for the Labor Day weekend and I've got to say that the quality of the rooms have gone downhill since the last time (May 2002) we stayed there. The sofa had numerous stains on them, plus it had a wet feeling on it, the room had a FUNKY smell, which I tried to air it out by opening the fresh air vent on the windows, the bathroom stalls were broken, the mini-refrigirator was not cold at all, but the mini-refrigirator that the hotel had THEIR drinks in were COOOLLLDDD, which means they wanted you to drink their cold drinks and not yours, therefore i took some of their drinks out and store mine in it, until we checked out, and there were no in room coffee inside the rooms. If this is an ALL-SUITE hotel, it should come with all the great amenities of an ALL-SUITE hotel.

At the same time, we ate at the seafood buffet and gosh, the quality of food vs. the price is definitely NOT WORTH THE $$$$$ BLING-BLING/CA-CHING-CA-CHONG... It is now costing $34.99 to $27.99 (May 2002)... the lobster tail is a BIG JOKE! I would say the largest HALF TAIL (REMEMBER THIS AND DON'T BE SHOCK) was about 2 1/2 inches to 3 inches long and about 3/4 inch wide. Previously, they were about 5 inches long and 2 1/2 inches wide. The amount of seafood available has gone down the drain also... plus the sashimi.. ARRR.. it was overall a waste of $$$$. The good thing that I did enjoy at the buffet was the oysters... mmm.. but not at $34.99... I'm sorry, this buffet is not worth it. I was bragging about the buffet to my girlfriend, about how good it is... well, she was not impress with it at all..

Overall, I enjoyed the free show, but the hotel and food had to get an overhaul. Hopefully your experience will be a lot better than mine. Good luck! =)

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#75 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,572 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,417 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#65 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,309 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Address: 3700 West Flamingo Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89103-4043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites and luxurious amenities complement the gaming thrills, sumptuous dining and hot entertainment found at Rio. The excitement of Carnival radiates throughout the casino floor and out to the pools of VooDoo Beach where guests can soak up the sun in both family-friendly and adults-only areas. Inside, guests can dine at celebrity chef Guy Fieri's restaurant El Burro Borracho, feast on over 300 dishes prepared daily at the Carnival World & Seafood Buffet or experience the city's finest panoramic views at VooDoo Steak. Enjoy the KISS by Monster Mini Golf 18-Hole miniature golf course filled with state-of-the-art video, special effects and unique KISS props. See Las Vegas in the most thrilling and spectacular way when you ride the Voodoo Zipline and soar more than 400 feet above the ground at exhilarating speeds. Back on the ground, entertainers Penn & Teller and the Chippendales keep audiences enraptured nightly or rock out to the great rock songs of the 80's when you watch the worldwide smash hit musical, Rock of Ages. Of course, you may prefer to dance above the lights and under the stars at VooDoo Rooftop Nightclub located 51 floors about the excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio All-Suite Hotel And Casino
Rio All- Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Hotel
Rio Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Resort
Rio Casino
Rio Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing