We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
$138
$134
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caesars Palace(Las Vegas)
$240
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$143
Vdara.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$161
Aria.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Bellagio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$138
$135
Venetian.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Signature at MGM Grand(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
$410
$189
SignatureMGMGrand
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (18,081)
Filter reviews
18,081 results
Traveler rating
5,609
5,540
3,667
1,759
1,506
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,609
5,540
3,667
1,759
1,506
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasquerade toweroff the stripipanema towervoodoo loungeseafood buffetcarnival buffetpenn and tellerhash house a go gofree shuttlerooms are largeshuttle servicetable gamesfloor to ceiling windowsslot machinessports bookcasinovegas
Filter
Updating list...
15,304 - 15,309 of 18,081 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second review of the Rio. I’ve stayed at the Rio several times. My last review was focused heavily on the travelzoo vouchers that are frequently offered for the Rio, which is still your best value, but this one is more about the hotel and casino itself.

It’s a great option if you’re looking for a cheap room that has space for a family and isn’t located in on the busy, stripper-card-handing, drunk-college-student-wandering, Strip. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Strip and I’m thoroughly entertained by the 48 year old women handing out escort services flyers every 2.5 feet, but sometimes you need a break. The Rio isn’t as luxurious as other some other off-the-strip options, but it’s great for those on a budget.

The Casino
I actually like the casino at the Rio. It’s larger, it’s festive (the sky parade and stage shows are fun), and they have a nice variety of games. I think the best part about this casino is their drink service for players. The waiters and waitresses use iPads to take your drink orders. Then a 2nd waiter / waitress will bring the drink. I think the drinks come faster and they take your order more frequently at the Rio than the vast majority of other casinos. On the actual gaming side, I’ve had a blast at their blackjack tables and they have all of the newer slot games.

The Hotel
The rooms are bigger than your average Vegas hotel. When you factor in their cost, they are even bigger. If you’re a Total Rewards member, you’ll get even cheaper rates. I don’t play at Total Rewards casinos much (I skew toward MLife), but I still get offers for free rooms at the Rio during many week nights. When they aren’t free, they are discounted.

The food options at the hotel are fine. Their word buffet was once “the” buffet in Vegas, but let’s be honest…it’s nothing that great anymore. The bar for a great buffet has been raised by many other hotels, and the new buffet at Caesars pushed it up even further. What the Rio’s World buffet does offer is variety. Lots of it. Make sure you go at a peak time… that’s when the food is better. It’s not great in terms of quality, but it’s by no means bad. I think they need to step it up if they want to keep up with the other hotels, but it’s still better than the other off-the-strip buffets in the area. The other restaurants in the casino are fine, but nothing to get too excited about.

The Location
You could, if you wanted exercise, walk to the strip from this hotel. If you have a family, I’d say don’t do it. If you’re older, you won’t want to. Not only is it a longer walk than you’ll want to take, but you’re also walking over a freeway. Sure, they built a walking path to do it, but really, you don’t want to. We did it once because we were full from eating and wanted the exercise. We took a cab back. The real story is you’ll need a car or plan on taking cabs everywhere if you stay at the Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cournech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My bf and I stayed March 24 - 29, 2013 and had a fine time. We did have a coupon code for a great rate and upgraded to a Strip View room in Impanema Tower for an additional $10/night. I highly recommend the upgrade - nothing like having the Las Vegas Strip as one's night light. :o) The personnel at the reception desk was just great. Every concierge we spoke with was great too. Truly, absolutely NO complaints about any of the customer service.

Check in didn't take long at all and yes, we did have to stand in line. All told, probably 15 minutes from walking into the hotel. The room was cleaned promptly every day - fresh towels, toiletries, etc. They need to service the shower, but, hey, it worked every day and it felt great. I found the bed to be quite comfortable and slept great.

The shuttles run true to form and are a great way to get back and forth to the Strip. Don't be in a hurry, though! lol Most of the shuttle drivers were great people.

We dined at the All American Grille, Buzio's and the Sao Paolo Cafe - excellent service and food at all places. YES, expensive prices and that's the way it is at most of the casinos. That being said, we found it worth our while to trot over to the Gold Coast for their $7.99 breakfast buffet a couple times. We also bowled at their bowling alley and danced in their ballroom, on our first night during a research visit. LOL

I'm not a huge gambler, but the bf played some blackjack and the dealer was a swell guy. I know - I sound like Pollyanna, but we truly found fault with no one who works at this place.

The Spa was running a great special, while we were there, and we each got a swedish body massage for $50 - the spa and its personnel were also top notch. Anything they can do for you, they will.

We were too impatient to wait for whatever hotel shuttle there is from the airport and got a taxi - yep about $25 from McCarren to Rio is right. We had a blast talking to most of the taxi drivers we had, that week.

The pool was just opening when we were there and, to me, it looked like it needed a good scrub and some upgrading. We didn't use it at all, however.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

A bit off the beaten path with a monorail trip to balkya then a free bus to hotel. We got a taxi back its quicker

Penn an teller great and they come out after the show for photos etc

The actual casino hotel is very nice

Would say only stay out there if you hire a car

Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed there with 2 other people so it was just fine for us, the room overall was good. the thing that bothered me was the bathroom. the shower head was old and didn't pour water our evenly, the beds were comfy, the cleaning staff was very nice.
The rooftop lounge, the voodoo, has a really great view of the strip, especially at night, recommend going there. the also have this gigantic smokey drink that can be split between a few people, i think it was 35$
We ran into someone else who was renting out a room and said that his room had black water coming out, rio then upgraded him to a suite, nice of them.
If your on a budget and are not planning on staying in the room for long i recommend this hotel. if your with a bigger croud and can split a hotel room on the strip do that, because you have to walk over the highway to get to the strip, or cab it.

Room Tip: The strip views cost more I believe, i don't think its worth it. if you want an amazing view of the strip go to the rooftop lounge at rio, voodoo.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatSza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had heard grate things about the Rio and so when we finally got the chance to do a romantic weekend away and we took it with high expectations. Happily most of those expectations were meet. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Fantastic beds. We had a wonderful view. Everyone who serviced us were very polite and kind. They included a large number of free passes and coupons, probably to get us to stay in the hotel as much as possible but still rather nice. The restaurants there were very nice as well. When we did want to leave the hotel the place wasn't right on the strip but just a short walk away.
There were a few downers. It was a fair walk to get to a Starbucks, about half of the main downstairs was being redone, which was a bummer for us but a plus for who ever comes after us, and the free comedy show that everyone got tickets too was in a rather old room and we had unfortunately been seated near some people who had made us feel a little uncomfortable. But the comedy itself was good. We are home now but still make reference to those jokes.
Over all I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMathews590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews