We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Conference Facilities; Inconsistent Rooms and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Ranked #99 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Conference Facilities; Inconsistent Rooms and Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Rio three times, all for annual conferences. Meeting rooms are a far walk from guest rooms in the Masquerade tower, but conference facilities and meals are nice. Also, I've always found the conference facility staff to be pleasant and helpful. Guest rooms are inconsistent. Impanema Tower rooms are more recently updated and ok. Masquerade rooms are dated and worn with strange decor. Have had issues with safe not working, multiple light bulbs out and luke warm shower water. Response from guest services/management was apathetic at best. Be sure to bring your own K-cups for the In-room Keurig coffee makers or be prepared to pay $8.00 for 3 in the mini bar. Nice, clean fitness facility, but costs $25/day. However, this does include use of the whirlpool and other spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,314
    4,447
    2,875
    1,263
    1,018
See reviews for
2,716
4,382
1,315
2,091
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the Rio for three nights starting Feb. 9. Chose Rio b/c we had an offer for two free nights and secured a third night using points. It was also convenient because we opted to get a car for this trip, and Rio meant we didn't have to drive on the strip. It was easy to self-park. Check-in was smooth and the front desk attendant was really nice and cheerful. We had a room in the Masquerade Tower. The room looked dated. Could see some patched holes in the wall. The bathroom was no-frills. Shower had a window that looked into the room, and you could see into the shower from the room. This was strange, and we taped a cardboard box to the room-side of the window for privacy.

The room had a mini-fridge and good shelving/storage. The size of the room was really nice. too. Our purpose was to hike at Red Rock Canyon, so the extra space and the couch allowed us enough room to lay out our gear and get organized without feeling cramped or like we were tripping over each other. Also, the drive from Rio to Red Rock is incredibly easy. We took city streets, and it was about 40 min, and just three or four turns.

My husband played a little blackjack. He put his players card on the table, and a few hands later, the dealer picked it up and shoved it back at him. She looked a bit annoyed, but didn't say anything and never ran the card. After he finished playing, we went to the Total Rewards desk and explained what had happened. The rep said the dealer probably thought she already ran it, and next time he needed to ask. She wasn't willing to make it right, so he didn't get credit for the playing time. Kind of crucial since the room was comped. Wasn't very happy about that.

Noticed that the Irish bar that used to be toward the back of the casino has closed. As has the coffee shop and the ice cream shop in that neck of the woods. Thought is was strange that we were there the weekend of Carnivale, and Rio had no special events. Isn't that their whole theme?

One benefit to Rio is the free shuttle to the strip. Drop-off is at Bally's. I believe it runs until about 1 a.m. We used the shuttle once, but have used it several times in the past to visit Rio when we were staying on the strip. It's easy, but sometimes you have to wait 20/25 min.

If I was going to Vegas and renting a car again, I would consider the Rio because it was so easy with the car - traffic was manageable, parking was easy/complimentary and the room was fine. Not for those looking for a luxurious Vegas experience, though.

Room Tip: Masquerade Tower is newer, although still dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhitefishBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, az
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am at the Rio now.
I am so pissed thet I am writting this from one of thier rooms. It couldn't wait.
When I made the reservation, I asked about a resort fee and/or having to pay for internet access.
I was told the service is available in every room and that there is no resort fee.
I believed that it was included. I was mislead.
Also the room is equipped with a Keurig coffee maker but no coffee.
There is a card that reads there is a $8.00 charge for using the cups located in the mini-bar. LIE
There is nothing in the mini bar. When I called the front desk, They said they didn't stock it anymore.
If I want coffee I can order it from room service.
Even the cheapest Motel 6 gives you coffee. I am starting to hate vegas.
Its a late check in (4:00) and a early check out (11:00) and the pool hours suck.
I told them I would give them a poor review if they didn't do somthing to make me feel better about all this. I even mentioned Trip Advisor.
They don't care anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Company paid $50/night for this place, I'm here to tell ya, if they had paid more it would have been a snow job. It's not that there was any one thing that was bad, it's just that the bar is set so high in LV you expect more. The Rio does not deliver anymore. I went here right after it opened years ago and thought it was great. It has aged not so gracefully.
On a positive side, the convention areas are in much better shape than the rooms and the casino. The breakfast resturant is pretty good, I had the breakfast wrap and it was tasty. the Starbucks is super handy (in the morning) it closes in the afternoon. I know it's Vegas but really?? You have thousands of convention goers who probably stayed out too late the night before and you dont have the Starbucks open at 2pm that each of them has to pass by to get to the convention area?
Smell of the casino is an old musty smell and it just has a worn out look. Let me be clear its not a "classic" look, its worn out. The Ceasers Palace has a classic look but it is immaculate. As for the rooms, honestly mine was fine. However I heard from other attendees that there were reports of "brown water", running faucets, and dripping showers. As well as rusted out plumbing. Not sure if that was only in the Empinima tower or not. But I had heard this was the case.
Im not a "poor reports" guy usually. However, I just felt that if you paid $50 you got no more than $50 worth of accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nukelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is a little on the aged side, but still comfortable and accessible.
The better if you are in a car and then the strip access is not a problem. Otherwise there are shuttle fares to the strip every 15-30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ploni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had two totally different experiences at the Rio the two times we were in Las Vegas in January. The first night we were on the 4th floor in the Impanema Tower. It was a nice small suite. The second time we stayed there we were upgraded to the Masquerade Tower. Our corner suite on the 8th floor was pure luxury. It had two bathrooms, a dining area, sitting area with huge flatscreen TV, and a huge bedroom with another huge flatscreen TV. The master bathroom was larger than most hotel rooms we have been in--a jacuzzi with a "waterfall Faucet", a separate shower, two lighted dressing tables, etc.

Room Tip: Ask if you can stay in Masquerade Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laurelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at the Rio Las Vegas Feb. 9-12th. Airport shuttle drops you off at the back of the resort not near the erservations desk. That was the only drawback to the hole trip. You have to walk a bit to get to the reservations desk. Once there, check in took less than 5 minutes and the desk staff was very courteous. Our room was great in with a great view of the strip . Large open suite with a huge restroom. Hotel staff was freindy and the Carnival Buffet and Seafood Buffet allong with the All American grill were all awesome. Had a great trip and the Rio went above and beyond !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Palms Casino Resort
#58 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#39 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
Bally's
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino
Address: 3700 West Flamingo Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89103-4043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#79 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#81 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 2548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites and luxurious amenities complement the gaming thrills, sumptuous dining and hot entertainment found at Rio. The excitement of Carnival radiates throughout the casino floor and out to the pools of VooDoo Beach where guests can soak up the sun in both family-friendly and adults-only areas. Inside, guests can dine at celebrity chef Guy Fieri's restaurant El Burro Borracho, feast on over 300 dishes prepared daily at the Carnival World & Seafood Buffet or experience the city's finest panoramic views at VooDoo Steak. Enjoy the KISS by Monster Mini Golf 18-Hole miniature golf course filled with state-of-the-art video, special effects and unique KISS props. See Las Vegas in the most thrilling and spectacular way when you ride the Voodoo Zipline and soar more than 400 feet above the ground at exhilarating speeds. Back on the ground, entertainers Penn & Teller and the Chippendales keep audiences enraptured nightly or rock out to the great rock songs of the 80's when you watch the worldwide smash hit musical, Rock of Ages. Of course, you may prefer to dance above the lights and under the stars at VooDoo Rooftop Nightclub located 51 floors about the excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Vegas.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio All- Hotel Las Vegas
Rio All-Suite Hotel And Casino
Rio Suite Hotel
Rio Hotel Las Vegas
Rio Suite Resort
Rio Casino
Rio Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing