We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas night flight”
Review of Heli USA Airways - CLOSED

Heli USA Airways
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli USA Airways offers helicopter tours over the Las Vegas Strip, Hoover Dam, the Grand Canyon and transportation to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort; for western-style entertainment and activities, tours to see the American bison and overnight experiences in authentic accommodation.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Booked a couple of weeks in advance, and reconfirmed with the company that we are going to show up. We were told to arrive between 5.00-6.00PM. The waiting room was full of people, and it took us nearly an hour to be herded into a stinking bus. After another approx. 20 min. wait, we got airborne and had the worst seats in the helicopter behind the pilot. Not much of a chance to take any pictures of the strip, as the tour is such that all the views are on the other side of the helicopter if you sit behind the pilot.

All in all, it took us almost 2 hours to take a 10 min. flight! Don't waste your time with these guys.

6  Thank Cheech_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 375 of 433 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our 3 hour trip turned into a 10 hour ordeal. The helicopter was 2 hours late leaving and nothing was said to us as to why. When we finally got to our helicopter it had a sense problem. Again nothing was said as to whether we would still be going or not. We were taken back to the office to wait some more. Finally we got underway and the trip was beautiful. The ranch was very neat and lunch was good. Unfortunately, the staff was short on information as to why the helicopters never came back. We finally learned that due to weather we would have to make the trip back by van, a 3 hour drive. My call to the manager, Mr. Power, went unanswered. I only received half my ride. Pay a little extra and go elsewhere. The staff was rude and uninformed

2  Thank Victim1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, General Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

We apologize that you were delayed at Grand Canyon Ranch. This was due to torrential rain, hail storms and flash floods around the Grand Canyon area. The decision to return you back to Las Vegas was based on your welfare and safety. The partial refund was based on the unused portion of your tour. Once agin, apologies for your delay. Heli USA Airways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Flying into the Grand Canyon is an awesome experience; staying at a real working ranch is a high spot of any visit to the Canyon. So...the trip is amazing. A pity that Heli USA are fall significantly short of expectations. They could be so good - but they're not.
We booked months in advance for a trip that would take up into the Canyon to stay overnight at the ranch. Heli USA were efficient on the telephone and the transport arrived at the hotel right on time; we got to the airport, were weighed, briefed and labelled. And then it all started to go wrong. An hour later we were still sat there with no explanation of why we were delayed and no indication of when we would fly. There were lots of other passengers in the same situation and quite a lot were getting pretty upset. To compound this the staff could not give us any proper answer and the manager could be seen avoiding us.
My wife insisted on speaking to the woman and eventually confronted her. She told us that 'this was the airline industry!' What rubbish - the helicopters operate independently of other air movements. Then she said that they had to find extra room at the ranch because we had asked to go there at the last minute. This was just a lie - we'd booked months ago!
Eventually we got away - and it was all as wonderful as we had expected. We arrived at the ranch about two hours after we had expected, which limited our activities there. The ranch stay was excellent, the food was great and we hoped we could spend some time there in the morning. We had been told that we would be collected between 8.00 and 9.00 but suddenly, at 7.30, we were told the helicopter was on approach, we should grab our bags and board the transport. So much for making the most of our ranch stay.
The guy that runs Heli USA is a Brit but probably spends no time in Las Vegas, anyway we wrote to him c/o the Main office address. Unsurprisingly, we received no reply.

This lot have a wonderful attraction and make it available to clients but they are not interested in the wellbeing of the customer, only in cramming in as many people as possible. A pity as it sours an otherwise fabulous - and expensive - experience.

2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpowerheliusa, General Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

On behalf of Heli USA Airways, we would like to apologize for the late departure of your Grand Canyon helicopter flight on Sunday 15th August 2010.

We did attempt to contact you via your cell phone in the UK to discuss your concerns. Please respond upon receipt of this posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Heli USA Apollo Night Strip Tour, sounds romantic but is not worth the time or money. We sat through a Wyndam timeshare presentation and picked this as part of the package. We were looking forward to the flight all day and was sadly disappointed when the entire flight turned out to be non eventful...still waiting for the punchline cause the joke was on us. About 8 mins in the air, up one side of the strip to Fremont st and back down the other side and landed. Don't buy the video! They will film you getting on and off the flight and edit that to a stock video shoot who knows when they shot. You can buy that anywhere on the strip. The best part is that I can say I went on a helicopter ride in Vegas, truth, it was a real snoozer.

Thank VaneeseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We were staying at the MGM grand and was told we would be collected at the west wing lobby @ 15:20. We arrived there early at 15;05 and patiently waited till 15:45 when no bus had arrived. We worried that we were maybe in the wrong location as this lobby is only a back road round the hotel. I went back in the hotel and ask the employee in the boutique inside the west wing to call heli-usa for me. He duly obliged and the heli rep. informed me the driver was around the corner. He arrived shortly after and took us to the airport.
When we arrived we made payment for the trip, we were weighed(caution...if you weigh more than 250lbs you will be charged for an additional seat) and then shown a brief safety video.
The pilot was very knowledgable and helpful, but unfortunately the weather was not on our side and mid flight the pilot informed us that there was a bad thunder storm directly over the canyon we diverted to the heli usa ranch near by to see if the storm would pass (we got a warm and lovely welcome from the people at the ranch truely lovely) it was obvious we would not complete our canyon experience and we headed back to vegas being chased by fork lighting which was truely amazing and quite scary, the pilot brought us across the strip on the way back to try and make up for missing the canyon and we were refunded the full trip price even though we got to see the strip and hoover dam at night thanks to our terrific and generous pilot.

Thank irishhatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heli USA Airways also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing