We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand canyon helicopter tour”
Review of Heli USA Airways - CLOSED

Heli USA Airways
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli USA Airways offers helicopter tours over the Las Vegas Strip, Hoover Dam, the Grand Canyon and transportation to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort; for western-style entertainment and activities, tours to see the American bison and overnight experiences in authentic accommodation.
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“grand canyon helicopter tour”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this in January through a travel agent as part of 2 wks in USA. We rang the day before the flight as specified and were told our flight time had been changed but were given pick up time at hotel for new flight time. Next day we waited for them to pick us up and when they did not arrive we called and were told our flight was cancelled. We were offered a night time fly over Las Vegas strip instead and a sorry... you can imagine our disappointment. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY>

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dilysShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    57
    33
    46
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fast and OK”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked Our trip for the 1700 trip. We were picked up at Our hotel at the arranged time. Our payment at the Counter was easy. We were about 15 min late for Our trip, but was not any problem.

we were a party of two People, and one of us got to sit NeXT to the pilot. The other one sitting in the back, was also well seated and had a good view.

The Whole trip was very Nice, and the GC is well worth the trip! On oour way back after fueling, there was only Three People inn the back, so we had plenty of Space.

all in all everything was Nice and well arrenged.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norway-lier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our tour group loved it!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe the rest of these reviews. We had a fantastic time and flew in the Grand Canyon and my husband and I went horse riding and the scenery was amazing :-) I sat up front on the way there and my husband was in the back in a backwards seat and he still saw everything and loved it as much as I did. The other ppl in our group loved it as well. We were picked up on time, actually a bit early and everyone at the airport were really friendly. Everyone at the ranch were awesome and knew how to have a good time. Someone commented that the helicopter is like any other one yet they call it the Ferrari of the sky - we learnt this is because Ferrari actually has a stake in the business. Overall we were very happy with our service and would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother! A complete shambles.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this experience through a company called Westgate in the Planet Hollywood hotel. Paid a $200 deposit to the company to secure our booking. We were picked up at 17.35 in a bus to go on our 18.30 flight. When we arrived at the HeliUSA office we were taken to a room and explained that we wouldn't be flying because the earlier flights were running late. We had an option to have our deposits refunded (but we had to do this ourselves through the company we booked with!) or reschedule. We rescheduled for 15.15 the following day. As we waited for our confirmation the very young girl behind the counter told us the slot had been taken! The staff at HeliUSAare extremely young and inexperienced and had no customer service skills. They kept going to a back room to ask a supervisor some advice over the phone. This place is a shambles. They offered a 13.30 flight in the end and we decided to risk it rather than go through the hassle of finding the agent to have our deposit back. Our pick up the following day was 30 mins late and the flight itself was an hour late. The helicopter is small and extremely warm and the experience itself was a disappointment ( eventhough it cost $738) All in all, we wasted about 4 hours waiting in the HeliUSA waiting room. ** Don't bother with this company,there are many other companies available and they seem to be much more organised and have customer satisfaction in mind. **

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nicwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Choose someone else to tour with and don't order the DVD”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Firstly, I do recommend a helicopter trip to the canyon. An amazing experience, but just choose someone else. I've used Maverick Helicopters before and their service and experience was outstanding.

We were due to fly on the full Ranch Explorer trip on 11th July, having booked 9 months ago. Phoned the day before to confirm, to find the booking was lost but they could squeeze us in. Picked up ok and arrived at their offices to be told there was a delay due to weather. Kept being told this over the next couple of hours until finally advised there was a problem with the helicopter, which couldn't be fixed and could we move to the next day. Don't get me wrong, completely understand these things happen and no desire to fly in a faulty helicopter, but tell the truth. Also at this point we were offered free horse riding at the ranch the next day

Next day arrives and back to the airport, where i also ordered the DVD, which they told me would be footage of my family arriving at the helicopter and boarding, followed by 45 minutes of pre-filmed footage, covering everything we would see on the flight - cost was €70, a bit steep but 'once in a lifetime' and all that for the children.

The helicopters are described on their website as the 'Ferrari of Helicopters' - they're no different to any others, and if you sit facing backwards on the tour (3 out of the 7 seats do), your experience is severly dimished.

Arrived at the ranch, which was nice enough but wouldn't go overboard on the whole 'relive the Wild West' sales pitch. Horse riding was cancelled because of weather - there was a small bit of rain around but didn't seem that bad. Esentially we just sat around for anhour waiting to be taken back. When you fly back, don't expect to see the canyon again - it's a direct route instead.

When we got back to the UK, put the DVD on - whole thing was 11 minutes long, fairly amateur / awful music droning on in the background - a real disappointment

So far emailed 3 times and phoned - had a brief reply saying they've lost all their footage. Have asked for a refund and its gone very quiet!

Given all the comments on here, looks like many more people have been ripped off even more than us, and don't see Heli USA defending their reputation once

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing