We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell on Heli Usa”
Review of Heli USA Airways - CLOSED

Heli USA Airways
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heli USA Airways offers helicopter tours over the Las Vegas Strip, Hoover Dam, the Grand Canyon and transportation to the Grand Canyon Ranch Resort; for western-style entertainment and activities, tours to see the American bison and overnight experiences in authentic accommodation.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hell on Heli Usa”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On October 25, 2012 we took the Heli USA Grand Canyon Tour. The brochure told us it was a luxury coach - it was an airport shuttle. Was told tour was eight hours door to door it was ten and one half which caused us to lose our dinner reservation. Arrived at "resort ranch" it was a bunch of dilapidated old buildings. Taken to to helipad and initially had been told six to a helicopter. It was three since there were twelve in our group that meant we were going to be standing out in the middle of nowhere with absolutely nothing to do while each group took their ride. When that ended they took us back to the "ranch" where we were given a horrible lunch. There was supposed to be a rodeo and entertainment there was none. Some of the group decided to go horseback riding which left half of us once again sitting and doing nothing for an hour. It was an awful experience. Go with a different company.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliUSA_Management, Manager at Heli USA Airways, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with Heli USA and Grand Canyon Ranch. The tour you mentioned is To The Edge & Beyond, a new tour offered by motor coach from Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Ranch, a 106,000 acre historic guest ranch located on the west rim of the Grand Canyon. The "old buildings" were in fact built by the original ranch owners as early as the 18th century. The Ranch House restaurant & bar was in fact the previous home of gun fighter, Tap Duncan who rode with the Hole In The Wall gang in Colorado. In reference to the helicopter tours of the Grand Canyon from the ranch, each helicopter seats 6-7 passengers (the new Agusta 119 fleet seats seven plus the pilot) so for large parties, some may have to wait at the ranch. Contrary to your comment above, there are in fact several activities you should have been made aware of including horseback and wagon rides, Wild Buffalo safaris, live music entertainment and weather permitting, rodeo demonstrations that occur with each and every Grand Canyon Explorer tour. However, to compensate you for the late return, please contact a Heli USA manager to receive a credit toward another tour. Thank you, Heli USA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    57
    33
    46
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon and Ranch experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looked after from start to finish with necessary briefings and safety aspects all done as they should be. The Helicopter flights were comfortable, the pilots friendly and knowledgeable giving a good narration. The staff at the ranch (owned by the same man as the helicopter firm) were equally friendly, knowledgeable and forthcoming with a very good lunch being supplied followed by a short ride on horseback to see the Bison herd. This tour was the absolute highlight of our stay in Las Vegas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedWinsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Chariot of Fire Trip with Heli USA”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent trip, collected straight from hotel. Had a little wait at check in which was not very efficiently organised. However the helicopter ride itself was excellent, went right into the Grand Canyon, and flew up close to Las Vegas at dusk on the way back. We had two pilots, Mike Davis and another guy on the way back. Both were very good and excellent commentators. Would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns Lake
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“grand canyon”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was one of the most spectacular rides ever. The pilot was fantastic and entertaining, the views were beautiful and well worth the dollars. Definately a do-over.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dramamarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked the Heli USA Grand Canyon and Ranch experience as part of a honeymoon trip to the States. This was without question the highlight of the whole holiday. This was largely due to our amazing trip guide Big Rich who felt like an old friend by the end of the day. His informative and friendly style kept us excited along the route to the ranch and he ensured that the helicopter ride, lunch and horseback ride went without a hitch. Special thanks also to Mike Davies who was an exceptional helicopter pilot. I cannot rate these guys highly enough and will be recommending the trip to all our friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank ceriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heli USA Airways also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing