We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Ranked #149 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed June 6, 2006

This was our last hotel stop after driving around southern Utah, before flying on to New York. We booked this in advance of the holiday and if our previous experiences of Best Western hotels was anything to go by, we should have been very pleased. Not quite so. The check-in desk is completely overwhelmed by the noise of the slot machines because this hotel lobby is packed full of them. We were given a room that was away from the road and was quiet and being able to park the car outside the door did improve things. The room was clean but the decor, furniture and bed linen were very tired. The whole place needed renovating and brightening up. The pool looked ok but as it is small and crowded by the buildings around it, it wasn't inviting. Breakfast was offered in the seating area opposite the check-in desk and even at 8 in the morning, it was noisy and over crowded. Poeple had been waiting in the queue to be seated for at least 10 minutes and the people who had started their breakfast, were complaining with some people simply leaving their half eaten meals on the table. It did not bode well but we were not to be put off. Pity really because the food that was meant to be hot, was only warm and the time it took to arrive at the table may have explained why. Even the staff were complaining about the problems.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2006

My company booked this hotel for a convention in May 2006. Let's just say it's average. It is better than some and not as good as others. I had room 3145 which is a king poolside on the 3rd floor. The room was very clean with a loveseat,chair, end table, and coffee table, and there was a nook with a sink, dorm sized refrigerator, a sink, and a 4 cup coffeemaker.

The food in the restaurant is very good and very reasonable, but service is a little slow at times. A huge club sandwich is $7.95 and is larger than most typical restaurants. The beer is cheap compaired to everywhere else in Las Vegas. A large draft is $3.00 there is a happy hour every night from 4pm-6pm and some nights it was from 12am-6am as well. The bar is open 24/7 and the restaurant is open from 6am-midnight.

The shuttle takes you to Bally's (Near Caesars Palace/Paris) and to the airport. This is every hour on the hour until 11pm. Take advantage of the shuttle to Bally's as this will save you at least one way of cab fare to/from the strip. They will also pick you up at Bally's if you call and let them know. It is also only about 300 yards from the Las Vegas Convention Center and the Las Vegas Monorail station at the Convention Center.

I'll reiterate what other reviews have said as well. It's definately not a 4 star property, but overall it's safe, clean, and not to out of the way. Visit their website directly at: [-] where they have web only specials that other sites can't beat and that includes [-].

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indystoprealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

i stayed in the mardi gras with my partner in may 2006 for a week. i arrived on the sunday,the following morning we went out for breakfast, and on return to the room i noticed my mobile phone had gone from my bedside table,and that the cleaner had been in the room,which if you put 2 and 2 together i believe either the cleaner took my phone of somebody went in the room while she was cleaning which is not very good!! the staff when i reported this were not helpful at all,and were sometimes very rude.i found they were not helpful at reception and didnt really know what they were doing.

the hotel is probably a 40 minute walk from the centre of the strip,however ther is a free shuttle service which takes you to the ballys hotel,however this was always full as it only holds 10 people so you were waiting sometimes up to an hour for your turn.the drinks at the bar were reasonably priced.

while staying at the hotel i also had two towels taken from off our sunbeds so if you do decide to stay here just becareful with your personal possesions.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RachnMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
glendale, ca
11
Reviewed May 15, 2006

For the price, the room is defnitely worth it. Large room with a small kitchen area with fridge. Housekeeping is lacking to say the least. Staff only works till 4, so after that you're outta luck. Location off-strip is perfect if you frequent vegas and know your way around. Staff is definitely hit or miss as previous poster said. One person can be extremely friendly, while the next is very rude. So if you get a good price, room is definitely worth it as you will not spend much time there.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

I stayed @ the Mardi Gras Inn April 21-23. MGI is excellently located on Paradise Road just south of the Hilton, Convention Center, and Monorail Station. The VERY large bed I had was very good, though i spent most of the time out on the town. Room 2161 was very clean and quiet. If you get a room near the pool area, it might be noisy. Some teenage sports team was there and they did make lotsa noise.

MGI does have a restaurant which seemed very nice. I did not eat there so I can't attest to the food quality. Make sure you call once you arrive for the hotel shuttle. It runs every hour until I believe midnight. They will take you to Bally's on the strip during their airport runs. I bought it through Priceline for $120 a night + taxes (weekend) Check through Best Western for better pricing, however I was there during the NAB convention and rooms were hard to get.

Definitely worth it, Really NO complaints

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timotiejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
17
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We recently stayed at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised, the rooms are massive and clean which is a BIG plus for me. The staff were helpful and the shuttle buss which runs from 8am to 11pm was a god send. It takes you into Ballys, which is a hotel we had never heard of but from there you can get to Paris, Caesars palace and more. The monorail station is literally 2 mins down the road and from there you can get to ANYWHERE on the strip. I would defiantly stay here again, why spend hundreds of dollars on a room which looks like an old French hotel room, which will take you 30 mins to get to your room when you can spend a lot less on a clean, large room, moments away from the strip. You can go and visit all the hotels and see the décor – don’t pay for it. This place gets a 10 out of 10 for me. Thanks guys for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2006

The best part of this hotel is the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. We also liked not having to walk a mile to get to our room. The room we had was larger than expected. There was a mini kitchen area. Sleeping areas are divided by an archway. Only one TV. The price was great and the room was clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaFitMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#188 of 264 in Las Vegas
358 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#122 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,567 reviews
Thunderbird Boutique Hotel
#116 of 264 in Las Vegas
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oasis at Gold Spike
#120 of 264 in Las Vegas
402 reviews
Club de Soleil All-Suite Resort
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
629 reviews
Siena Suites
#155 of 264 in Las Vegas
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Address: 3500 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $42 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino is your great choice for an affordable full-service hotel just off the Strip. The hotel features 314 spacious over-sized guest rooms each with a refrigerator and bar area; a friendly and affordable restaurant and 24-hour casino lounge; a large pool area with whirlpool spa; FREE Strip and Airport Shuttle that runs every hour on the hour from 7am to 10pm; and is a short walk to the Las Vegas Monorail and the Las Vegas Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Vegas.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel And Casino
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing