We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Ranked #130 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
“It is what it is...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The cons...upon check in, front desk clerk wasn't very friendly or helpful. After checking in, went back to desk...anxious to hit the city and tried asking a few questions about the area and all we really got was "I dunno" so we asked if there were any Vegas brochures available and she said no so we ventured out on our own. 2 nights later I went to ask if there was a vending machine on site and a different clerk directed me to it, right past the big display of Vegas brochures...imagine that! The room was ok but not what we requested when booking. As a Gold Member I used points and requested an upper poolside room thinking it would be quieter. The place was not busy at all and we got a ground room with a view of an old apartment complex and heard a few interesting/explicit arguments going on at night. The room itself was very dated and we could not keep any of our electric items plugged in, the outlets were pulling out of the walls or they were way too big to hold the plug. The TV remote only worked about 20% of the time and the channels are very limited and reception was horrible! We wondered why the water was running in the toilet when we returned to the room one evening and then went to flush and our toilet handle fell off. Wasn't one of the better BW's I have stayed in but I didn't expect much knowing the price point. We never visited the casino/lounge or restaurant so I can't comment. Now the pros...check in was quick. Rooms were spacious, clean and restocked every day when we returned. I thought the beds were very comfortable too! When the toilet broke, someone was there immediately to fix it and was right in and out. I had seen a lot of previous comments about bad or no internet connections, we had no issues during a 4 night stay. The area may seem a little sketchy but my friend and I felt safe at all times. The locaton was very convenient and only took a maximum of 10 minutes to get to the south end of the strip (MGM area) and a stones throw from the Stratosphere and a few minutes to downtown/Fremont St. We had a rental car and drove everywhere but it is a very short walk to the monorail station. Will probably stay on the strip on my next trip to Vegas just for the experience but would stay here again for the value, even though the place is dated and had minor issues it was more then ok for sleeping and showering. I would suggest this BW to anyone looking to save money, as long as they know that you get what you pay for and didn't expect Ceasars Palace amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staycg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank You for your recent review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    394
    322
    170
    169
See reviews for
230
350
129
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel, the computers were down and no one could check in. I have a spinal cord injury and Teresa and Susie at the front desk went out of their way to get me into a room asap. There are a few employees that are exceptional.. and then you have a front desk manager that likes to up your rate wether or not you are looking at the rate on line~! Unbelievable~! The staff is wonderful except for a few.. the hotel is nice, big rooms... no movies at advertised.. the restaurant food IS EXCELLENT~! FRESH FOOD.. UNBELIEVABLE~!

I would definately stay again and again.. wonderful hotel..

Room Tip: Stay on a upper floor - to much noise on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank You for your review of our property and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My first time in Las Vegas and this hotel was excellent. Room was very large, staff extremely friendly, even taking us out on their days off to see the sights. Food very good value for money, loved the happy hour. Always felt safe in the hotel no matter what time of the day, and as a young lady drinking in the bar at night until early hours I always felt extremely safe. Would def recommend and stay here again. Infact I am in June 2013! If you want an excellent holiday with excellent people only a stones throw away from the strip then I would stay here. Not only staff, but they all became friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room right next to the lift, which makes it easier to find your room after a few drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank You for your review of our Hotel and we are looking forward to your next visit with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perhaps because it was New Year's Eve, the hotel was busy and room service failed to show up and leave towels are make our room. Our room was unusually dirty (stains on pillows and floor, smelly room) and ragged. Make sure you get a room on the top floor becase you can hear the people walking above very loudly below. There is also no gym here even though it is advertised on Expedia as having a gym. Parking is ample and free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RalphoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank You for shaing your recent experience with us on New Years Eve. We do not advertise a gym at our property on Expedia.com as we have never had one. We do apologize for the condition of your linen as you know that we are here 24 hours a day and are able to assit you and making sure that your stay with us is as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here one night because it was the best deal I could get for a Saturday night - reasonable rate and no resort fee. The rooms are very large, basically two rooms in one, would sleep four easily. There was a fridge and lots of counter space. We were able to park right outside our door - convenient. On the downside, we found it very noisy - lots of tromping around above and beside our ground floor room, throughout the night and getting worse early in the morning. If you want or need lots of space, go for it, but see if you can get a second floor room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank You for your comments about your recent stay with us. If your travels bring you bakc to the Las Vegas Area we would be very happy to have you stay with us again and we will gladly put you on an upper floor....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have booked this hotel because it advertised microvawe in room and free wi-fi. However, there is not a single microvawe in the whole place for use and the wi-fi quality is very low. The reception is located in a casino full of cigarette smoke. But we appreciated the shuttle to Strip and airport and the staff was nice and helpful. Next time I would rather pay more and also choose a better location, closer to centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank Your for your recent review about your stay with us. We have contacted booking.com and requested that they take the microwave off of their web site as we have never had microwaves in our rooms. We are also in the process of changing our Wi-Fi Provider and do apologize that it has not been completed while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Less than 24-hours before our reservation my elderly mother lapsed into a coma and forced us to cancel an 8-day holiday trip, the first night of which was to have been at the BW Mardi Gras in Vegas. She subsequently died four days later. Delta waived their usual cancel fee and gave us a 6-month voucher. BW, however refused to allow cancellation or provide a voucher for future use. Will never stay in a BW property again and will take every opportunity I get to discourage others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
On behalf of the Best Western Mardi Gras Staff and Owners we are very sorry for your loss. Your Reservation was purchased through Best Western Central Reservations and we are unable to to do anything with the Reservation the only way any changes can be done are through Best Westen Central Reservations. Once again we are very sorry for your loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#151 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#121 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#64 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Property: Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Address: 3500 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV 89109-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#66 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino is your great choice for an affordable full-service hotel just off the Strip. The hotel features 314 spacious over-sized guest rooms each with a refrigerator and bar area; a friendly and affordable restaurant and 24-hour casino lounge; a large pool area with whirlpool spa; FREE Strip and Airport Shuttle that runs every hour on the hour from 7am to 10pm; and is a short walk to the Las Vegas Monorail and the Las Vegas Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel And Casino
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing