We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if staying with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Ranked #135 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
stockport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“if staying with children”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

the eating area is the place as the bar so people smoke as your eating .
the problem with young children is the window glass is so thin its unbelievabe in the u/k it would be illegal to use except in picture frames so don't tap like you would at home i tried to get my daughters attention and the window broke cost 114 dollars which is fair but when i said it was dangerous for children from the u/k who would think the glass was as thick as at home especially 4-5 year old the manageress got extremly abusive, the staff as whole were o/k pity about the managment

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tex6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    413
    341
    181
    184
See reviews for
247
379
140
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I travel to Las Vegas several times a year. This was our first stay at Mardi Gras. We were particularly excited because it had free wi-fi and an in-room coffee maker. Both of these are nonexistent at most Strip hotels. We also wanted to avoid resort fees.

My advice to travelers considering the BW Mardi Gras is to consider what is most important to you: price, comfort, cleanliness, personalized service, proximity to the Strip, getting around town, etc. Mardi Gras is successful on price and cleanliness, followed by comfort. The other variables will depend on you and whether you have a rental car, how much you mind driving, etc.

We had mixed feelings about our stay. We arrived in the early afternoon on the day we were to check in, and recognizing that check-in officially starts at 3pm, we were hopeful that we could be checked in earlier. The front desk was unable to accommodate us and we waited on a bench in the narrow walkway between the front door and the (small) casino, for an hour and a half. While we were grateful to have a place to wait, it was uncomfortable. The front door being opened and closed and the casino and bar area exposed us to cigarette smoke and fried food odors. Although we were sitting right in front of the front desk, the hotel staff did not alert us when a room became available. We had to ask.

These were the primary advantages and disadvantages of our stay here:

Advantages:
-the room was clean.
-This was a business trip and we were here for 4 days. It was good to have the coffee table and sofa to use as a work area.
-we were minutes away (by car) from the Strip
-a bunch of small and fast food restaurants were within a short drive
-there was a small fridge (a huge plus!)
-generally we didn't hear or see other guests (although the first night it seemed like the people upstairs were playing on a trampoline)
-generally, you can park near your room so you don't have to haul your luggage long distances

Disadvantages:
-the hotel has exterior corridors, and the one window faces the corridor. There was a sheer curtain, which we closed while we were in the room. Would have preferred more privacy and interior corridors.
-our room was in the back of the hotel. At night it felt a little weird parking next to the Dumpsters. My wife thought there could be better lighting in the parking lot.
-had to ask for more towels (at least 4 would be good for 2 people)
-had to ask for more coffee (only one packet was provided per day)
-no microwave (most Strip hotels don't have one either, but it would have been great)
-have to pay extra for 2 double beds (we didn't)

We accessed Internet in the lobby on the first day, but we were not able to get it in our room for several days. This was a disappointment as free Wi-fi was one of the reasons we had booked this hotel.

In summary, we stayed here because the price was right. We were disappointed in the check-in and the wi-fi. The staff did not seem to be empowered or able to do much to help us with either situation. I had thought from reading management's response to other reviews that they would be on top of these things. Not sure what is happening with this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We are in communication with our internet provider and they are making adjustments to make sure that all of the property is covered with the WiFi. We are an extior property and advertise as one and we do have sheers and room darkners in all of our rooms. Our standards are 3 sets of towels per room and 1 pack of each coffee for our rooms to help control cost and inventory. We do appreciate your comments and will use them in our weekly training classes and hope that if your travels bring you back to the Las Vegas area that you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's 4 a.m., and I'm fully awake after a group of three or four loud-talking, lauging, coughing twentysomethings have wakened my family and I for about the fourth time between 1 and 4 a.m. They've taken their party into the hotel's inner courtyard and have run--make that stomped--past our room coutless times. It got slightly better when I called the hotel desk and reported them. 'I'll send a security guard," said the rather bored and resigned voice over the phone who said they'd send security down..

It's 4:30 a.m. and they've taken the party to another corridor of the hotel. I call the operator again. "We send someone down and they said there was nobody there," she challenged me. I'm about to answer back with, "Well, they're there. Take my word for it," I answer in disbelief that the front desk would question me. Like someone would make up these things. "Maybe the other guests are on Ambien," suggests my daughter.

Too bad. Too bad for some beyond-rude guests who couldn't keep their party inside a room on a Saturday night in November. And too bad that the night staff at the Mardi Gras had such a lackadaisical attitude--almost disbelieving--of a guest at 4 a.m. who just wanted some sleep.

The price is cheap, I know; I get it. But I'm a Best Western member and seek out their properties wherever I go. The first night was great--nice and quiet. It's off The Strip, smaller than the other hotels. The room is big, well maintained and clean. All up to Best Western standards.

But a night's sleep uninterrupted is all I'm asking for. Maybe this was an exception. If a guest calls the front desk at 4 a.m. reporting noise outside--take it seriously. And if they call a second time, be courteous--don't challenge them. I'll bet that attitude and behavior is not in the Best Western employee training handbook.

Room Tip: Inner upper courtyard. Ask for something quiet. REALLY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank You for your recent comments about your stay with us and we do apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. The service that you received from our Night Audit staff is not standard and have been addressed. We do hope that if you are in the Las Vegas Area again that you will give us another chance to show you the true service of the Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here as a large group. The hotel is situated about 4 mins from the 'Strip'. The rooms are large and ours had 2 double beds, a kitchenette area and bathroom. It was kept nice and clean. We had breakfast which was good value for $9 per adult-cereal, pastries, cooked and a waffle maker, which was very popular with our group. They were also accommodating for food allergies even if a jacket potato is a little unusual for brekie-they were happy to do it for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiebudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank You for your review and comments about our hotel and we were very happy to have your group stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Margarets Hope, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at what we call our home from home in Las Vegas. Jerrie and Tim in the bar are just the best and go out of their way to do anything they can for you. All the other staff were very friendly and helpful too. Rooms were clean and they serve one of the best steaks we had ever tasted. I would urge people reading these reviews not to be put off by some of the bad ones this hotel has received. Some people just expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank You so much for your recent review of our hotel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay wtih us and look forward to your next visit to Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

my wife & i stayed at this hotel in june for two weeks this was the third time that we had stayed here in as many years and i must say that on each occasion we have had a brilliant stay.Its value for money the staff are friendly (Jason&Terry) to name but a few. the food is of good quality the rooms are very spacious.Would recommend this hotel to any of our friends. Phil&Elaine.Sheffield U.K.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in 2013...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

my wife and i stayed here in may.all staff were very freindly and helpfull.the location is its only downfall,however they provide a free bus every hour that drops you at ballys hotel right on the strip.room was large with maid cleaning every day.would go back anytime,,its not the ritz,but its a good basic clean and freindly place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmardigras, General Manager at Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank You for your comments about your stay with us. We strive to make all of our guest happy and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#167 of 262 in Las Vegas
314 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#119 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,539 reviews
Oasis at Gold Spike
#130 of 262 in Las Vegas
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#63 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,649 reviews
The Strip
Courtyard Las Vegas Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino

Property: Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino
Address: 3500 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-3611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino is your great choice for an affordable full-service hotel just off the Strip. The hotel features 314 spacious over-sized guest rooms each with a refrigerator and bar area; a friendly and affordable restaurant and 24-hour casino lounge; a large pool area with whirlpool spa; FREE Strip and Airport Shuttle that runs every hour on the hour from 7am to 10pm; and is a short walk to the Las Vegas Monorail and the Las Vegas Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mardi Gras Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel And Casino
Best Western Mardi Gras Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing