We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inside Clean, Outside Garbage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western McCarran Inn
Ranked #81 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inside Clean, Outside Garbage”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed at this Best Western approx. 4-5 Nights over the last Month.
Nice Reception staff - Especially Gloria. Found the Location Manager a bit Rude and Short with me when I had a simple Question.
The inside of this property was tidy & clean -some deficiencies that surprized me for a Best Western. Not on par with other Best Westerns I've stayed out throughout the West this past year.
The outside of this Property was atrocious. Garbage frequently laying around and it appears the staff simply did not care nor want to take the time to patrol for and remove. The Pool needed attention and I found myself cleaning the Water with the Screen a lot. My last stay I didn't feel like I could swim in it as there was Paper and items in and on top of the water that needed to be removed. As it was approx. 90 Degrees, I really needed a nice dip, so again I grabbed the Surface Scooper and did the chore-I almost felt like I should have been paid to clean both the Pool & surrounding grounds.
Hooefully this BW at McCarren Airport will take not and I look forward to seeing it cleaner on my next visit...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Robert

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. The team at the hotel sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced during your visit with us. I am proud to let you know that based on your feedback our Engineering and Housekeeping Department have implemented a plan that addresses your concerns which will eliminate possible future occurrences. We look forward to having you back at the hotel.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    511
    243
    118
    72
See reviews for
406
438
154
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an airport hotel and was absolutely perfect for myself and my family when we got into Las Vegas late and just needed somewhere to sleep. There were no airplane sounds I could hear. We experienced no problems, slept well and had a nice breakfast in the morning. I had a little trouble navigating here from the car rental location, but not too much. This was what I was looking for and I got it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbirgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We are grateful you took the time to write a review of our property, we appreciate your kind words and we hope you will visit again the next time your in Las Vegas.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a little unsure about how satisfied I would be with the hotel. After I got in pretty late at night I was not sure how to catch the shuttle bus to the hotel so I called the hotel and they sent one right away to get me. The shuttle man got my luggage for me and put it in the shuttle and away we drove. When We got to the hotel the lobby lights weren't to bright so I was unsure once again. A young African American girl greeted me and gave me my keys and When I arrived it my room it was great. Very clean large size room with the little extras you don't expect candy on the table and A note from the staff saying welcome. I don't mean for this to be a long review just a little advise to readers Do Not Believe everything you read because this hotel is great and I will come back try it for yourself I was queen for a day

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryVanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing. What a nice review! It is a pleasure to host such wonderful guests, I have shared your comments with my co-workers. Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and its staff. We hope to see you back at the hotel on your next visit to Las Vegas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Breakfast was not up to other Best Westgern hotels we have stayed in. No hot (bacon, sausage, eggs hash browns) breakfast, very small food prep area, only 2 waffle machines,
staff pushing carts of dirty laundry through the dining area at 7 am etc when guests are eating breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear William

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, please accept our apologies for the breakfast and the laundry carts, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with my co-workers to rectify some of these issues. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Rates were very reasonable, staff was friendly, room was spacious, clean and updated (had a flat-screen t.v.), there was free breakfast and wi-fi in the room (plus a computer in the lobby), and free shuttle service to the airport and The Strip (Tropicana & Hard Rock), AND I felt safe staying there. Parts of the hotel showed a little wear and tear, but it would not stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Traveler;

We are grateful you took the time to write a review of our property, we appreciate the kind words about the hotel and its amenities and we hope you will visit again soon.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2013. First of all, I never had a problem with noise. The first night, we stayed in a two queen deluxe right by the lobby. The outside of this hotel has the usual Las Vegas noise. It is a noisy city. But when you shut the hotel doors, you don't hear any of it. I worried more about hearing the lobby noise because we were so close. We didn't. It was quiet. The 2 queen deluxe was very roomy and had a updated air conditioner. The sofa bed was a twin size. Regardless of the size, they only give you toiletries for one. You will have to ask for more if you need it. My father in law got a king size room across the hall and was also next to the lobby. It was a nice room with an upgraded AC. It was a good room for him because he didn't need to do a lot of walking to the lobby. The next night we stayed on the second floor at the back end of the hotel. It was a 2 queen standard. The fortunate thing was, they could get us in right away in the morning. We didn't have to check in again later in the afternoon. It was quiet and I didn't hear any noise outside the room whatsoever.

Now for my complaints. The staff needs to be trained in hotel hospitality. The first night I listened to the girl at the front desk talk out loud about one of the guest's problem with their air conditioner. It wasn't working and they wanted a room change. I could go on. I heard the whole story right in the lobby as I was on their lobby computer. The girl at the front desk acted agitated and talked about the horrible day she had. I thought this was all strange as she was very nice and helpful to me earlier. The next day, the shuttle driver was off to one side of the hotel front doors so that he could smoke and play on his Iphone. When we finally got back to our room in the afternoon, our AC wasn't working either as it was an older cheaper model. When we called for help, we got a maid that had taken off her smock as to disguise the fact that she was a maid. She looked at it and said it was frozen and said she would send for maintenance. Really? They send a maid just to tell me that? Maintenance was taking awhile so I went to the lobby to use the vending machine. Passing the front desk, a saw a man that looked like he was dressed up as a maintenance man. He was playing on his Iphone. I asked the girl at the front desk if that was the maintenance man because, I had to leave and I'm waiting for him to fix the AC so I could go. She said that he was in a meeting with the manager. I got my soda and passed the front desk again. The same guy was playing on his Iphone and was joking around with somebody. I went back to my room and sure enough, it was the same guy. He did defrost the AC, but from these experiences, I've noticed that these employees like to play on their Iphones instead of working. Maybe they figure, everyone is in LV just to go gambling. I was there for a funeral, so I wasn't happy to be waiting on a guy just because he wanted to play on his Iphone. And the front desk girls told me that he is in a meeting when he was standing right behind them? Come on. Because of the experience I witnessed the night before, I wondered if the people at the front desk were complaining about me right out loud while he was fixing my AC like they did to the other family. There were things that the front desk could have told me when I first checked in like there is an exit at the back of the hotel (the front is on a one way street to the airport). I figured that out for myself on the second day. She could have told me that I needed the room key to work the lights. She could have asked me if I needed more towels and toiletries since I had a room full of people.

Okay, now for the final complaints. The pool was not heated. It was ice cold, so I didn't use it. The hotel doesn't have a hot tub either. However, the pool area had nice lounge chairs. If you go from the hotel corridor out to the pool, you can't get in the same way. It will lock you out. You have to walk to the side of the building. Not a big problem since it is not far, but that was strange. Our AC froze up in our second room, but it was fixed. The last complaint is the breakfast area. It was your basic continental breakfast with waffles. That's not the problem. The problem is the wall that they have it behind. The wall needs to be torn down. The breakfast items is in a very narrow hall and only a couple of people fit in there at one time. This is especially difficult if the hotel has a high amount of guests. The first morning, it was a nuisance. The next morning, it made things impossible. There is not enough seating when they have a large amount of guests as well. You might have to take it back to your room.

That all being said, I would stay here again. I hate the strip and I don't like staying on it. And the place where we boarded our dogs was right down the street. The biggest complaint that I have is the poor training of the hotel staff. Service needs to be improved.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms next to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanyaaaaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you had during your stay, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of the issues that you experienced and have fixed these so our future guest will experience the same. Thank you for your positive comments as well.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western McCarran Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western McCarran Inn

Property: Best Western McCarran Inn
Address: 4970 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western McCarran Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western McCarran Inn, conveniently located just minutes from the world famous Vegas Strip and adjacent to McCarran International Airport. Best Western McCarran Inn offers newly renovated guest rooms and superior customer service at an affordable price. Each of the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at this Las Vegas hotel features cable TV and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool or exploring all that Las Vegas has to offer. Best Western McCarran Inn also features free parking, free business center, and a complimentary shuttle to McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western McCarran Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mccarran Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing