We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western McCarran Inn
Ranked #79 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were looking for a small and convenient hotel near the airport, after a very long fligt with 2 connections. Excellent location and good value for short stay near airport. Great breakfast, apples and cold drink free at desktop. Shutlle service available.

Room Tip: . Shuttle service less frequent than other hotels, but they'll assist you when you call the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aletiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We're happy to have been of service and that we met all of your needs after a long and tiring flight. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope you will stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Booked this because I was driving out west, and my fiancée was flying in to McCarran to meet me, and this is practically right at the front door of the airport. (Honestly, you can be at pickup in 5 minutes) All was ok. Blonde front desk girl nice and friendly. Dark haired girl acted like I didn't exist. No matter. Had a room on the back corner (North East) of the hotel, third floor. When I noticed the dumpsters directly below me, I inquired if noise was going to be a problem. I was told no.

Saturday night was fine. Sunday's breakfast was OK, they even have hard boiled eggs, which is nice instead of just waffles or cereals. Monday morning, however, at 6:30am (mind you, AFTER I'd asked about this), we were awoken to loud banging and booming from the dumpsters being emptied. (sigh) Thanks. Why they don't move the dumpsters to one of the far corners of the parking lot is beyond me, but there you have it. We were getting up at 7am anyway, so while annoyed, I wasn't totally angry. (But again, I DID ask, and was told it'd be OK.)

Mind you, even with the dumpster noise, this end of the hotel might be your only choice. If you stay on the other end, the ice machine's in the hallway so you'll hear that *constantly*. (Why isn't it in a room to mask it's noise?) Stay on the front side, and you're facing the airport with it's noise. Note that on the backside of the place, I really didn't notice any airport noise.

The room itself was OK, even though on day two, the maid never properly refreshed things. (No washcloths, no hand towels, no new soaps or shampoo, but we did get bath towels and bathmat.)

The breakfast area is like getting your stuff in a hallway. It's VERY congested with any more than two people, so that can be a bit annoying. (Hint to guests... when you're making your waffle? Get the heck outta there instead of standing and watching the machine. It'll beep, you don't need to guard it like crown jewels. Make room for others.) The eating area is limited, but not too small. Overall, the breakfast was good enough, and constantly restocked. They also have some of the best motel coffee I've ever had.

All in all, despite it's shortcomings, this really is a decent place to stay. You're just moments from the strip (2 miles, 6 minutes), if that's what you're after. Clean, decent bed, shower worked well, sink is outside of bath/toilet area, so two can function in the morning without waiting for each other. We'd stay there again.

Also, when I complained about the room not being refreshed right, and the dumpster noise, the front desk girl (a different, shorter, dark haired one) immediately offered an apology and 6000 bonus BW points to make up for it. I was pleased with this quick reaction to the problem. Well done.

Room Tip: Pick the backside, third floor, but decide... ice machine noise (south end) or dumpster noise (north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We thank you for your in depth description of your stay. We're sorry that you disturbed by the noise. We do realize that everyone has a different level of noise sensitivity, which is why we provide ear plugs in each room. We are glad to have earned your overall approval, and will use the items mentioned to improve our services.

We hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was huge and looked out over the pool and it was nice and quiet. The bathroom was less than desirerable, it appeared to be half remodeled. Some of the title were refinished and some weren't. There was a lot of mold on grout and hardly any vanity area. Also the breakfast was disappointing very little protien and lots of sugar in everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwildlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious guest room. We appreciate your candid feedback regarding the restroom maintenance and your breakfast preferences. We will use your feedback to find ways to better serve the needs of our guests. Thank you and we hope that you will return to the Best Western McCarran Inn.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

So close to the airport and just a bit away from the strip. Staff was very nice and the free shuttle service was so great.
I would like to thank Liz and Patrick for making me feel very welcomed, i was lost at the airport the girl on the phone Liz, helped me and told me where to go the shuttle driver drove a few times around looking for me, thank you guys very much

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwillrateu209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that we provided all of the amenities that you needed while staying in Las Vegas. Thank you for your compliments to Liz and Patrick. We're very proud of our team members and love hearing about the different ways that they help and delight our guests. We hope you'll be back the next time you're in Las Vegas!

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July this is my 3rd visit to this hotel. The property was a refreshing change from the normal casino hotels in Vegas Loved the decor and the room was extremely comfortable. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was the best free breakfast I have ever had. Beats the usual free continental breakfasts. Close enough to The strip and other attractions. Very close to the airport. They have a free shuttle to the strip and the airport. Definitely will be back next time I'm in Vegas.

Room Tip: I've always had a room at the back of the hotel. Seems to very quite back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We're thrilled to hear that you've been our guest three times and won't hesitate to be back. Thank you for your kind comments and for letting other guests know that you enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast, and the shuttle service. We're so happy to be able to offer the services and amenities you need when traveling to Las Vegas.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here once before in 2010 and wrote a review. This was my second stay at the Best West McCarran, and unfortunately not as good a stay as the first.

I wound up staying here for New Year's Eve as it was the only reasonably priced place that wasn't booked up. I didn't hesitate on booking here after my first positive experience.

I had a room on the ground floor at the end of the hallway near the maid's station, and man was it ever noisy. Non-stop bangs, clangs, and people talking. I also felt the hotel was not nearly as clean as it was in 2010. My room was in good shape though, even if it was a big step down from my previous two bed room upstairs I had before.

Oh, and my computer got hacked (yes, hacked!) using their unprotected Internet. That caused me some major headaches. Be warned if you use your laptop here, use their business centre instead.

Their shuttle to the strip also ran at irregular times. On New Year's, the last shuttle pick up was at 1am. Really? How about at 2am, or 3. It is New Year's after all. I had to walk back to my hotel from the strip because I couldn't get a cab (all the roads were closed down on New Year's, and finding a cab was near impossible). That's not a walk I recommend anyone make under any circumstances for safety reasons.

I guess the score for this place is 1 and 1. I had one good visit here, and one bad visit. I'm not sure if I would stay again, and I was glad to check out when the time came.

There are lots of affordable places to stay in Vegas, and I'll look elsewhere next time.

All that said, the front desk crew was professional, and the shuttle driver was very kind. I feel it's only fair to mention that.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at the end of the hall near the maid's station. The second floor has nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_Guy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We're sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations since you had a positive expereince the first time around. I would like to say, since it has been over 6 months since your most recent visit, that we have continued to make improvements to the hotel. One of these improvements is a more secure internet system that includes a daily guest password. Shuttle schedules do change based on the needs of the majority of guests and aiport guests get priority over those who are going to the Strip. We always recommend checking the schedule with the Front Desk and having a back-up plan just in case. Please know that we are always making improvements (based on guest feedback ) and we are here to provide a service that will benefit the majority of guests. We know that there are times when we miss the mark and that we can't satisfy all of the people all of the time. But we sure do try!

We hope you'll stay again during New Years and I think you'll be happy to see that changes that we've made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I and my Aunt and Uncle stayed one night in the Inn. We booked two rooms and the front desk was very efficient as our family names are different but the reservations were under my name. Both my Aunt and Uncle ( visiting US from overseas) were checked in smoothly. The clerk checked them in efficiently and also ensured that my room was next to theirs. When I came an hour later the credit card for billing was moved over seamlessly.
The airport is close by and the shuttle runs conveniently.

The rooms were clean, large and airy. The clerk was helpful with food recommendations for our late dinner. We all slept well. I also swam in the pool early in the morning--it was clean and well maintained. The Inn is well maintained and clean. The breakfast was good but crowded possibly due to the time we went for breakfast.
The front checkout was efficient. I would stay at this property next time I fly into Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karma203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western McCarran Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and photos. Your information is very helpful to us and other travelers. We're happy to hear that we met all of your needs whilei n Vegas and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
Homewood Suites by Hilton Las Vegas Airport
Red Roof Inn Las Vegas
#124 of 264 in Las Vegas
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western McCarran Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western McCarran Inn

Address: 4970 Paradise Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $82 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western McCarran Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're already on a lucky streak when you check into this fantastic Las Vegas hotel that's convenient, affordable and luxurious.McCarran International Airport is only a few minutes away and so is the Las Vegas Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western McCarran Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mccarran Hotel Las Vegas
Best Western Las Vegas
Las Vegas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing