We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotch Heaven”
Review of Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic - CLOSED

Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic
Attraction details
GlobalRoamer2003
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Scotch Heaven”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Googling for venues with a good scotch selection I saw an article that only briefly mentioned the Attic, saying the selection was impressive.

"Impressive" doesn't do justice. Ladies and gents (scotch is no longer just a gentlman's drink!), for scotch lovers, the Whisky Attic is divine. With literally hundreds of different Scotch whiskies -- almost 400? 600? I forgot -- you're guaranteed to discover new tastes and new products of Scottish alchemy.

It's for private tastings or parties only -- but don't let that dissuade you. It's run by scotch lovers, for scotch lovers: give them a call, and they'll arrange a time to sample a few drams of heaven.

Adam (a Ph.D) has studied olafactory process and come up with a new method of tasting (Google and read about it: this could actually change the way gourmets everywhere taste wines and spirits!). Take a side trip off the strip, and enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRoamer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for coming in to visit! We currently have over 1,000 whiskies in the Attic! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A real hidden Gem.

I decided to visit this venue as part of my stag night in Vegas and it didn’t disappoint

JD our host was very knowledgeable about his Whiskeys & Bourbons. We did a flying a visit as we were there for only short on time, but for a whiskey fan it was like being in heaven. Next time I am down in Vegas I will 100% do the tour.

If you are not a whiskey lover they have over 1600 different beers something for everyone palate

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich1e_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed the Whisky Attic and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In love”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Came here with friends and was totally thinking it would be just another dive bar. Not only did they have a million beers to choose from but there is a stage for a live band, food ( which is really good considering its a bar) and the best of all..... THE WHISKEY ATTIC! This was amazing! Totally need to advertise this place more guys! What a gem.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trishia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for visiting! We're glad you enjoyed the Freakin' Frog and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,285 reviews
355 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace from the strip”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a bit of a dive bar, just off the UNLV campus, that has a beer/whisky selection that is anything but "dive bar-ish." We rarely order from the massive bottle list but instead always find something new, tasty and limited in the tap selections. They do offer happy hour specials too. Limited food selections but you're really here for the beer and whisky anyway. Great, quiet escape from noisy slot machines and choking smoke often found in bars on the strip. We typically see locals and UNLV professors stopping by here after work. Even if you’re on a budget, they will have something on tap that better priced than the strip and definitely better tasting. Also, do not try to walk here from the strip. Not even remotely kid-friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for visiting us and giving feedback! Our beers on tap change daily, and we currently have over 1200 beers in our cooler and 1000 whiskies in our Attic! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best apple cider I ever had!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Apple cider was just right on time to cut off our thirst! We were walking all day in Las vegas Boulevard and we were so tired... I needed a great quencher...well... the apple cider worked just fine... We had four four pitchers that day... It's a cool place to go with friends and have a good beer and have a great time! Thanks a lot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sapsticy19840331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We're glad that you had a great time! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freakin' Frog / Whisky Attic also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing