We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment ...”
Review of Rao's

Rao's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rao's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 4,821 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Strip
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a disappointment ...”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having been told that this was a very good restaurant, I was looking forward to really nice dinner before the show...
The young ladies who seat you are perfunctory at best. Even with my early seating we went past all, and I mean all, the nice seats to the furthermost back room in the restaurant to find that perfect seat right beside the waiter's station - you know, the worst seat in the house. The waiter was cordial and professional and tried to make the best of a really bad start; he knew. Then the food: Well, it was really quite ordinary. I even had the special. (Could that have been my mistake?). The fish was dry and over cooked. I routinely do better at home when I cook. And, predictably, it was expensive. Now, I expected, and would have been happy, to pay well for a fine meal. But the price was simply not worth the poor attitude on arrival, the bad seat and the very ordinary food. Give me a break. You have a better chance at a good experience with the slots than you do here. Don't do it; go somewhere else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank onthego005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    380
    231
    102
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Book yourself reservations when planning to dine here - i ended up eating at the bar due to the wait. Was a great dinner choice - food was good - nothing to rave about - but standard italian food. A safe choice for business meetings, or if you are with a picky group. The ambiance is very nice - i went with the puffed ravioli and it was declious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenniferh795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taglioline with Peas and Ham - excellent!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time at Rao's with a group of friends who've dined here before and loved the pasta. We had reservations and were seated right away in a backroom by the fireplace. Lively atmosphere but it sometimes made it hard to hear each other. We were looking forward to the pasta dishes and they did not disappoint.

Food highlights/lowlights:
Lemon chicken- large portion, a little on the too-lemony side
Gnocchi - large portion, good sauce
Taglioline with Peas and Ham - excellent
Steak- dry with "pizza sauce" as a topping

Overall it was a nice meal with your typical over-priced Vegas pricing.

One recommendation for them is to have a bartender open to making a drink they are not familiar with. I was more than happy to share how I've had a drink prepared in the past but he wasn't having anything to do with it. Being told "I've never heard of that in my life" and not willing to listen to what was in it (bourbon for example) is quite surprising to hear especially in a place called Las Vegas. No worries though- I found 2 other establishments who were more than willing to step up to the challenge and I appreciate their service and attitude. Thank you Gordon Ramsay Pub and Grill (Caesars) and B&B Ristorante (Venetian)!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweedinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bella!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice, warm welcoming into Rao's is the start of the great food experience! The friendly and attentive waitstaff are there for your every need. The generous family-style appetizers are only a prelude to the sumptuous entrees! The homemade pastas are superb as well as the veal piccata! Dessert was scrumptious, as I was served the largest slice of devils food cake for my birthday! A definite plus plus for Italian dining on the strip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmaldonado1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent setting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Didn't have reservations so we were seated at the bar to order dinner. Treated like special guest by the bartender. Place settings and all the trimming of a table meal. Excellent salads and mussels !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rao's also viewed

 
Las Vegas, NV
 

Been to Rao's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing