We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinct tastes, great food, very good service”
Review of Rx Boiler Room

Rx Boiler Room
Ranked #622 of 4,894 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Las Vegas Blvd South & Mandalay Bay Road
Description: In January 2005, the aquatic-chic restaurant, rm seafood joined the newest wave of world class restaurants at Mandalay Place. Award-winning seafood maestro, Rick Moonen, one of the hottest chefs at the helm, was lured from NYC to create rm seafood. A mecca for seafood lovers and hipsters alike, rm seafood is a relaxed rocking bistro atmosphere that also features a world-class sushi bar & coast-coast oysters at the raw bar. Sleek and fresh with a contemporary look, the restaurant is built from mahogany with lots of glass and reminiscent of yachts and wooden boats. Whether creating a new dish with fresh finds from America's best Fish Markets or praising the provenance and quality of eco-friendly seafood, Rick Moonen's passion for seafood is contagious. Reservations always recommended.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Distinct tastes, great food, very good service”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The service was very good and timed. Tastes distinct and absolutely great. However prices to high for the overall experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bjohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    154
    83
    77
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute rip off!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I cannot believe I am having to write this review. We wanted a good last meal in Vegas and decided to do it up. We figured if this place is owned by a Top Chef judge, it had to be good...WRONG!!! We spent $130 on two meals that were not good. My girlfriend had an Escarole/Crab soup appetizer which was $15 and was average. She had a $36 scallop entree (5 Scallops), which was very spicy, tasted ok, but was nothing special. She did have a good Lemondrop Martini, which ended up being the best part of the meal. I was "upsold" by our waiter Paul. I had a $13 Caesar Salad, which was average, and then the $34 Salmon entree. My Salmon filet was small and after I began to eat it, I realized it was totally raw! I didn't want to be a pain, but I asked Paul if they "would mind" cooking it through for me. He apologized profusely and had someone else bring it back to me a few minutes later, cooked, but no longer appealing. Paul asked if Id like something else, but we had already been there quite a while and I had lost my appetite. He brought us our $110 check and apologized once again. He knew the meal was bad. You could see it in his mannerisms, but he did very little to correct the problem. I don't know how a person can look someone in the eye, knowing they just ripped that person off. He offered us two cookies for the road in an attempt to make us feel better? Guess he felt guilty me leaving him a 20% tip even after being exploited like we were?
RM Seafood couldnt hold a candle to the seafood we have in Cape May! Their prices are outrageous, and Top Chef should be fired!!! They should be ashamed taking people's money like that!!! Eat somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j1105tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The seafood was great and the service was wonderful. We had a big group and our waiter was very attentive and give us excellent service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Food was average considering the cost . Staff were over the top and in your face.wine was served in glass beakers,no proper wine glasses. Waiters hovered looking for tips even though service charged is included.not recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank elliemacbellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seafood lunch at 3 PM”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I were seeking seafood (high quality) at 3 PM. Not easy to find in Las Vegas on Sunday. I tried to book a table at my fav Bellagio spot and they were MIA due to time. They suggested we hit RM in Mandalay Bay. RM is Rick Moonen's Seafood). LOVED IT. Worth the long cab ride from our hotel. Wine by the glass was superb. Food excellent. Eric, who served us, was fun and did a terrific job.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinbayvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rx Boiler Room also viewed

 

Been to Rx Boiler Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing