We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food OK - Way Way Overpriced - Good Atmosphere”
Review of Wing Lei

Wing Lei
Reserve with OpenTable
Wing Lei is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #257 of 4,825 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Las Vegas Boulevard So. and Sands Avenue
Transit: 24/7 Las Vegas Public Transit; the Deuce and Express Bus stops outside on Las Vegas Boulevard.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food OK - Way Way Overpriced - Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've eaten at a lot of Chinese restaurants (both downscale and upscale). We wanted to try Wing Lei as it is the only Michelin rated Chinese restaurant in North America. The Wing Lei in the Wynn Macau is the best upscale restaurant in Macau (eaten there a few times and always great) so I thought Wing Lei in Las Vegas could be even better given its Michelin rating. Granted, the atmosphere of the restaurant is very good. And our waiter was excellent (so still had to tip well despite terrible value for food quality...which leads to my main comment...) The food was "OK"... the quality of the ingredients were very good. But man I can't believe the chef deserves to even be working in an upscale restaurant...let along Michelin rated??? If you just don't care about money/value and simply want to dine in a very elaborate Chinese restaurant with great service then Wing Lei would fit. But expect average taste... For me/us we are "foodies" first and we would definitely not be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    64
    51
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Temporary buffet until Jan 2”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wing Lei is a Chinese gourmet restaurant normally open for dinner only. For dinner it is sold out till Jan 2. However it is open for lunch as a dim sum buffet until Jan 2.

Hours : 11 AM - 3 PM
Price : Adults $58.88
Children $38.88
Location: Wynn, Las Vegas

Used to Chinatown prices elsewhere we were put off but went anyway due to having to use up a $600 dining credit. It was an eye-opener. It's hard to associate a top buffet price with "good value" but I'll endeavor to convince you why you should catch this little gem before it disappears.

Dim sum buffet seems to imply an all-u-can-eat dim sum but we were wrong. Yes it is dim sum PLUS a buffet that includes lobster, crab, lamb, duck, napa cabbage, etc in other words higher-end selections that you expect at this price range. Every selection that I made was done well & much better than normal buffet fare. (E.G. Caesar's Bacchanal Buffet doesn't have lobster, nor the service nor the flavor.) I do have to say something about the service will which Wynn is known for. At the serving stations, the servers took the time to explain each dish when asked. One time my wife wondered aloud to me about a dessert, they sent someone over to ask about it & apologized when they didn't have it.

Dim Sum
I guess you want to know about the dim sum which took a back seat when it finally dawned on us that we were at one of the best buffets we've ever had. Dim sum was also excellent with notable selections of lobster dumpling, char shui bow (best ever), shark fin dumplings (refused on principle), shu mai with truffles mixed & many of the traditional dim sum selections.

Guess I could go on & on but the best indicator of how much we liked it was I hope we have time to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calnevatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok - not worth the money though”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very expensive restaurant for ok food. Spring rolls weren't anything to write about, ribs not particularly tender, sea bass was good, general tso's not great at all, lemon chicken very good.
Over $200 for 2 people, 2 courses, 1 bottle of wine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RCA7600507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Above average Chinese food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for exceptional Chinese food, try this place. The spring rolls are wonderful. The Mongolian beef was perfect, with delicious flavors and just the right amount of kick.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rating based more on service than the cuisine”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Service and ambiance impeccable. We ordered the duck tasting menu and it left us a little underwhelmed (and hungry). Would try again with one of the seafood dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Ima_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing Lei also viewed

 

Been to Wing Lei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing