We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but don't eat at the restuarant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I am a returning customer. Great check in, huge, nice rooms with full kitchen, living area, bedroom and bath. Quite hotel off strip, but only a 3 block walk to strip. Little casino wth lower limits and great homemade beer next store (Ellis Island).

My only complaints are:

1. The pool area is all shade until the sun peeks over the bldg at 10:45am. By that time, they day is very hot. I wish the sun was out earlier when cooler.
2. Bad service at restuarant. we ate poolside at 11:00am for lunch. We were the only diners at this time. We alerted a waiter to wait on us. He came out and took our drink order, came back 15 minutes later to take our order, came out 10 minutes later and said they just ran out of tuna (I ordered the tuna salad), and reconmended that I order the Apple Salad with chicken. I did, and received a salad about the size of a dinner salad with 5 small cubes of chicken, lettuce, dressing, candied pecans. Where were the apples? Oh well, I didn't send it back. He didn't check on us and came back with the bill. We added two orders of bread pudding. Our ticket was $39 for diet coke, smoothie, 1/2 sand/soup combo, apple salad, 2 bread puddings. Way over priced. The bread pudding was simply a chocochip muffin with cream sauce poured over it.

Great location, Great hotel, Poor food service and the food is overpriced. Eat next door at Ellis Island. Great diner, low low cost, or walk 3 blks to strip and get better food and service.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank brianxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,153 - 3,159 of 3,784 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

Just wanted to say we just recently returned from a very relaxing, and nice time from our stay at the Platinum hotel and Spa for 4 days/3 nights, July 28-July 31. My family consisted of myself, my spouse and my 3 children. We had stayed at the Platinum a few times, but recently in April 2009 which was a nice stay, but we did have a small issue with the communication and understanding of the incidental deposit charge. (Make sure you have $100/night set aside on your credit card for the deposit-most hotels/resorts with nice rooms do charge about this amount). I spoke to one of the managers about the issue, and after a detailed survey, was graciously re-invited back to the Platinum with a comp night stay. Also, depending on availability, it's possible to get a comp upgrade. It appeared to me that the management here does stand behind the value of customer satisfaction.

The hotel has valet parking in which the attendants provide nice personable service, & if you stay long enough they really know you by name, which is always nice. Just make sure to have a dollar or so for a tip here-and-there (unless you hit the big bucks!). On several occasions, the clerks at the Front Desk have accommodated ALL of my requests. Our 1st night, we stayed in a Solitaire Ste & had addtl reservations to change to the Princess Ste. At check in, Juan had pre-arranged a smooth transition to change rooms ahead of time. We turned in the keys from the Solitaire room & Eva gave us the new keys for the Princess Ste with prompt bellhop service without having to leave the hotel for hours and return at the next check-in time. Awesome service!

We haven't had the experience at the lounge or the restaurant yet, but definitely made good use of the full kitchen with everything, except antibacterial liquid. We even used the washer and dryer this time (in the Princess Ste). Loved the fact that dad & the kids had their own areas to sleep in (sep by a door) and their own t.v. The pool was excellent! The temperature was great, and my kids loved going back and forth from the outdoor side, to the indoor side. We even stayed to the new extended hours, 11pm.

Using the huge jacuzzi tub (fits 2 adults) in the large dbl-sink bathroom the next day was a treat. Room service even brought us extra towels and bedding at almost 8pm at night. We all loved the views from the balcony. Even though it was hot in July, it was still so nice to just stand out there and see the lights and feel the atmosphere from out on the balcony, especially from the 9th to the 17th floor. On our way out, I was able to meet with the manager and thanked her for a GREAT stay, and she even did a restaurant search for us and provided us with a print out of directions.

Much thanks to Claire and her team at the Platinum. They really did it for us this year. They enhanced our stay which was uplifting during these hard times in 2009. This is our top pick for Las Vegas, and we'll definitely be back.

A.P.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaWhoLovesToDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Platinum to celebrate our anniversary. While we were very impressed with the reviews we had seen and the descriptions on their website, this hotel fell far short of all our expectations. We booked the together forever package which was to include our suite, a couples massage, chocolate covered strawberries and wine, and breakfast in the morning.

Upon arriving to the hotel to check in after requesting a king sized bed we were told by the woman at the front desk that rooms type are not a guaranteed and are just a request. If we wanted we could upgrade to a higher floor for additional money and she could get us a king sized bed, otherwise we would have to take the two queens. We went ahead and paid the additional $20 for the upgraded room on the higher floor which ended up having a view of the power plant across the street.

After requesting at check-in that the strawberries and wine be sent up to the room, and being told they would arrive shortly, they finally arrived a mere one hour later. We then attempted to book our couples massage in the spa for that evening only to find out that 1) they cannot accommodate two massages at the same time (no staff), we had to book one after the other and 2) the spa was already closed for the night (6pm) and we would have to wait until the next day if we wanted to get our massages.

We decided to try and salvage our already losing battle to celebrate our anniversary by heading over to the strip and have a romantic dinner and take in a few sights. We had an exceptional dinner at Three Olives inside Bellagio (A+++) and greatly enjoyed the fountains and our trip up the Eiffel Tower. This was without a doubt the best part of our stay, being outside of the hotel!

However, upon returning to the hotel we were amazed by the number of kids in the lobby and inquired as to who else was in the hotel. We were told a bunch of sports teams were in for the weekend. Throughout the night we continually heard kids up and down the hallway bouncing balls, making lots of noise and making it absolutely unbearable to sleep. We called the front desk several times to report the noise and were told that they would send someone up, however it never ended and it was a horrible night.

The next morning tired and hungry we headed to the restaurant to have breakfast. The service in the restaurant is an absolute joke. We ordered and saw our server once to drop off the juice, after that we waited for almost 30 minutes before I finally got up to ask were our food was. The restaurant wasn't even that busy maybe 10 to 15 others in there as well. I was told it would be right out, however, it still took another 10 minutes before we were served. The food was only luke warm and I was just ready to go home.

My wife suggested that we just pack up and head home as who only knew what would happen if we went for our massages and since we couldn't have our "couples massage" together it really wasn't worth all the hassle.

We went to the front desk to check out and had been told by the woman at check-in to charge everything to the room and all would be taken care of. But to our surprise when we looked over the bill our credit card and already been charged for the strawberries, wine and breakfast. The woman at the desk quickly removed the charges from our card and told us the systems had posted them in error.

We just received our credit card statement in the mail and the charge which was supposedly removed for the services has now reappeared on our card. I called the hotel several times last week and tried to speak with someone in accounting as the front desk manager said she could not remove the charges from our card and I still have yet to hear back after leaving three messages for some woman that never seems to be available.

In all for the amount of money we spent to have an enjoyable anniversary in a nice off strip hotel we are now wishing we had just booked at a lower rate at one of the mega resorts and called it even. We would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone as the service level is well below where it should be for the price paid and all the extra hassles are just not worth it. I don’t know who’s in charge of this place but it would do them good to take in a good dose of their own customer service and learn from it. Needless to say we will not be returning to the Platinum any time soon and who knows when well hear about the credit card issue!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lvfunones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at the Platinum due to its' high ratings on TA. I was a little skeptical at first because it is a non-gaming hotel. I was pleasantly surprised and it definitely lived up to the high ratings. This hotel is exceptional, and I guarantee you will not be disappointed staying here. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Bally's 4 corners, so you still feel as if you're staying on the strip, but far enough to get a break from the crowds. By far the cleanest hotel that we have ever stayed at, and the rooms are huge! I think the suites at Platinum could qualify as apartments in Las Vegas. Each suite has a full kitchen, dining area, living room, separate bedroom, and the bathroom is humongous. The service at Platinum is outstanding. We arrived before check-in time and our room was not ready. We decided to wait in the lounge until it was ready. Unfortunately the bar was not open yet, but the bartender who was preparing to open made an exception and served us while we waited. My wife and I were treated as VIP clients as we waited for our room. I love the loud, smokey, action packed casinos as much as anyone. But it was very nice to stay at the Platinum to get a nice break from the casino environment when it was time to get some sleep. Very quiet and relaxing place to stay. My wife and I have been to Las Vegas about a dozen times, and staying at the Platinum was the best choice that we ever made.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marines98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed at the Platinum for the third time in June and had another great trip. The spacious rooms and full kitchens are a huge bonus when staying at the Platinum. You just can't get a room that spacious on the Strip. We loved having the fridge to store drinks and leftovers. The location of the hotel is right off the center of the Strip. The first time we stayed at the Platinum we were worried about the walk to the Strip, but the key is to walk into Bally's sports book section and from there you can walk through Bally's to the Strip and everything Vegas has to offer.

LOVED the pool at the Platinum. We never had a problem getting a great spot at the pool, and it offered a very relaxing environment. The food that was available at the pool was also fabulous, great spot to enjoy lunch. The pool at the Platinum was a wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of the Strip.

Another great feature of the Platinum is that it's located next to a wonderful hidden gem of Vegas: Ellis Island. This restaurant/casino looked a little skechy from the outside, but after many trips, we have decided it is one of the best food values in Vegas. They have a bbq deal where you can get full slab of ribs for under $15 and then they have $1.50 beers all the time! We also discovered the pizzeria takeout portion of Ellis and was able to bring back a great dinner (great value) to enjoy at the hotel.

Overall, great service, convenient location, relaxed atmosphere, and fun times at the Platinum once again!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank Redstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed here recently, and all I can say is wow. This place was definitely a great escape. It's the perfect balance of traditional Las Vegas and your everyday vacation. During the day, we were able to walk to the Strip (take advantage of going through Ballys on hot days), and if we wanted to, we were far enough away that the commotion wasn't even heard. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a mix of all the Las Vegas has to offer. Clean rooms, friendliest staff, and a pool with an amazing view.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzochowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Platinum Hotel was once again a great stay! This was our second visit to this property and it was just as great as the first time. We are officially calling this our home away from home. We spent the entire time on the property. Service was excellent from entry to Kilowat restaurant to security. Valet and bell hops aim to please. We love The Platinum! Looking forward to our visit in October...this time we'll be checking out the Spa Facilities. Thank you to Eva, Matt, Jessica, Stir Staff, Chris @ security, Alex (whom promptly fixed our AC) and countless others for providing such wonderful service each and everytime we visit!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polygurl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,850 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,434 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $153 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing