We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve at the Platinum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at the Platinum”
Reviewed January 1, 2009

My wife and I spent 11 days in Las Vegas, arriving 21 Dec and leaving 1 Jan. For a treat, we stayed at The Platinum Hotel and Spa for the 30th and 31st of December. When I booked, I made sure we were given a suite that faced the strip so we could see the fireworks display at midnight of the 31st - the hotel is due east of Bally's. We were given a room at the top - the 17th floor. We had a Princess Suite, 1005 square feet with separate bedroom (very comfortable bedding and pillows), bathroom, and full kitchen/living room. AND a washer dryer which proved very handy at the end of our 11 day trip. The bathroom was a treat - the jetted tub was plenty roomy for two. The kitchen had a full size fridge with water and ice dispenser, full oven/range, a huge sink, coffee maker (one of those thermos style pots that keeps the coffee fresh for hours) a bar/counter with 4 barstools - and plenty of room for 4. The living room had a big plasma tv (though the bedroom had a standard television) and a desk with wired internet hookup (12.99 for 24 hours, 6.99 for two hours). There is also a balcony off the living room, with a table and 4 chairs - we were on the balcony as New Years arrived, watching the fireworks displays and listening to the toots, hollars, and hurrahs. We loved the space and NON SMOKING atmosphere (the fine for smoking in the rooms is $500) of the room. We'd stayed in smaller rooms for the other 9 nights. As chance would have it, the room did present a couple of challenges - the toilet was clogged when we arrived (high efficiency = easy to clog??) and took 20 applications of the PROVIDED plunger to clear. On the morning of the 31st, we were awakened at 8am by a sound outside our window which turned out to be Engineering doing some rope pulley work - my first two calls to the front desk received a 'we don't know what it is, we'll call security'. When I called a third time to report I'd seen what appeared to be a rappelling rope outside of our window, I was told "hasn't enigineering called you?" - and was assured we could move if we wanted to AND that the work was going to be very short in duration. We were relieved to find that 'No, we weren't in a room next to someone who wanted to climb the side of the hotel as a new years stunt. Total hassle time for those two glitches: 12 hours out of a 72 hour stay. These things happen to us - little challenges. STILL, it was the nicest room we stayed in during our trip - AND the room service was quick and priced right - (we tried to get an early dinner at 5 pm at the restaurant on premises on New Years Evening, but the restaurant was set up to open at 6pm for a special New Years Eve dinner)- no worries, we returned to our room and got in room dining. The staff we interacted with - front desk, bellman, concierge, room service, and a couple of employees we ran into on the elevator - all made it a point to be friendly. This room compared very favorably with other $300+ per night rooms we stayed in. This is the most we've ever paid for a room in Vegas - but realize this is the first time we extended our Christmas trip through New Years - We've stayed at Wynn, Bellagio, Mandalay Bay, The Hotel, Paris and our overall favorite, the Venetian - Would we treat ourselves to a suite at the Platinum again for New Years Eve? Yes we would.

  • Liked — Everything you'd want in a room.
  • Disliked — The clogged toillet and the 8am disruption.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ltldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,484
    861
    200
    60
    47
See reviews for
921
1,433
143
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

My niece and I were first-time Vegas travellers and wanted to stay at a non-gambling, non-smoking property. Chose this place as very competitive price, great location just behind strip (Bally's back entrance a quick 5 min. walk) and large room with all amenities - bonus balcony. When we first arrived at 1 am after our delayed flight from Canada, we were given a room on the 3rd floor which overlooked electrical stations ie ugly view; returned to front desk and manager changed us to higher floor with a view overlooking the strip (in the distance). We were delighted - much quieter and nicer. Kitchen outfitted with everything we needed for quick breakfast or fast supper before heading for our evening shows. 7 Eleven around the corner for quick meals. Saved a bundle plus lots of time. Staff all very helpful. Clean and a definite gem off the hustle bustle of the strip. Didn't eat in their restaurants. Jacuzzi tub great. Would def stay here on return visits.

  • Liked — Room amenities ie kitchenette, refrigerator
  • Disliked — Lower floor view of electrical wires
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This is a great place to stay in Las Vegas. It's not far from the mid-strip casinos, around 10 minutes waling. However, Bally's back door entrance is very useful.
The suites are huge. In december there was not many people neither at the lobby bar or the pool area but i'm sure it must be great in summer time. Strip views are nice but i don't think i would pay 40 dollars per day more than a mountain's view suiet.
I haven't tried the restaurant but i went to the SPA area (no jacuzzi there) and it's very relaxing. Staff was useful and friendly.In the morning we had a flight at 8 am. They've vans for direct transport to the airport (15 dollars).

  • Liked — Rooms are huge
  • Disliked — no free internet access. No european TV channels
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

It is a nice place to stay. The one bedroom suite is very big. The whirlpool tub is a surprise to us.

  • Liked — balcony view; whirlpool tub
  • Disliked — kitchen utilities are not very complete.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

This hotel exceeded our expectations!! Having a nice spa bath with separate shower was great. The true bonus was the 50-inch flat screen in the living room over the electric fireplace. Valet service was the best I've ever experienced. All the employees really seem to go out of their way to make our stay superb. The only thing which would have made the stay perfect was a better view of the Strip; other than that, no complaints whatsoever.

  • Liked — Deluxe Suite was larger than expected.
  • Disliked — Paying for Internet access.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djone103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Great place to stay only one block behind the strip, behind Ballys. $2 Shuttle stops at front door. Great value. Go for the $150 suite with flat screens and in suite jacuzzi.

Only miss is the lack of free wireless and horrible business center because they charge you by the minute for scanning, printing, or using the computer.

If you're on business and at a conference then use the conference center wifi.

The restaurant and bar are very nice. Also ask for the special breakfast menu which is a lot cheaper and just as good.

Service and customer care are great. I brought my wife and she loved it.

  • Liked — The price vs. location
  • Disliked — High cost business center
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Absolutely Magnificent! This Hotel was so beautiful and relaxing.
The best hotel I have stayed at in Vegas. Please experience it for yourself. We got to check in early and they upgraded us to the princess suite for no extra charge because it was my Birthday I was so shocked and surprised. Everything was so great from the kitchen, bathroom, huge big jazzci size tub and very soft beds we had a very relaxing sleep. We enjoyed watching the basket ball game on the big plasma tv and enjoyed the bose radio. We hated to leave the room but when we came back it was so relaxing. Friday we had drinks and food and the bose radio was the dj. Saturday after shopping and sightseeing we came back to the room and chilled and had more drinks and took advantage of the nighttime view before we hit the town. All the staff were so nice. Our room was overlooking the pool and strip very nice.

  • Liked — Everything was great.
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Aebutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,573 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,202 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
15,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
23,794 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Property: Platinum Hotel and Spa
Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing