We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Beautiful suites, checkin very friendly and very efficient, we had booked Solitaire suite with twin beds but there were none available, we were upgraded to a larger strip view Princess suite provided with rollaway bed all at no extra cost, this worked out much better as my husband & I had a kingsize bed in the main bedroom; in the lounge area my 10 year old daughter had double sofa bed & my 12 year old son had the single rollaway. Plus this suite had a washing machine and dryer with free detergent topped up on request (so we brought back cases full of clean clothes (a holiday first). We were on the 9th floor with views to the pool. The cleaner was perfect, if we left little notes requests were met ie dishwasher tablets etc. The dishwasher was emptied or if we had put on a wash & it had finished it would be emptied and put plates away, fluffy towels replaced, toiletries replaced. Wish I could have a daily cleaner at home, felt totally spoilt. The pool was great to have a cool afternoon dip after being out in the heat, towels are provided at poolside so no need to take your own beach towels. We stayed for 10 nights and loved every minute, having 2 x TV's and Bose music system along with lots of space, we found it very relaxing, getting ready in the morning/evening was stress free. Only shame was we had to come home.Tips - Ellis Island nextdoor fab for breakfast or eating at anytime as its open 24hours, traditional American atmosphere and very good value and huge fruit platter $9 enough for 4, steaks tender $7. Seven Eleven great for stocking up the huge American fridge which has a water dispenser so no need to buy bottled water. Recommend Big Horn Wild West Tours for Hoover Dam & Grand Canyon Tours in a Hummer, picked up from Hotel, check out www.bighornwildwesttours.com (better than going by plane as given flight slots time at tour is rushed to enable return flight) this company is very organised and nothing rushed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,253 - 3,259 of 3,782 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

First let me say sorry for writing this so late. It is only because we have just booked to go back that I realised I had not written the review for last time!

We stayed 19th-26th December, we booked direct and reserved a solitaire suite with a limited view (cheapest).

We were upgraded to a princess suite with a mountain view, which was huge.

The suite was well equipped with full kitchen including a full size fridge/freezer with built in ice maker. The bath was big enough to swim in! and had jacuzzi jets, very good for soaking after long walks up and down the strip.

The pool was great it was December and the pool was heated, it had an indoor and outdoor part and a large heated jacuzzi, towels were provided in huge hampers. You could swim in hte pool and watch as the lights came on at the strip - amazing.

Service was exceptionally from the reception to the door staff, must mention Claire on reception who was always so friendly. We were staying with our 6 year old son and everyone always remembered his name - nice touch.

The hotel is just a 10 min walk from the strip, and you can just nip in Bally's to catch the monorail which is very handy.

On our final day we could not get a taxi so one of the doormen drove us to the airport in the hotel car - wonderful service

If you want execellent amenities, friendly staff, non smoking, close to the strip, do not look any further, this is a great hotel and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zippy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We arrived late and had booked two queen beds. They said we don't have any rooms with 2 queen beds so we'll upgrade you to a king. Then we were given a terrible room overlooking the roof of the restaurant. They play music by the pool - ALL NIGHT, and guess what is next to the restaurant - the pool! So we got a view of standpipes and tar paper and got to listen to thumping disco music probably till about 3 am when I put in my earplugs.

We complained and were given another room which had - BROKEN AIR CONDITIONING. It was 105 outside and about 90 in the room. The air compressor was broken, would come on for about 2 minutes and then die making a loud banging noise. We only had to stay in that room one night so we decided to tough it out and sleep in 90 degree heat. My husband grabbed one of the faucet handles in the bathroom and - voila! It was attached to nothing. The whole thing was just sitting on the granite counter - not attached to piping (there was no plumbing under the sink) - just sitting there like a display model. We were joking - hey, too bad it doesn't match our home decor - free handle!

The person at the front desk was less than helpful and kept saying "Man, we upgraded you the first night and we upgraded you again for no charge." When we told him the air conditioning was broken in the room he comp'ed us breakfast. Whoopee.

I would not recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TannednRested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25oo, Guest Relations Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2008

Dear Tannednrested

I was very disappointed to read about the difficulties you experienced while visiting the Platinum Hotel and Spa. The hotel does have music on the pool deck, however it automatically shuts off at 11PM. Although we received no other reports of the problem you mentioned, if the system malfunctioned I certainly apologize.

In an effort to be more planet friendly our rooms feature a device that once the room key is inserted turns on the air conditioning unit. If you can forgive us and would consider returning to the Platinum I would be happy to extend a special offer to you.

Please contact me directly at 702.365.5000.
Claire Nagel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Can't beat the size of the rooms and the overall class of this great hotel. Everyone we encountered on the staff was a pleasure to deal with. From the front desk who upgraded our room, to the valets to the restaurant manager and staff, we were treated like welcome guests at mostly all turns. Except...

There was only one negative: we ordered room service at about 11:30 pm and were told it was really busy and would take about a half hour to get to our room. Fair enough. However, the food did not arrive until 1:15 am and the girl that delivered it was a little less polished, as she said nothing besides telling me about extra charges I was incurring for the room service. I would have disputed had I not been so tired from falling asleep while waiting for the food to arrive.

Everything else was so spectacular that I was able to overlook this and enjoy our short stay. I would just hope that Platinum trains their entire staff to the high standards that they strive for. I would recommend Platinum, especially to anyone who wants a great place away from the bustle of the Strip, yet still close enough to it when/if you want it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Nice place, great price for what you get, good size suites with full kitchens and amenities, especially if you get upgraded. My daughter and most of our group were upgraded to larger suites with washer/dryers in them. All of the suites have a shower AND a fantastic double size hot tub.. .bring bubble bath and champagne for a fun night!
One tip.. don't let them give you a handicap room unless you need one..our 1st night they put us on the 2nd floor in a handicap room and it was noisy and the closets were only 1/2 height, so my dresses wouldn't hang up. I didn't want to unpack in the middle of the night so waited a until morning to complain. They moved us to another (quieter) room right away. Ask them (when you're checking in) for a room on one of the upper floors unless they are 100% booked (unlikely in this economy).
The staff at the front desk, the concierge, and the valets were all friendly and helpful...nice people. BUT it was another story at the lobby bar. The bar man was in a bad mood both times we went ..he was actually pretty disagreeable in general and acted like he was doing us a favor to serve us drinks. If I were you..I'd go to Ballys or Tuscany next door and get better drinks and less aggravation. ..hopefully he'll be either gone or in a better mood by the time you go.
The location of the hotel itself is fine, a little off the beaten track, but not far from the middle of the strip and you can catch the "Duce" bus about a block up from the hotel that will take you almost anywhere on the strip or to downtown. The 24hr pass is only $5.00.
The pool area is nice, but somewhat hot in the summer as it's on a roof top and there's no greenery to cool things off.
All in all I'd stay there again, but ask for a room on the 10th to 17th floor as they are quieter and if the same bar man is there..I'd go next door for drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gilroypalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed five nights and found the Platinum an excellent choice, we prefer an off strip hotel in Vegas and this is the best we have stayed in to date.
The reception staff were extremely helpful at all times, we had a prepaid rate and there was no suggestion of any extra charges, the room we had gave us a good view of the Strip looking northwards.
The accommodation is top class with even the smallest suite-Solitaire-having its own balcony, sitting room, American kitchen with all amenities, separate bedroom, bathroom with whirlpool bath and separate shower and twin hand basins.
There are flat screen televisions in the sitting room and bedroom, with a Bose radio in the sitting room.
The location is approximately 10-15 minutes walk from the Bellagio/Ballys/Caesars Palace/Flamingo junction on the Strip.
There was no shortage of taxis from the front door and there was a public bus stop right outside the hotel.
For any last minute items or grocery needs there is a 7Eleven right next door.
Valet parking is compulsory but free, a small tip to the car guys is all thats needed, there was no big waiting time for your car to brought round.
The bar area is very modern but quiet, there is a range of food available here.
The pool area was very nicely furnished on the fifth floor, there is a waitress service for food and drinks here also
The only criticism we could make was the nearly four Dollars per minute for use of the Hotels computer in the busines centre, if you don't want the hassle of dragging your lap top with you this is an expensive way to access your e-mails.
Overall an excellent property for the price which we booked through Hotels.com and would definitely recommend it.
.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ramoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at the Platinum for 4 nights in June and were given a suite on the 16th floor with views of the strip. This was wonderful especially in the evening where we could just manage to see the water fountain show at the Bellagio from our bedroom window. Our suite was lovely with a big, comfortable bed. Thought the spa bath was huge but never actually had time to use it. The hotel was lovely and quiet and felt good to come back to a smoke free enviroment after having spent an evening in the strip casinos which although didn't appear smokey,always had the smell of smoke. I am a disabled traveller and asked the concierge if they could arrange a motorised scooter for me to get around, which they did very efficiently,which for us was probably the only negative about being off the strip as it restricted modes of transport other than walking. Would recommend the hotel if you are fit and able bodied.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,842 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,433 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $152 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing