We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Guest Services Rocked at the Platinum Hotel and Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Guest Services Rocked at the Platinum Hotel and Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I just called the Platinum to ask some questions about my upcoming reservation. Tami at guest services was incredibly helpful. She answered all of my questions and couldn't have been nicer. She was my first contact with the Platinum Hotel and it was a very positive experience. I am looking forward to our upcoming stay at this hotel; I hope all of the staff is as wonderful as Tami.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    778
    183
    57
    42
See reviews for
816
1,306
135
462
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early December in a Strip View Solitaire Suite. As mentioned by many other reviewers the suite was huge and very comfortable. Lots of space, amazing bathroom, and wonderful to have the kitchen, even though we mostly used only the refrigerator.

We arrived at the hotel around noon, and went to the desk to see if, by any chance, our room was ready. We were "helped," and I use that term loosely, first by a clerk who was pretty sure, before she even checked, that nothing would be ready. We asked her to check anyway; she humored us and said something might be ready in fifteen minutes. We proceeded to check in; she proceeded to drop our credit card down into a very small opening between the computer monitor and the desk. My husband (not the clerk, who made very little effort to extricate the card) finally managed to retrieve it after several minutes. The clerk then asked for photo ID and tried to insist the driver's license be taken out of the wallet and handed to her. We declined, not wanting a repeat of her dropping it down into the small space. She somewhat sulkily managed, but it was clear that she was annoyed with us. After the paperwork was completed, this clerk told another young lady, Melody, who was working at the next desk, that Housekeeping would call when the room was ready, and then the first clerk left the lobby without another word to us.

It turns out that Melody was originally from our area, so we had a nice conversation about home town things. While Melody then dealt with a few other duties, we checked out the lobby and had a seat to wait for the room to be ready. When Housekeeping had not called after a bit, Melody followed up and found us a room that was ready and assured us that the view was a good one. We were concerned that the view from room 702 wouldn't be of the Strip since it wasn't on one of the higher floors, but we were near the end of the hotel building and could see pretty much from one end of the Strip to the other. I can't say enough good things about Melody's customer service.

We had lunch that day and two breakfasts at the hotel dining room on the 5th floor. The food and prices were both good; prices especially considering where we were.

The walk from the Platinum to the strip is a longish one but if you cut through Bally's it seems to save some steps. The only off-putting thing about the location is that we passed, on both sides of the street, a couple of groups of people who were either homeless or very down on their luck. One group of men had over-served themselves and were "conversing" with passing pedestrians. Nothing that was said was threatening but it was uncomfortable. This certainly is not under the control of the hotel; if you do walk down the side of the street that the hotel is on and then cut through the casino employees parking lot and Bally's you can avoid the two areas that seem to be gathering places.

All in all, we were pleased with our stay at the Platinum.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No casino for us is a huge plus. We aren’t gamblers, and hate cigarette smoke. If you want to gamble it will require a walk or a drive from here but it's entirely do able.

Restaurants: We didn't try the hotel ones as we brought some food, and met friends for dinner in Henderson. You can walk to Sam Selzers steak house, and perhaps Bahama breeze. The view from our room on the 15th floor was pretty cool. We saw the approach of a lot of planes into Vegas.

The regular sized suite is still pretty darn generous in size. I am sure it’s larger than any suite hotel I’ve been in. Full kitchen let us bring food from home (we are 5-6 hours away) and have breakfast in the room at our leisure. Home coffee.

The massive bath tub I just want to bring home. I got some bath salts and was in it every night. There’s room for two!

Families would love this place as it makes Vegas almost family friendly. (I say almost, because let’s face it, when you think Las Vegas, do you think, “ooh! Let’s take our five year old twins!”

Maid service impressed me greatly. The first day they added a cushy bath rug and noticed what shampoos, etc we used and replaced those. Little things like this matter.
FREE valet parking. Seriously. Great, great staff. Cookies at night. VERY quiet.

This was our second time here and we will be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above 12 for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for being one of our loyal repeat guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here the weekend before christmas to celebrate my bday and had an amazing experience. The room was everything and more. Great fantastic view...non gambling like I wanted but still walking distance to The Strip.

When we checked in, Alexa greeted us with a huge smile and when we let her know that the tub was not clean once we got into our room...she sent housekeeping right up to take care of it. For the inconvience later on they sent up complimentary dessert and champagne since we were celebrating my bday. Overall....I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deezer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad you had a great birthday stay at our hotel. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Platinum is a non-gaming suite hotel, 2 blocks off the strip on Flamingo. Very spacious suite, with full kitchen and nice living room. Staff was incredibly friendly, and the place was quiet. Only complaint is that the kitchen was not furnished well so it made it a bit challenging with family of 4. But perfect place to stay if you want a "condo" near the strip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel. Next time you stay with us please ask the front desk if you need more kitchen items to help with your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this part condo/ part hotel property in a princess suite in a group of five ladies. The rooms were quiet, clean, huge and easily accommodated the various requirements we had to be comfortable and get ready for our outings, including a great kitchen to store our food and stand around to snack and chat. The bathroom had tons of floor area with double sinks, and plenty of counter space. There is a huge closet in the bathroom as well. Housekeeping was more than helpful in providing us with the extra items requested, with a smile and very quickly - thanks Juan! (extra towels, extra pillows, more blankets, additional luggage racks, more kleenex, dishes, and many more towels etc). The Grocery service was fantastic since there really isn't a grocery store easily accessible to this location. We had our supplies for breakfast and snacks in our room upon arrival. It was only a short walk from the strip (to the main corner of Bally's/Flamingo/Ceasar's Palace/Bellagio) and an easy ride on the route 202 bus for night time transportation, which stops directly in front of the hotel. (runs 24 hours a day) The indoor/outdoor pool is a bit oddly organized, in that you have to go outside, to get to the indoor pool (we went in January, so not ideal), however, the pool had great loungers and was clean. The one thing that really makes this hotel stand out above the others, is the staff. They were relaxed, positive, helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs and the people they worked with. This goes from the housekeeping staff, to the front door crew, to the front desk. I enjoyed hearing them laugh and greeting the customers like long lost friends. It made the hotel very welcoming and such a great place to arrive to after the intense energy of the city. Specifically, my friend Kevin (also known as part of the Front Door Crew, previously mentioned) who went out of his way, to drive my friend and I to another hotel a few short minutes away when there were no cabs in sight (she had an extra night and had some points to use). When the other hotel turned out to be WAY less than desirable, he returned to the undesirable hotel to rescue us and my friend was able to get another night at the Platinum. After what I can only describe as a horrific and upsetting experience at the other hotel, Kevin then turned around and drove me to the airport. Needless to say, this above and beyond was very welcome, completely unexpected, and capped off an excellent stay at the Platinum. I would recommend this hotel to families, friends, conference attendees and anyone who wants to feel at home while travelling to Las Vegas. Excellent work, Platinum employees! Keep on smiling!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you had such a great time and felt so comfortable while you were here. That is truly what we strive to give our guests, a home away from home feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for the marathon, and it was perfect for our needs. The suite was huge, and had a fully stocked kitchen so we could prepare our own meals. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the strip, but we were more than happy to be somewhere a bit quieter. This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting an apartment-style room without all the noise of the strip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Platinum Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 11,414 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#9 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 14,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 21,197 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#34 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 15,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Hotel and Spa

Property: Platinum Hotel and Spa
Address: 211 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89169-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Hotel and Spa is non-smoking with no slots or tables; a sanctuary located near the action (just a block from the Las Vegas strip) with the look and feel of a trendy boutique hotel. Specializing in personalized service and offering an intimate spa, it's own restaurant and lounge, with an indoor/outdoor pool and spacious lounging deck, the Platinum offers only spacious suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Platinum Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Hotel Las Vegas
Platinum Hotel Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing