We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavor!”
Review of Diego at MGM - CLOSED

Diego at MGM
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Strip
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
256 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Flavor!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dined here upon TA reviews and proximity to the arena before a concert and were very glad we did. The food here was fresh, plentiful, and full of flavor. We especially enjoyed the table side Guacamole- it was fantastic and the server who made it was friendly, professional, and fun. Drink options were plentiful and very well served.

Warning- the restaurant is located adjacent to an open area outside of the Garden Arena entrance so it will be VERY loud on days with events. There is a back room that stays fairly quiet if this is an issue for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meegsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    106
    46
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad drink that caused a problem”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Four of us had dinner on 1/26/2013. We all had a different entree. Chips and salsa are served, salsa very good with smoked chilis. This review is written about what I got. I had the carna asada steak made from a rib eye. Cooked perfectly, the server stated that the meat is marinated for 48 hours. If so, why is the center of the steak cooked to a perfect medium? (nice and pink). I gave the others a sample of the steak-they all thought it was good and should have ordered it. I ordered a side of rice that I shouldn't have. The chips, salsa, and guacamole filled me up. I found out later two members of our party got sick later on during the night. The only think in common was the drink=they both had a mango margaritas. As a previous post stated the volume level in the restaurant was quite loud. The wait staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete84120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bueno!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mexican done right! From the table-side made guacamole to the pitcher of margaritas to the sizzling fajitas, it was a feast to savor! The waitstaff are super friendly and attentive. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kmaldonado1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must stop on our Las Vegas vacations!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at Diego at the end of September 2012 for our last vacation. I have to agree, it was not quite as good as our past visits over the last five years. We still enjoyed ourselves, being from Michigan we tend to dine out early in Vegas time, but it's actually late for our internal clocks in home time. Dining earlier, we tend to miss the loud crazy crowds, they are usually rolling in when we're heading out. One other thing we discovered is the happy hour menu at the bar, it is wonderful and far more reasonable portions, plus you get a drink special our two! We love the salsa sampler with seasoned salts with chips to start...just wonderful! The table side made guacamole is fantastic, but learned the hard way, go light on the sundried tomatoes! Looking forward to our next vist!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as in the past”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been coming to Las Vegas annually for years. We discovered Diego several years ago and have made it a 'regular stop' while in the city. The latest visit was not quite up to expectations. Have they remodeled or was it just a exceptionally noisy crowd!! It was difficult to hold a conversation with my table mate without shouting. Not my idea of what we used to think of as a 5* experience. The cost for the meal was still the same as in the past.

The food was still good, not incredible. The guacamole made table-side is still delicious. The margaritas (Patron) with a bit of orange juice on the side are tasty, although the glass has so much ice in it, there is little room for the actual DRINK.

Will we return? Probably. We'll see what happens when we are back in Las Vegas next year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing