We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #47 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great option in Vegas”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We really like staying at South Point but a car is a must have. The rooms are spacious, the beds are firm. It is nice to have a couch and we had a view of the strip and mountains. Down side was a long check in line but it did move pretty quick. The elevators are plentiful and fast. There are a lot of food options, both fast, casual, buffet or up scale. The pool area is great with a big hot tub. Life gaurs were good about keeping kids out of the hot tub, down side they were working on the new arena one of the days and everything was covered in styrofoam. They have now instituted a daily resort fee which is annoying...I'd rather they just include it in the price. There was a wide variety of slots, which did give some playback which is nice. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for saying that we are a great option. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we will forward this on to our management team. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced at the pool. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,156
    2,065
    585
    199
    153
See reviews for
1,203
1,863
344
719
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have always seen this hotel when traveling to Vegas and never really gave it a thought of staying this far out from all the lights and hustle and bustle. but recently did a turnaround trip with the cousin and found the South Point cheapest for a room on a Friday night. I know this review is only a one night stay and I tried to hit a few key spots at the hotel. so we'll start from the beginning, entering the grounds is easy but if your looking or the valet parking watch the signs closely as they have self park and other things going so your navigator needs to be on his or her toes when driving in ( its not like the strip hotels where its one way in to the valet or drop off you can go many different ways here ) once at the valet its business as usual they greet you (hello) but never asked me if i was staying at the hotel? maybe this was just me. Entering the lobby the check in is on the right hand side, its a descent size but not many windows open but for a Friday night there wasn't a big crowd checking in there anyway. my first observation of the hotel was it reminded me of a locals hotel or a station casino, the clientele looked more as if they came from home than out of state. which is not bad but just my observation.
Room was good size, standard rectangle with the toilet and shower room separated by a door, which allows someone to get ready while some is handling nature calls moments :) i paid 89.00 for a Friday night which is unheard of on the strip but remember this place is a good 10-15 miles still from the start of the strip. Room was clean, standard furniture / flat screen. bed offer says something about comfort mattresses there not bad but don't let that entice you to much to me there a standard bed comfortable but your not going to sink in and say AHHHHHH. I was on floor 10 and looking at the pool, not a big pool but it had lots of seating. one thing i noticed when i got to my room was the pool was still open at 830 im sure i closed shortly thereafter but i was surprised to see people in there and a life guard on duty at that time of night. so from here ill stick to the facts as i saw it... Food---we ate at the buffet for breakfast and the prime rib place up stairs.
prime rib was great, use the coupon book and get a free desert. the service was a little slow as there were probably 4 tables we were the 5 and it the staff long enough that we had chosen what we wanted and started a conversation before the waiter arrived drinks and bread were already there by the bus boy. prices were good for the amount of food desert was so-so but for free what can you expect, i got the white chocolate raspberry something which was pre-made and in the freezer as i had to let it thaw to crack the chocolate and ice cream beneath overall for the money I would recommend this place-- Buffet well we did the breakfast or brunch since it was Saturday it is a small buffet I'm reading something about number 1 buffet but im not seeing it, price is usual about 18.99 per person and that includes all you can drink mimosas . they have 6 stations of different ethic foods every station has someone cooking something so the problem here is your waiting in line the only thing that is away from the cooking station is the usual fruits, cereal station in the middle of the area. all i wanted was some sausage and corn beef hash, well guess what that's at the omelet station where you can have your omelet any way you want which im not knocking it but the cooks can do about 4 orders then those 4 guests stand there in line waiting while your just eying the pan of sausage or bacon or hash or potatoes ...If anyone from south point reads this ...move your say side items to a unpopular food station, put it in warming trays and keep it stocked so people can get it and move on. I don't want to wait 10 min for a piece of bacon. hence why i say this is probably a locals casino as the thought was not intended for super large crowds although it has a lot of seating the food stations are tiny.
casino is huge lots of table games. poker room for live play and even a lot of .05 cent machines. there actually a good pay back and i won a little money. they have a bowling alley which i looked at 61 lanes it was crazy but its something to do if you have kids and theirs a bingo room still going strong at 1130 pm...that's about all i was able to see, i don't go to Vegas to rate hotels but i do look around and compare as i like to try different hotels every time i go....overall in my opinion this i a good stop if you want to check it out , maybe hit some looser slots etc etc...would i stay here again? maybe on a turnaround but its not a place id take the girlfriend or wife and say hey look honey were staying at the South Point when we vacation in Vegas.. rooms prices are cheap, amenities good, friendly staff but not a destination point for Vegas in my opinion..

Room Tip: don't pay the additional 10 bucks for a view room of pool or city lights . this far out doesnt m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegas-vetran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for sharing the details of your visit. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we appreciate the feedback. We want you to know that we are approximately 5.94 miles from Mandalay Bay and we do have shuttle service to the strip for a fee of $8.00 round trip. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the South Point Hotel for 3 nights in April of 2014. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The casino is fairly clean, at least as clean as a casino can be. They have a nice pool area, but I imagine as it warms up in Vegas that pool area will be very crowded. It wasn't that warm while I was there and the pool was already packed. The hotel has a good selection of restaurants to choose from. If you want to stay close to downtown, this is not the place for you. Expect $25-30 cab fare one way to downtown. Not much to do at the South Point other than stay at their casino and gamble. If you want to stay out of downtown, then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archer6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for the compliments on our property and guest room. We want you to know that we are approximately 5.94 miles from Mandalay Bay and we do have shuttle service to the strip for a fee of $8.00 round trip. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us and we will discuss this with our management team. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This trip was for a trade show held at the hotel. I never left it for three days. They do run a shuttle to the strip for $8 round trip, but 'I've been there, done that' so many times. The rooms are nice and spacious. Coffee maker in the room so you done have to get dressed and go stand in a line for your morning cuppa. Hard to find that in LV. Spent some time at the pool and enjoyed the adult only hot tub. Even used the fitness room that was well stocked & well maintained. Fabulous bowling alley. I didn't bowl but went and watched some league play and there were some really good bowlers. The movie theater was huge and all movies except 3d were $5 on Tuesday.

Two complaints: 1. you have to walk thru cigarette smoke to get anywhere 2. the front desk/accounting department were so could be more professional. My stay was comp'd by the trade show and I couldn't get the front desk or accounting department to understand. Finally after two face to face and two calls to the accounting department I gave up and disputed their charges thru Capital One and got it straighten out with their help.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming95864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of our stay. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us and we will discuss this with our management team. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We live outside Las Vegas so sometimes come in to stay for events. We've stayed at the South Point several times, never had a bad stay.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and large, the equestrian arena is wonderful, good places to eat of various cost.
Plus its one of the few Vegas casino hotels that give us no grief about my husbands Reg Service Dogs, the staff is professional and courteous.
We'll stay there many more times if they remain as they have been.

Room Tip: rooms in upper floors seem to be quieter, on top of the whole place being quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for your continued patronage. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the 5 star rating! Your feedback is very important to us and we will forward it to our management team. Thanks for making the South Point your place to stay and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for only one night, but it was a good one night stay. The room was big, nice and clean. Everything was comfortable. The waitstaff in the bar/restaurant areas were all nice and very attentive. This place is big, and offers a lot of services for keeping you entertained. Definitely off the beaten path, quiet and well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the really great review and 4 stars!! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we appreciate the compliments on our property and staff. Your feedback is very important to us and we will forward this on to our management team. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night before driving to Flagstaff, AZ. Room was big, the bed was pretty comfortable however I wish they have more than 2 pillows but I just didn't bother to call guest request for an additonal pillow. Other than that it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllafromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for sharing the details of your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and we will forward the comments on the pillows to our management team. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,325 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,533 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#53 of 263 in Las Vegas
5,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
945 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#57 of 263 in Las Vegas
950 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#64 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing