We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed out stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #44 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed out stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The condo rooms are spacious with well equipped kitchens. We were close to the pools and hot tubs. The workout facility could be improved. We skipped Wi-fi service since they charge for it by the day. If you're looking for an intimate place to stay, this isn't it. It's huge! I believe there are about ten high rise buildings.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a view, book a room on a higher level. We stayed on the first floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. We appreciate the feedback and we will forward this to our management team. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,198
    2,095
    597
    201
    156
See reviews for
1,228
1,892
349
728
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you are a non-smoker DO NOT STAY HERE!

There is no separate ventilation and/or everyone in the non-smoking rooms smoke and it seeps into every room. It was coming in through our ventilation system at all hours.

There is no way to the parking areas except through the hotel which is one big cloud of cigarette smoke.

It is also very dare from The Strip. There is no sign for where to line up for the shuttle - we arrived for the shuttle first and when it came, it pulled up in a different area than where the valet said it would be and people that showed up at the last minute piled on ahead of us with no concern that we were there before them and we were not able to get a seat. The shuttle was small and already had people on it before it pulled up. We were forced to take a $30.00 cab to The Strip - one way. You're better off paying for a more expensive room on The Strip - you're going to pay for it one way or another if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Everloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not an enjoyable experience. We change our HVAC filters on a regular basis to keep the air continuously circulated. We want you to know that we have forwarded this to our management team for discussion and we apologize for any inconvenience. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived in Vegas and needed a place to stay before leaving further south. We were surprised by the nice size of the double bed room. Very Clean. Very good welcome. And for this period, very cheap. When we went back to Vegas and stayed for one night on the strip, the kids talked about this hotel, as they knew it was bigger, cleaner and away from the craziness....So I highly recommend this. We were 2 adults and 2 teens .Pool seemed to be a little small, but was closed for the season so we didn't use it. Buffet/Brunch was impressive, but could have been cheaper away from the strip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80isabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review and for saying you will recommend us. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit. We hope to be your hotel of choice and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I really enjoy this facility. For the past three years we have attended the Mecum Motorcycle Auctions in January. It is located on the Las Vegas Blvd, South of downtown and the Airport. We are not ones to live in the mayhem of the Las Vegas Strip. Southpoint is a classy oasis of it's own. It has multiple top notch restaurants to choose from, a movie theater, bowling, full casino, arcade, live bands, a sports arena, and during our visit, the vintage motorcycle auction. We go to enjoy the bikes and look for TV celebrities. If you are in to horses, they have a large equestrian center too. It is a great get-away from our Minnesota winters. We plan on going again next year. I suggest to rent a car to get around and see other attractions. It is cheaper than taking a taxi or waiting for a shuttle. Two thumbs up for South Point!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and as close to the top floor as possible. You have a choice. Our first vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Wow, thanks for the awesome review and the 5 stars!!! We want you to know that we appreciate your feedback as well as your patronage. We are glad to hear you enjoyed another stay and we thank you for the two thumbs up! It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times for business. There is nothing outstanding about staying here, but I will point out what I like/don't like about the South Point:

1. Rooms are huge, clean, and spacious.

2. South Point charges crazy on the tax, service fees, and amenities, but if you use the amenities maybe it is worth it.

3. Gym services are nice, offer a little bit of everything.

4. Casino is a little smokey, I try to walk through it as fast as I can.

5. The buffet is fresh and appetizing, be sure you use your Club card (Free) to get a better discount.

6. The other dining opportunities in this establishment are also nice, specifically the Prime Rib location, the 24 hour diner and Asian cusine.

7. Front desk folks are not the friendliest people but I understand they are just doing their jobs and are busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for the 4 stars. Your feedback is very important to us and we will discuss this with our management team. We really appreciate your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed South Point every much and thought everything was just great. We really liked the location just south of the crazy busy Strip; the hotel is freeway adjacent and just a few minutes drive from the Strip and Fremont Street downtown. I would call the rooms Deluxe and we were near the top floor facing the city. I thought the room was a good value even though we were there over a holiday weekend (Valentine's Day/Presidents' Day). This is a great hotel for friends traveling together. We are not gamblers or drinkers and had driven over from Los Angeles to see Crystal Gayle in the South Point Showroom. The show was fantastic and the cabaret is very intimate (400 people max.). Get booth seats and meet some new people; we sat with a retired local couple. Great fun. We also enjoyed a gun show that was at the hotel that weekend. The most impressive part, from a customer service standpoint, came after returning home and filling-out and returning the guest survey that South Point e-mailed us. Jordan Bennett of Hotel Operations very promptly sent an obviously personally composed reply back to us specifically mentioning our positive comments and thanking us very sincerely for our stay. This kind of service and genuine caring is what separates South Point from others in the hotel industry and makes them 5 stars instead of 4 stars as far as we're concerned. We will be back.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little more for an upper floor room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Wow, thanks for the awesome review and the 5 stars. We appreciate all the feedback and we will forward this to our management team and to Jordan as well. We want you to know that our mission here at the South Point is to know and understand each of our guests’ expectations and our goal is to surpass them. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

2nd time visit at south point as a conference brought me to town and on strip hotel prices were ridiculous. Consistent service at the front desk and in the rooms. Staff are very helpful and polite. Prices are also very good. Wifi service in rooms relatively strong too although u have to relog in if down in the hotel lobby etc. It is a 30 dollar cab ride from hotel if u r outside their free shuttle service. Also they have a shuttle that runs to several locations on the strip for most of the day and nite for a fee of 8 per day. All in, an ok place to stay with the caveat that u r a long way off the strip. Biggest negative, the smoking throughout the casino.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2014, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest and for your continued patronage. We appreciate all the feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your comments on the ventilation to our management team. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#50 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,374 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,610 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#53 of 262 in Las Vegas
5,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#56 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,104 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#57 of 262 in Las Vegas
973 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing