We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent off-strip option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #47 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A decent off-strip option”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently had a 4 night stay at South Point after staying at Mandalay Bay. Overall the hotel was fine, the rooms were clean and this is the first place I've seen a "housekeeping inspectress". We had a pool view room which was nice however the lights spilled past the blackout curtains. It was impossible to block out all of the light which was frustrating. The smoke smell was worse than I anticipated. It didn't like the accessibility of the parking garage, it would be nice if it was accessible by a bridge rather than always having to go to the casino floor. The check in staff could take a few tips from their peers at Mandalay - SP was like a trip to WalMart and Mandalay was like Target. The kids enjoyed the pool even though it was freezing in May. Some of the lounge chairs need to be replaced due to damaged straps. On one visit to the pool it was extremely windy and I ran to stop a flyaway lounger that was speeding towards the very busy kiddie pool. The staffer that was going around laying the loungers flat who saw what happened didn't even say thank you - that spoke volumes to me. Beware the new "resort" fee - not worth it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is very important to us and will be addressed with our management team. We appreciate the 4 star rating and hope you will stop by and visit with us the next time you’re in Las Vegas.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,156
    2,065
    585
    199
    153
See reviews for
1,203
1,863
344
719
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Vegas. We picked the South Point for it's reviews and it's affordability. We were not disappointed. It was a lovely hotel off the main strip so it was not as crazy as the strip hotels. They upgraded our room for our anniversary to a room with a great view. The room was very big, clean and comfortable. The pool area was very nice. The casino was a lot off fun and not as congested as some of the other hotels. If you have a car, it is an easy trip to the strip, where most of the hotels have free parking. They also have a shuttle if you don't have a car. My husband and I had a great time at South Point. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKwitkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review. We also thank you the choosing our property as your hotel of choice when celebrating your anniversary. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent a week here in April. What I like about it is that it is away from the hustle and bustle of the strip. The rooms are very nice. The place has 9 different restaurants; each with a different cuisine and price range. Has a bowling alley, a 16 screen cinema, and all of the gaming things that you might desire. The pool is very nice. But what I liked most is that I could choose to be involved or have quiet time. There is a free airport shuttle. The whole property is only 3 miles from the strip so could go there when we wanted but could "escape" back to our hotel. The people are very friendly and it is just a nice place to make as a home base for Vegas. It is also located near freeways; so if you want to head to Hoover Dam, Henderson, etc it is very easy. Just liked the place. Great fitness room and also a great spa for unwinding if you need that sort of thing. Price was also very good.

Room Tip: Twenty-five stories, get a room up high and you can see the strip. It is pretty cool at night all l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow, thanks for the great review of our property. We really appreciate the feedback and we will forward this on to those departments you mention. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I Loved our stay here. We got to Vegas 9:30 a.m. On a Saturday. We got to the hotel somewhere around 10a.m. They let us check into our room that early. The pool is very nice here also. Lots to do!! The casino was great!!!! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review and the 5 star rating. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Check in was easy; rooms were decent. No bugs or dirt on the floor. No stains anywhere. The internet was VERY FAST! I could load anything without a problem. Bowling was a good addition, I had fun! Location was perfect south of the strip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloonstowerdefence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we really appreciate the feedback. We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next trip to Las Vegas.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here when we arrived in LV in late April, and chose it again before our departure in early May. The rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. The bathrooms were very good as well.
A bit far from the strip, and it would have been nice to have a complimentary service to that area, but that wasn't terribly important for us. We booked the first stay very early and it was remarkably cheap, but the second stay involved a resort fee. It was still very reasonable for a good hotel. No breakfast at those prices, but the restaurants and stores in the hotel were incredibly reasonable. Liquor in the store was cheaper than in the discount liquor places nearby. I'd recommend this place easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the compliments and we will forward them on to that area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be recommending us. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was more than pleasantly surprised by my recent experience at this hotel off the strip. The rooms are modern, clean and good value, the hotel has a bowling alley, a movie theater with popcorn and bingo...total old school stuff. The pool is great, with hot tubs and kid pool area and they smartly located the reservation desk right inside the door so you aren't exhausted by having to walk through the casino just to check in. Also they located the very nice mexican restaurant upstairs, away from the ding ding ding and the smoke. So yes, everyone still smokes at the casino and you can't escape that but you get that at every place in LV. If you want the Las Vegas strip experience, this place isn't for you, but if you want good value and a fun place to stay with your family or a convention group it is a good choice.

Room Tip: As with all hotels in LV many look out at the roof top of the hotel, and others have a nice view. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review and for considering us to be a surprise in the desert! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate all the feedback. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,325 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,533 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#53 of 263 in Las Vegas
5,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
945 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#57 of 263 in Las Vegas
950 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#64 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing