We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #45 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

While on vacation in Las Vegas last week we decided to give South Point a shot at our money. We came out to Vegas to gamble so we are always looking for a new place to try.
The casino was well layed out with a good variet of slots and table games. The slots proved to be fairly loose for us. Service was good with plenty of cocktail waitresses around. While at the casino I contacted a casino host named Courtney, who comped us a meal at Don Vito's Italian restaurant. This meal was excellent. Here was a casino host going out of her way to make our gambling experience enjoyable. These are the kind of things we look for when choosing a casino to stay at. Hats off to South Point for showing us a good time. Look forward to maybe seeing them again on our next trip to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padddie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review of our property and staff. We are really happy to hear your first visit with us was really enjoyable. We appreciate the compliments on our slot host and we want you to know that we will forward this on to the slot department. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    2,024
    573
    194
    149
See reviews for
1,162
1,826
336
708
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,077)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We used to stay here a lot but it has gone downhill. The check in is very slow-not many people working. They now charge a "resort fee" for services that used to be free (that used to be their big marketing strategy-NO RESORT FEES). We usually don't use any of these services so it is just a way to add to the price of the room. The furnishings in the rooms are starting to look worn out and not as inviting as they used to. They seem to be more focused on the gambling aspect of the resort and less on the hotel. We will not be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to rate us. We are sorry to hear your stay was not as enjoyable as your past visits. Your feedback is very important to us and we will address this information. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and hope you will reconsider a future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Coola Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 10 days in March 2013. The room was just average - I've seen nicer Holiday Inns in Canada. We were first put on the 10th floor, where the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, the view was of a rooftop, the carpets were worn, and the furniture was scratched and stained. We asked to move, mainly because I have allergies to cigarette smoke and we were given a room on the 24th floor the next day, which was much better. The mattresses could be upgraded as they are not that comfortable and the room decor is definately dated. The hotel is a 10-15min drive from the strip but they provide a shuttle service for a nominal fee. The buffet was good and prices pretty reasonable compared to what you see on the strip but we didn't see much of a difference between the weekday buffet offering and the weekend "brunches" except for the prices were notably higher on weekends. Get a Club Card for buffet discounts. We were given "fun books" filled with coupons upon check-in, which consist of small discounts for dining and activities, but when we requested another one after a week, we were told only one per person per stay. We were a bit disappointed by that as it seemed the average stay among other vacationers was only about 3 days and we were there for 10, but overall it was an enjoyable holiday. There is lots to do at the Southpoint so it is not a big deal that it is further away from the strip than the big name resorts.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and for the feedback you provided. We want you to know that we really do make every effort to accommodate our guest’s requests on room types and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We hope this will not deter you from a future visit with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in February. The room decor was much better than expected, and the room size is quite generous. The hotel, as is the case with most Vegas hotels, has a fantastic selection of restaurants on site to choose from. However, the thing that sets the South Point apart from it's competitors would be the quality. Baja Miguel's is a nicer Mexican restaurant worth a return visit, and the Garden Buffet (which we have dined at on other visits) is one of the best Vegas has to offer when it comes to quality. This resort boasts fantastic arena attractions, a multi screen movie theater, bowling, game room, etc. The gift shop is above standard for the area, and includes a terrific selection of clothing and accessories while keeping the pricing competitive. There is a Steak N Shake on site, as well as several upscale restaurants. The fitness area is absolutely one of the best in Vegas, and has as much equipment (newer and well maintained) as some gyms! Needless to say, we had a very enjoyable experience and will return to the South Point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamblingirl394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for the awesome review of our property. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visit with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we will forward your compliments to those departments that were recognized. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Off of Las Vegas BLVD South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa is a delightful place. The rooms are large and comfortable. The coupon book is good value. The buffet and restaurants are good and have a variety of cuisine. For a modest price of $55.00 this hotel is good value for adults and family. Enjoy your stay! Beware of cowboys. A gem.

Please note that the hotel now charges a $14.00 resort fee.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and clean rooms. Quiet air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our property. Your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at South Point and had a great time! The room was comfortable and large. The television had poor reception and few channels. This was probably my only complaint about South Point. Other visitors complained of the smoke and so did my wife. I'm a smoker so i couldnt tell how bad it was. My wife did a spa treatment and was very pleased with that service as well. My over-all report is an A++++ rating...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for the great review of our property. We are happy to hear you both enjoyed your overall visit with us and we appreciate you giving us the A++++ rating. It really is our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel is actually pretty nice. Close to strip. Check in easy. Casino is a little run down. Decent poker room. Rooms were very nice and took the kids bowling.
The buffet for $18 was horrible. Couldn't find anything decent to eat. Had high hopes for the desserts but was let down. Way overpriced--skip it. Needs a lot of work.
Overall, would stay here for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Boy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloperations2013, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we want you to know that we will address the information pertaining to the buffet. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and hope you will visit with us the next time you’re in Las Vegas.

Sincerely,
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#48 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#50 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#69 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#61 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#52 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Vegas.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing