We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, clean, good for chemically sensitive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grandview at Las Vegas
Ranked #51 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, clean, good for chemically sensitive”
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Booked this hotel through Hotwire. It was like a 1-bedroom apartment with a nice floor plan. The floors were tiled except for the bedroom.

This hotel is great for chemically sensitive individuals since they have all tile floors, do not use air fragrance in the hallways nor the rooms and the bedding does not smell like detergent. The rooms have also out-gassed.

There is also a washer/dryer in the room in case if you need to wash the linens with your own fragrance-free detergent.

Overall, it was a good place and they did not pressure us into purchasing a timeshare. The only time we were asked was during registration - we kindly declined and they left us alone for the rest of the stay.

  • Liked — Full Kitchen
  • Disliked — Wireless internet service was $10 per day
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CoolDudeArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    880
    298
    111
    101
See reviews for
844
778
62
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Big complex, on Las Vegas Blvd. about 7 miles from main strip.

Easy access to most things.

Check in okay, usual "have to get parking pass “from another clerk who is your time share host - didn’t take too long not as pushy as some.

No luggage carts were available when we needed one, found them later after moving all our stuff. People seem to hoard them the night before they check out .

Hallways and doors needed repainting, elevators dirty.

Heating and cooling worked fine and we had good view of the pool area and mountains. Kitchen was adequate, with usual coffee maker, toaster, dishes etc.

Room was okay except for when the people above us started their jetted tub, thought I was on a airport runway listening to a jet take off. Somehow they missed the sign that said no jetted tub after 10:00 PM

The bathroom lighting was way undersized for the vanity area, very dark and hard to see for shaving etc., the shower was a good size but the door didn’t close properly. The towels were motel 6 ish.

Overall the place I thought was below average, not terrible but not as good as other timeshares we have stayed at. Especially since it is a relatively new.
I would say a blue not a red trade for those familiar with RCI trading.

  • Liked — good access to major attractions, transportation
  • Disliked — noise from other units
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We have stayed twice at the Grandview, once in November of 2006 and again in October of 2007. While this property is basically an RCI timeshare it is offered on many of the standard travel sites and can be booked just like any other hotel. Which makes me wonder why anyone would pay a large up front price for a timeshare unit and then have the annual maintenance fees only to be locked into the timeshare restrictions of dates and durations of visits? Anyhow the bottom line is that I sort of like this place and I think most people that stay here will also if they are prepared to deal with the location which is about six miles south of the main strip action.

The rooms are really the best part of the resort. Each one bedroom unit is a well equipped apartment, in fact they are larger than some one bedroom apartments that I am familiar with in Southern California. Each unit has a well equipped kitchen, a washer and dryer in the unit, a king bed in the bedroom and a queen sized sofa bed in the living room. There is a large bathroom with a shower and a Jacuzzi just off the bedroom. The two bedroom units are an exact duplication of the one bedroom units with all the same equipment and amenities. In fact they are completely separate units with separate entries which is ideal for two couples, but may provide too much isolation for parents wanting to keep a close reign on smaller children – teenagers would love it. There are also two large screen TVs in each unit with a DVD player attached to the living room set. The resort has a selection of DVDs that they lend out at no charge to the guests.

There are two nice pools (one heated) and a small deli on site. There is no restaurant; however, there are several options at the South Point casino right next door as well as another restaurant, the Boulevard Grille, across the street.

They now have wireless in all the buildings, but I consider it very expensive. They want $10 per day, $25 for 3 days and $50 for the week. They do still have the public computers in the lobby which I was able to use about anytime that I wanted although others have mentioned having a problem with access to these. They no longer have FREE wireless in the lobby as they did in the past.

Most people will probably want to rent a car; however, we did not and got along just fine by allowing the extra time required for public transportation. If you drive in from California the new exit ramp from I-15 is now open and is very convenient to The Grandview. Cab fare from the airport will cost you about $25. There is a shuttle service (CLS) that we used for the trip back that will take you to the airport for $8 per person. You have to schedule it 24 hours in advance and allow a couple of hours before your flight and this works out great. We saw several people use this throughout the week. They were right on time and only made one more stop prior to going to the airport. Took us about 25 minutes total. During our stay we used the South Strip Trolley which picks up right at the Grandview and you can transfer to the Main Strip Trolley at Mandalay Bay. This requires planning and allowing extra time as they are not always on schedule, but we got along fine. They have a strange fare schedule that requires you to buy a Day Pass for use between 8:30AM and 5:00PM and a Night Pass to use between 5:00PM and midnight which is sort of screwy if you want to go to the Strip at 3 PM and come back at 8 PM you have to buy 2 passes. But they are only $4.25 each and they allow you unlimited use of the trolleys on all the routes during the time that they are valid. They do have one way passes, but they are only for one trip and do not provide transfers to other trolleys.

Along with the transportation issue there are a couple of other things that you might want to consider about The Grandview. For instance, there is still construction going on not only at Grandview, but also at the casino next door, South Point. This can be noisy, in some locations although during both of our stays we have been fairly close to the construction area and have not been disturbed too much by it. You just have to take your chances and asked to be moved if it is a problem for you. Also some reviews have complained about the exterior lighting being a problem in illuminating the units at night. Again this hasn’t bothered us mainly due to the location of the units that we have stayed in. It appears that the exterior lights that are the culprits are mounted just below the 4th floor and the 4th and 5th floor rooms probably get the worst of it. The buildings do look nice all lit up, but give us a break and turn off the decorative exterior lights at 11PM.

There were several planned activities every day, mainly for the kids. While I am a strong proponent of NOT taking kids to Vegas, if you insist then this is a good place. You are away from the strip and there seems to be enough activities to keep the youngest ones entertained. Teenagers will be hopping the trolley to the strip anyway so don’t worry about them they will make there own entertainment. For the smaller children there is also information on child care facilities in the area. So if the kids have to come this resort should work out better than most as you have a lot of room and there are things for them to do either supervised by you or someone you hire.

One other thing that we really liked about the Grandview was with the South Point casino right next door we had lots of dining and gambling choices without the hustle and bustle of the strip; so a couple of days we didn’t even leave the area. We ate at the buffet which was not outstanding, but a good variety and inexpensive. The Silverado steakhouse also serves a good meal at about half the price that you would pay on the strip. It was really nice to have your own casino with lots of friendly people and machines that would take your money and you could walk back to your room in 5 minutes – it takes me longer than that in some of the mega resorts on the strip when your room is in the same building.

The bottom line is if you don’t have to be in the heart of the action on the strip and want a large comfortable place with lots of amenities and a friendly staff the Grandview should suit your needs just fine.

  • Liked — Spacious and lots of ammenities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank Goleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We own a 1 bedroom unit at the Grandview and I must say it's worth every penny. We stayed the week of Oct. 22nd and it was wonderful. We had deposited our Apr. week through RCI and then had to come to Vegas for a reunion so we decided to book here. There we four of us so RCI gave us 2 of the 1 bedroom suites which was really great. We stayed at the IRIS bldg which is the newest one and closest to South Point. WE had very little encounter with their front desk clerks so no complaint there. I called a week before and requested rooms with a nice view and they gave us really great rooms. We had 2 parties in the rooms and we were surprised that no one complained about the noise level so I think this bldg's insulation is better than the others.
The trolley stopped at the Grandview which was convenient but having South Point across the street made all the difference. You definitely have to have a car so you can go to the strip and other places.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank maria817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at Grandview from 10/25/07 until 10/27/07. Our room was outstanding and immaculate. The accomadations we comfortable and convienient to the South Point Casino. We wanted no part of the strip on this trip so it was very beneficial. As I have read in some of the other reviews, their customer service is lacking. We went to the front desk to get extra laundry soap to wash a few clothes before our return trip home, and were told to go to another desk to get it. When we went to the other desk, we were told by an associate that we had to wait in the line that had formed while we were waiting, so we left. They were rather rude about it, so we got laundry soap from a housekeeping attendant. We were not pushed on the time share. We arrived exhausted from a day of excursion, and had plans for our following eveing, they never mentioned the time share. Overall, the visit was wonderful. Be sure to check out the pool area, they have 2 pools located there. One was warm, one wasn't.....

  • Liked — The entire room was wonderful
  • Disliked — Customer Service wasn't where it should be.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank meatguyuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

they should teach their front desk representative how to communicate people,some of them were rude.first day of staying already have problem,when we called up the front desk they put me on hold for a long time and never answered the phone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank don2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed there 5 de mayo weekend, so needless to say, Vegas was packed with the Oscar match going on that weekend. We are owners at the Grandview. They got us last Nov. We really liked how it looked and since my husband and I like to get away to Vegas w/o the kids, it seemed like a great place to come to. (I'm 23 and my husband is 27).

We bought a 1 bdrm and it's great. The only complaint I have is that the housekeeping does not come, but once a week. You have to request that they come any other time and I believe, pay a fee. That was a negative, but everything else is really nice. The decor is very nice and it comes with a full kitchen and a dining room and living room. We really like the jetted tub. It has a washer and dryer, too. We didn't get to enjoy the pool, but definitely will next time. The Southpointe Casino is next door, so I heard the food is good there. It is about 8 min. from the main casinos, but it's not bad at all. Plus, they are already going to start building other casinos next door. Soon, it will be part of the strip.

We didn't have any safety issues there. There were guards outside at night. Considering how packed Vegas was that weekend and even the resort was packed, but no break-ins or vehicle thefts that we heard of.

There are timeshare people around, but that's to be expected when it is so new and more phases are being built. We personally liked it a lot and can't wait to go back. We were going in Sept for Labor Day weekend, but couldn't make it, so we rented it out and there were no complaints.

I hope this helps!

  • Liked — The comfort and decor.
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbm2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Cliffs at Peace Canyon
#60 of 262 in Las Vegas
487 reviews
Enterprise
The Berkley, Las Vegas
The Berkley, Las Vegas
#138 of 262 in Las Vegas
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 262 in Las Vegas
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grandview at Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grandview at Las Vegas

Property: The Grandview at Las Vegas
Address: 9940 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4007
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#62 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grandview at Las Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 2256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacationing at The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort affords you and your family the ultimate in entertainment. Situated less than six miles from the Las Vegas Strip. The Grandview at Las Vegas Resort accommodations are 1,600 square feet of combined living space featuring a common foyer with separate controlled access for each suite. The spacious one- and two-bedroom accommodations are designed for the guest's maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grandview at Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview At Las Vegas
Grandview Hotel Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Las Vegas
Grand View Las Vegas
The Grandview Las Vegas
Grandview Resort Vegas
Grandview Las Vegas Hotel
Grandview Vegas
Grandview Lasvegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing