We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desapontado”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,825 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Polynesian, Hawaiian, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Paradise
Transit: Flamingo/Paradise- in front of Terrible’s Casino
Description: Located on Flamingo Road just a mile east of the famous, bustling Las Vegas Strip, Roy's Las Vegas brings the excitement of this incredible city right to your table. Come in for inspired bites and enticing cocktails during Aloha Hour in the bar and sensational meals in the vibrant dining room that features our signature exhibition kitchen
RIBEIRAO PRETO
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Desapontado”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and myself are disappointed with Roy's. We wonder how it is #1 in Las Vegas by TA ranking. It looks like a french bistro, small dishes and high prices. Close Roy's, there are others best alternative. Go away from there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JOAOCALIXTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,363
    319
    131
    48
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Good Service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor before we went to Vegas and had pre-booked it as our meal following our Elvis Wedding!

We weren't disappointed - the food was really good and the waiter very friendly and knowledgeable - the surroundings are very welcoming and the atmosphere has a nice low buzz about it. The prices were far more reasonable than we expected, which is always a bonus!

We would definitley recommend this restaurant and would return.

There are however a couple of things we do need to point out as to why we didn't give it an Excellent rating:

When we booked online, there is a section that asks if it is a special occasion and what that occasion is - we completed this section with the relevant details - maybe it's me, but I thought there may have been a reason for this - apparently there isn't?

We arrived about 30mins before our table booking of 7pm so we could enjoy a drink at the bar before hand - this was very pleasant, but unfortunately we weren't seated until about 7.30 - after having to ask when our table would be ready!

Unknown to us at the time some friends had contacted the restaurant in advance and ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our table as a surprise wedding gift - they gave all the details and credit card details - sadly it never arrived (I must point out they weren't charged for it though!)

Finally, we had ordered a taxi to take us back into town - after a bit of a wait another waiter (not ours) asked us to hurry up as the taxi driver wasn't going to wait - we had to point out we had been waiting to pay the bill for a while so couldn't in fact leave just yet - however, the bill came not long after that and we got our taxi

All in all a lovely restaurant, with good staff - just a couple of grumbles that if ironed out would have earned it a 5* from us

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blaine,wa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good and bad to say... Not sure if should be #1 but for service, yes.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was our first time at Roy's. We ate at the Happy hour where all of the appys are $5! We tried the Wagyu Beef Sliders, Big Island Ebi Roll and Lobster Potstickers. All were good portion sizes and excellent. Couldn't have better service from the time we walked in. Note we made reservations an hour before for dinner! Of course it was a weekday. People were dressed up for the most part but then there was people in shorts, resort wear, casual too. For dinner we had a booth seat (highly recommend!). Dinner was the surf & terf + Shellfish sampler. Here is where the good and bad come in. The steak was luke warm almost cold. The crab on the surf & terf was barely there. For the Shellfish sampler I could of done without the crab cake (not good at all). The U-10 Sea Scallop was amazing! It melted in my mouth! The best fresh scallops we've ever had! They give you edamame as an appy for free seasoned with some spice and salt. So wonderful! This was a happening place! You can tell this is where the locals go. With three appys, two happy hour beers, ice tea and two dinners our bill came to $125 with tip. We'd go back but hope someone from the restaurant reads this. Once again best service from the time we walked in to the time we left.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank borderchickoc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Roy's is part of a national chain but the location in Las Vegas has a real "locals" feel. I highly recommend it as an alternative to the sometimes over-the-top dining (and costly) experiences on the Strip.

The house martini will have you calling a cab after the second one. It is quite delicious.

My fiancee and I enjoyed both of our meals and would order virtually any of the fish entrees o on the menu. They were all good and/or looked fantastic.

The service was just the right tenor of attentive without being overwhelming.They truly appreciated your being there.

Roy's is worth your time and effort

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rossharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went to Roy's hoping that the Trip Advisor sentiment was true and found it to be so. Although we arrived rather early and the place was empty, we had a great happy hour drink and later, dinner was very, very good. Butterfish was superb and the Opah was too. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and the flourless chocolate cake was great, and we wish we'd have ordered two instead of one. This was the best dinner I'd had in Las Vegas, and the best dinner I'd had in a while, generally. I would highly recommend Roy's Las Vegas. It's a tad off the strip, but well worth the walk or cab ride.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing