We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Thai Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komol Restaurant

Komol Restaurant
Ranked #851 of 4,768 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Komol Thai Restaurant lovingly prepares authentic, MSG-free Thai recipes that have been in the family for over 40 years. We offer the best and largest vegan & vegetarian menu in Las Vegas. You’ll love the vegan Thai iced tea made with coconut milk! Be sure to try our flavorful herbal salad, a unique version of pad Thai made with green papaya instead of noodles or one of our exceptional curry dishes. Come experience why locals and tourists love us!
Libby, Montana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My Favorite Thai Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellant food in a small quirky restaurant. The service is very friendly. We are frequently the only non-Asians there. My favorite is the Mint Chili Chicken but the soups are also good. Try the cucumber salad for a nice refreshing and cooling dish. They spice it up to your taste and the ice water is refilled often.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you like thai food, you will appreciate this place. slight twist on the favorite recipes, like the musaman beef. however, the service is ridiculously poor. our server never returned to fill our drinks. we requested the check 3 times. finally had to go to the counter and tell them if they wanted us to pay for our meal, they would need to bring us the bill or we were walking out. still had to wait at the counter. finally we were told that a bus boy was waiting our table and thats why the service was so bad. we were on a tight schedule and told them so when we were seated. there's a lot of great food in vegas...no reason to waste your time here when you can get both good food AND great service somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tgt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth the trip off the Strip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Really above average Thai,they do not use paste, they grind their spices fresh every day and you can taste the difference. Fast and friendly service. A bit difficult to find even with gps but remember it is inside a strip mall so just drive around. Also good value. Next door are also Korean and Japanese places, did not try them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank scarlett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having been disappointed by Lotus of Siam (having gone upscale and noisy/crowded), we looked across the mall to Komol to the quieter alternative. We were very happy with our experience. We had much better and attentive service, and it seemed they just try a little harder. I had the Pineapple duck, my son had the chef's special (a dry curry), and my wife had the pad Thai. All were very good, and the portions were generous. We also ordered the Thai style fried rice, which our server warned us was a little different than what people expect (it's mixed with catsup). All were delicious! I think we've found our favorite Thai restaurant for our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food - away from the Vegas Strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

While at Vegas, we were trying to look for a place that had good food and not gourmet prices, with enough options for vegetarians and non-vegeterians and Komol perfectly fit the requirements.

The restaurant is away from the strip so you will definitely need a car, unless you are staying in Sahara or Stratosphere - the place is a 10-15 walk from those hotels in a strip mall.

The good here is great and has a lot of options for vegetarians. The hosts of the hotel are extremely friendly and will try to help where ever they can to make your experience with them comfortable.

It was nice to get away from the casino tunes will having dinner for a couple of hours, before hitting the tables again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RookieTravelers_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komol Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Komol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing