We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waiter, bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cathay House Dim Sum Restaurant - CLOSED

Cathay House Dim Sum Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Rude waiter, bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We ordered food for a party of 12 in a table, the food -- mostly dimsum, some fried rice, etc. -- was so-so, not what we'd call good Chinese food. To top their below average food, the waiter who waited on us was rude! "Accidentally" spilled liquid on one of our family members, conversed rudely and unprofessional when we tried to get additional bowls for the rice and soup, and additional food orders. This is not the service that we're expecting in a restaurant we've read good reviews on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank passportpleasePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Geniune Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The group I traveled with loves Chinese food. Cathay House is excellent and genuine. This is not your chinese buffet food. There is menu in English and a Chinese menu which has other selections. We ordered from both menus. All of the dishes are fresh and tasty. The shrimp are large and very good. We chose share all of the selections and none were disappointing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mzzzmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alone caucasion took 30 minutes to get a cart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was seated off the beaten path sos, the cart ladies looked at me but never came down the isle where i was seated. I had to get up and go to the counter to get service. Very poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Late Night Snack or Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After 9pm, Cathay House has a special menu (limited, but good) that starts at $5.99 for a lot of dishes. It goes up to $7.99. We had clams in black bean sauce, braised tofu, and a spicy eggplant. The dishes are a bit smaller than the full price menu dishes, but for two of us, we can get more variety without a lot of left overs. Each dish was very good. Their sauces are done very nicely and I think without a lot of msg (not thirsty after eating). I especially liked the clams. I might have to order that from the regular menu next time so I can pig out on it. ... the three dishes hit the spot and it was all for around $25. They have a pan fried whole flounder for the $7.99 price. I believe we have had that before and it was great (although a bit greasy ... fried you know).
I highly recommend you take a look a these bargain prices at a very good LV Cantonese restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank citywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food is good but not the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I visit Vegas about 4-5 times a year, and I go here every time because the lobster is so cheap! They make very well, too. However, in the past two years, it's been a little disappointing. The food is still doing okay, but the service isn't as good as used to be. There has been several times that I've sat there with my friends, and none of the waiters came over and asked if we needed drinks or anything. When my friends and I looked around, the waiters were looked like they didn't even want to be there. No smiles, no asking "how may I help you?", nothing. Again, it's a decent restaurant but if you want good service, then you may want to think again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventure_trip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing