We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value!”
Review of Hugo's Cellar

Hugo's Cellar
Ranked #18 of 4,853 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good value!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Okay, this place is not inexpensive but it's worth every penny. Unlike other up-scale restaurants, the menu is not al a carte. Entrees are accompanied by bread, salad, sherbert intermezzo, and chocolate-dipped fruit for dessert. Ingredients were fresh, of high-quality, and properly prepared. The service was excellent. There were four in our party, two beef, a lamb, and a fish. The menu had a palate-pleaser for everyone.

If you're over 55, sign up for the players club at the Four Queens and they'll add you to the "55 Club." That'll get you 20% off your entree. Not bad-- age has its privileges.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBLBassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    265
    115
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A sublime dining experience in vintage Vegas surroundings”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a full service dining experience. Women are greeted with a rose as you are shown to your table. The waiters wear tuxedos and you will be assigned two waiters to address your every need. The wine selection is comprable to Los Angeles, and the sommelier will serve you (and himself from the silver cup around his neck!) The included salad is not only delicious, but having your waiter custom make it table side to your specifications, is priceless to someone who likes to have control, as I am. Next they serve a mini sorbetto on cone. For an entree I had the Queen's Lobster, and will probably always order this now. Every one else loved their food too, including the Tournedos and Veal Oscar. Included last, is the desert of chocolate dipped fruit. After dinner, you can stroll the historic Fremont St. and enjoy the not so historic light show. Everyone was extremely hospitable. I would recommend reservations. Parking is free with validation in the Four Queens parking lot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJLUVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our romantic spot”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visit Hugo's every time we are in Vegas. More than 20 years ago we wandered in without a reservation and were greeted warmly. The hostess arranged a table for us and Hugo's became one of our favorite eateries. Located in the basement of The Four Queens, the place is relatively small and has an intimate atmesphere. Aged steaks and prime rib are a specialty and we have always been pleased with the table side salad service and table side appetizers. It's best to plan a late dinner at Hugo's as the noise level can be a bit distracting when the place is full during the early dinner hours. Thanks, Hugo's for many years of service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional Fine Dining at Hugo s Cellar”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hugo s Cellar is an amazing fine dining experience. Michael and Anthony looked after our table with seamless attention. A red rose for every lady, a vase on the table to keep it safe and the stem wrapped in foil to take it home. Tell them if you are celebrating something special when you book . Do not be put off by the prices, all main meals meals come with fresh bread, an amazing salad, and chocolate dipped fruit to finish, what more could you want, and everything was delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolQ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Dinner at Hugo's Cellar was fantastic we had a group of 6. Victor was an awesome waiter. Table side salad and martini's were delicious. Everyone really enjoyed their meals and the roses for the ladies was +! I can't wait to go back next time I'm downtown.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tffnyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Cellar also viewed

 
Las Vegas, NV
 

Been to Hugo's Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing