We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Honestly, I can't say there is anything wrong with the rooms, per se. They were not particularly big. Certainly not as big as the ones on the strip. (Like I could swear the ones at Bally's or Caesar's Palace were easily twice the size.) But they were OK clean. They were well furnished with toiletries. Probably the worst thing about this hotel is the location. Its location is good because it's very close to the strip and right across from the Tropicana. But its location is also bad because it's where the drug addicts and hookers hang out, away from the glitz and glamour of the strip. Yeah, it's pretty scary walking around there late at night or early early in the morning. One note of caution: Just never walk around there if there is no daylight. Environment deteriorates tremendously after the sun goes down. The other thing that makes this place look so ghetto is that there are many buildings. It is also hustled in with other low budget motels like Motel 6, America's Best Value, etc. In fact, if you were to wake up and just walk out your door, you would be glaring right at the residents of the next motel, and you could see everything going on on that side (smoking, drinking, drugs). Thus, this makes it look more like a low income housing project than an actual tourist hotel. It also gets very loud, probably because of bad insulation, with tons of cars driving past day and night, many with gangster rap blaring and echoing throughout the neighborhood. Of course, with the massive rise in prices on the strip these days, this does tend to be one of the more affordable locations close to the strip. But, as always, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Howard Johnson Tropicana. We are happy that you found our property to be clean and a great value. I apologize that you did not like the location of the property; most of our guests appreciate being only a 10 minute walk from the strip. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 925 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal for those wanting an economical place close to the strip. This place is a block away from the MGM and the strip. The room was average. There was some disturbance from the room next door, but nothing unexpected from Vegas in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazybubna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us including our wonderful location and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christa V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived at 4:00 in the after noon. We booked the hotel on line and apparently that was not appreciated by the receptionist she acted shot with everyone. There was a female customer waiting in the lounge for a cab and when she asked if she could call the cab company again the receptionist told here there was a cab stand at the restaurant just down the street. It was 110 degrees outside. I asked if she had a damp cloth that I could wipe my neck and face with and she said there was Ice in the ice machine out side and gave me a plastic bag for ice. She then asked if we wanted an up or down stairs room. I told her down since we were on a motorcycle and I was close to heat stroke. She gave us a room clear at the back of the hotel. When we got to the room the AC was off and the room was hotter inside than it was outside. The exhaust cover in the bathroom was hanging on by a screw. When I called the front desk to tell them about the bathroom exhaust I was told it was like that all the time and not to worry about it. The sink plug was broken and once filled with cool water we had trouble getting it to drain. The AC did not cool the room off even by 10 PM and when I called the front desk to tell them she told me to turn the AC down and let it run for a few minutes and then turn it back up saying that I probably froze up the unit. If that didn't work to call her back and she would send someone down. Police cars ran up and down the street outside constantly with their sirens going. This was one of the worse hotels we had been in on our 6 week trip. I hope you don't need to plug anything in as there are only two plugs in the room that work properly and two that you have to play with to get anything to work as your plug will fall out of them. Not only would I not recommend this hotel I will let everyone I know how bad this newly, yep that is what the ad said they were newly, remodeled Howard Johnson is.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aneta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel and I apologize that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. I can assure you that I will share your comments with the staff in our monthly service meeting. For future reference please contact the front desk if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodations. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hooters Casino Hotel
#123 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,668 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#119 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,552 reviews
The Strip
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
#159 of 263 in Las Vegas
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-7306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $35 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing